We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The amazing hospitality of The Viceroy Hotel, Santa Monica, L.A.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Santa Monica to your Saves list
Viceroy Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan Early, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The amazing hospitality of The Viceroy Hotel, Santa Monica, L.A.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have recently returned from staying in Santa Monica at the Viceroy Hotel over the Holiday period and spent 6 nights there.
As on my previous 4 visits, the hotel really lived up to my expectations and standards.
From checking in procedures, through room standards, decor, restaurant and bar service and ambiance, I cannot contemplate staying somewhere else whenever I visit Santa Monica either for business or for pleasure.
The staff are personable, helpful and attentive to the maximum level of need and nothing is ever too much trouble for any of them.
I wish we had this level of staff training in the UK. The staff have the knack of always being there for you without the stuffiness of more exclusive- or more expensive- hotels, are really friendly and approachable without being too familiar. As far as the staffing goes,it's perfect.
Good menus for all tastes in the Whist Restaurant and talented chefs.
The bar is buzzy, chic and fun but not overly noisy and is a great meeting place.
The hotel suits singles, couples and families alike. As a lone woman, I feel very comfortable and safe here.
I also love the decor. I first visited this hotel before it became a management chain. It seems to be growing and I would love to visit other hotels in the group--but that would mean that I would be missing out on time I could be spending at this one.
I am already planning my next visit. I really can't wait! I am a photographer who is constantly travelling and staying in lovely hotels but a stay in the Viceroy feels like coming home.

Ms S. Fontaine, London

Room Tip: Sea front for the sunrise and sunsets. Not noisy. Worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    239
    114
    50
    28
See reviews for
154
396
58
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I'm the type of person who generally doesn't like anything too over-the-top or pretentious. I was worried about this hotel because, at first glance, it sure seemed Hollywood-affected. Well, perhaps that could include the bar, but that would be it. Always remember that looks can be deceiving. The staff was incredible and down-to-earth, and I felt comfortable the moment I walked in (the complimentary champagne didn't hurt, by the way). The room, although small, was very comfortable and chic. I loved the eclectic decor. Holy smokes, the bed was beyond phenomenal and the shower more than spa-worthy. Great bath products, towels and linens. My view wasn't much to write home about, but in the end I was there for my job so who has time for lovely views anyway? I did eat in the restaurant and I found the food to be good, if not a bit pricey (what? in LA?). True to form the staff shined and didn't hassle us to move along despite a busy morning. I'm usually not a fan of the pricey hotels who are all for show, but it turns out that this joint has substance in more ways than one. If you want a comfortable treat that balances the luxe with common courtesy to all (Rolex or not), give this joint a try.

Room Tip: Higher floor as far away from the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Viceroy for two nights right over Christmas weekend and had a wonderful time. Similar to other reviewers' experiences, we thought the service was fantastic. Sean at the front desk, in particular, was really great to us - we were celebrating our 4 year anniversary and they greated us with a glass of champagne and sent up a bottle to our room as a congratulations. We stayed at a time when the hotel was not too crowded, so it was very quiet and serene and we had a great room on the 6th floor with a full ocean view. It was great to wake up to perfect weather and to view the beautiful ocean. Our only recommendation would be for them to get slightly firmer pillows - theirs are super soft and you kind of sink in them even when you use two. Highly recommend - can't beat the location - you are one block from the beach, half a mile walk to third street promenade and very close to other great restaurants and shops on main street towards marina del rey.

Room Tip: highly recommend the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad/Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at Viceroy 2 nights a weekend in November and picked this hotel because we like Hotels with great design. And this was really something special, a mix between modern style and old times. The service from the front desk , to restaurang/bar, roomservice and houskeeping was excellent. We enjoyed it as a family (2 adults, 2 kids, 11-13) and as well business, since this was a combined business and pleasure trip. This isn´t a quiet hotel during the evening. The bar and lobby was packed with people during nighttime and we enjoy when a place is full of activity. Breakfast was nice, though expensive, but coming from Europe we are use to breakfast beeing including in the roomrate, so what can we do to just accept.
Strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High up , seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Even before I arrived, I was impressed by the staff. The concierge contacted me by email with suggestions for local jaunts, the hotel sent reminder emails about my stay and the amenities provided. From the moment I pulled in (at 10:00 at night) until I left two days later, I was treated like a star. From the valet, to the manager, to the restaurant staff to room service, all were so attentive, kind, and courteous I would stay there again and again for that reason alone but the simple fact is that this hotel has beautiful rooms, a wonderful restaurant, and a great location close to the promenade and major santa monica locations which makes for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The Viceroy is one very styleish place with detail everywhere you look. I had gone for a birthday party and was advised before the event to pick from a restricted menu and to make a deposit weeks in advance. As it turned out, the restricted menu was way more expensive than the regular al la carte menu and as the restaurant was about empty, suppllying 17 diners at once would not have been a problem. The quality of the food was average and the waiters pleasant.
We stayed in the hotel overnight as we were due a late night. If you decide to stay here, bring your own pillow as the Viceroy's are the worst ever. The rest of the room is pretty devoid of comfortable furniture and the TV just OK. Park on the street if you can as it's the usual LA rip rates and it took an hour to check out due to a dispute (which they resolved).
My recommendation is to spend the extra and go to Shutters across the street.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We picked this hotel based on its stylish appearance, but the place is so much more than a looker. Service was (very) personalized and professional, we loved the (healthy) breakfast menu and the kids meal options. The location is perfect as well, and so were our views on 'Muscle Beach'. Our partial-ocean view was definitely a full-ocean view...The quiet library and outside area are nice little extras. And last but not least, the hotel lobby really coming alive at night. Especially when travelling with children an easy way to squeeze in a little bit of nightlife, effortlessly...Overall, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with sea views, worth the little extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.