We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - don't use the Wifi (they will charge you per device)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Santa Monica to your Saves list
Viceroy Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan Early, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - don't use the Wifi (they will charge you per device)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Viceroy is a very nice hotel in Santa Monica. The bar downstairs is great (especially if you are into pretentious people) and the rooms are very well equipped. The bathroom and shower in particular was amazing.

However what they failed to let me know on check in is that they would sting me $11 per day per device connected to the internet. Yep - per device. While other hotels offer free wifi, the Viceroy has gone 180 degrees in the other direction.

When i raised the issue with the guy at the front desk, he couldn't have cared less.

As much as the hotel is great, the attitude sucks!

Room Tip: Use Expedia Elite and get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear about your frustration with the wi-fi cahrge per device. We are working out the technology on our end. As it detects the device's IP adress our server cannot determine if you own one, two or three devices so there technically isnt a way to grant access on all three. We will figure something out in the near future. Simply ask at the front desk and they will try to accomodate you with a complimentary code for the second device.

Regards,
Troy Pade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    239
    114
    50
    28
See reviews for
154
396
58
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I decided on a whim to book a getaway up to Santa Monica and wanted it to feel like a mini-vacation getting away from work and the Viceroy delivered! Room was great, service was top-notch and we enjoyed a "vacation" feel just 50 minutes north of Orange County. The DJ was fun add-on at night that added to the scene, but the proximity to beach, and restaurants was the winning factor while staying in a chic hotel. Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for the great review. I think you summed up what we do on the weekends very well. Great chill place during the day and a fun night spot at night. Please tell your friends in the OC and come see us again!
Cheers!
Troy Pade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I frequently travel to LA for work and whenever I get to stay at the Viceroy, my trip is guarenteed to be a great one. This hotel is beyond amazing - beautifually designed, spectacular service, lively bar, delicious resturant, lux pool. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: if you can splurge for a beach side view, it's well worth it. The pool side view rooms are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate your continued support of our hotel. Please make sure to ask for me next time you are here so I can thank you in person!
Cheers!
Troy Pade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I wasn't sure what to really expect being LA and quite hip but the staff make this hotel extra special, and the fit out is beautiful. Its unusual, it works and the location is great for taking a beach walk after a day of meetings or heading to the fantastic mall for shopping. The bar staff were great and more relaxed than I expected for the cool vibe it gives out. Drinks and food were exceptional with a great bed, good bathroom features including wonderful amenities yay. The pool area looks really cool but didn't get to use it due to work. Thanks especially for having wifi includes ( so great for business stay ) and a good hairdryer. Maybe only lacks a room safe? Would return again, thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We aim to please. I am sorry about the safe. We have 3 rooms that are missing safes, they are on back order and should be here in a week or two. SO sorry you got one of the 3. We do have safety deposit boxes as well if you ever found yourself in that situation again (or anyone that is reading this) free of charge at the front desk.

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Landed here by coincidence but will surely go back. Excellent and warm reception, great rooms, stylish interiors and cosy poolside. In one word a hotel that sets an example!
Have been in many places in the world and this hotel ranks 1st.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I am so very sorry to hear about your stay. Please fee free to reach out to me directly to discuss. The number of the hotel is 310-260-2700. Ask for me.

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lotawana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great location and upscale decor. Excellent service. Friday and Saturday nights have a hosted DJ by the pool which attract 30 somethings. Rooms very comfortable. Recommend the splurge for the Beach/Ocean view which has a great view and looks over Shutters on the Beach. Restaurant has a great menu and breakfast on the patio is great!

Room Tip: Choose oceanview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and so happy you had a fun time. We do try to fulfill the fun factor on the weekend.

Thank you again and see you back soon!
Troy Pade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We just spent two nights at the Viceroy. The hotel is nicecly decorated, the staff were friendly and the overall vibe of this Hotel was great! Unfortunately, there were some issues during our stay. First, the air conditioning in our room (316) was not working very well. When I addressed this with the front desk, I was advised that the ocean facing rooms receive alot of sunlight and it takes a while to cool down. 4 hours later, with the AC on full blown, the room was still warm. Another inquiriy brought someone from engineering which increased it only slightly. It only cooled as night arrived. Same problem the following day. If you are paying + $500 a night, the room should at least be at a comfortable temp. Secondly, the kitchen woke me up by phone at 2:00 am.. I told them they had the wrong room. 15 minutes later, someone was knocking on our door and I yelled at the poor guy that they should stop waking up their guests. After this incident, I was unable to sleep for a few hours. I don't usually complain and try to go with the flow, but when you come to a hotel of this caliber, you expect the rooms to be cool and to get a goods night sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I am so very sorry to hear about your stay. Please fee free to reach out to me directly to discuss. The number of the hotel is 310-260-2700. Ask for me.

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.