We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very upmarket” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Early, Save 10%
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very upmarket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I've given this hotel a "Very Good" rating, because I think the hotel is very good... BUT we didn't enjoy our stay there. We had our 3 children with us (aged 13, 9, 3) and our friends had their two kids (12, 8) - we didn't feel at all comfortable. Everything is so beautiful there! We were so worried our kids would mess something up- be too noisy. I felt other guests were annoyed by our presence at such a beautiful hotel?!! I think it is a gorgeous boutique hotel, with a beautiful pool / outdoor area - chic design - but not for families... couples / business people / girlfriends... absolutely ideal! The smallest rooms with the smallest beds, of our entire USA trip - but the most expensive hotel. So I wouldn't say value for money was there - although it was all pretty swanky?! Extremely professional staff.

Room Tip: Not recommended for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    572
    215
    104
    46
    27
See reviews for
131
355
52
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Such a great feel to this hotel. Walking distance to the Santa Monica Pier. Great outdoor space and pool area - one of my favorite hotels to stay at - I highly Reccomend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I really wish I could give it 5 stars! A short walk from the beach, close to other fun hotels and restaurants in the area, and an overall great vibe. Just a few misses.

The service was attentive, friendly, and unpretentious throughout. I felt welcomed, and never felt like I was annoying the staff when I had a request. Props for champagne on arrival (although funny that the housekeeping service left the half-consumed drinks in our room for days - maybe they thought we still wanted them?).

I loved the decor throughout the hotel. Sleek and glamorous without being inaccessible. Plus, the room was actually designed to be functional as well -- plenty of closet/drawer space, bathroom with full vanity and great lighting. I hate when rooms are so sleek that they're not actually useable. This one delivered!

The bar/pool areas were pretty lively, but not an insane scene. Still had a constant buzz of activity and plenty of people watching.

Now the bad -- we couldn't really get a great night of sleep. The beds were comfortable and all, but that great corner room they gave us with more space and an ocean view came with a downside. We were right next to the service door, behind which was a service elevator. All night we were hearing the combo of the elevator dinging, the service door shutting, and the clank of room service/housekeeping carts. The noise of the A/C going on and off didn't help either. We spoke to the concierge after the first night, and the hotel would have moved us, but we decided to give it one more night to see if it was any better (we had a 4-night stay). Of course that "test" night was the quietest (I think maybe the concierge told the staff to be more conscious when they use that area) so we decided not to bother switching rooms. The activity picked right back up again the next night/morning, but by then we were feeling too lazy to switch plus our stay was almost over. Oh well!

Other than that, I enjoyed my stay (although that valet/dining/parking bill will get you in the end -- ouch!) Next time though, I'll be declining that corner room.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that are on the right wing when facing the hotel from the street. Right next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed at the Viceroy in May this year for a work conference. From the start the staff was extremely attentive. I requested a room on a higher floor and the front desk person was extremely accommodating. The room was chic, clean, and comfortable. The bartender at the beautiful bar downstairs was friendly and knowledgeable. The parking attendants were also really nice and always fetched my car quickly. I've stayed in other "trendy" hotels where the staff seem too cool to help you. But at the Viceroy I had one of the best business travel experiences I have had yet. On the day I checked out, the front desk even called me to warn me that there is a union strike at the airport that may cause traffic delays. Overall I would love to stay at the Viceroy again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Everyone in the Viceroy staff was very nice to us during our 2 night stay. We were given complimentary champagne upon check in and enjoyed three meals in their restaurant. Breakfast portions were huge and the waiters very attentive. Close proximity to the pier and the beach which made for a nice relaxing walk. Valet was quick and provided directions and suggestions for places to see or dine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

If you want to sleep, don't stay at this hotel. The noise is so loud it is ridiculous and it goes past 1am. And my shower had long dark hair in it (not mine!). Gross.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your very brief feedback. The hotel has a DJ on the weekends which we have had for almost 10 years. We have last call at 1am and thus the music is off by then, occassionally it goes a little later. I am sorry about the hair that was found in your shower. I hope you would have mentioned this during your stay so we could have addressed it immediately versus here where we can do nothing about it.

I appreciate your feedback.
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

The ViceRoy is a great hotel! Very chic, hip hotel. It feels like you're at home. The rooms are beautiful and the hotel is very clean. The staff is very attentive and great you by name. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
FancyPancy-
Thank you and very happy you enjoyed yourself!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.