We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, drink and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Barra Pizzeria

Stella Barra Pizzeria
2000 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Formerly Stella Rossa Pizza Bar)
310-396-9145 ‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stella Barra Pizzeria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bicknell
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food, drink and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The best pizza I have had in the last 5 years - a very crusty base covered with a moist topping - bliss. I had a cookie and a green tea to finish and, joy of joys, was served Longjing leaf tea when I was expecting the usual cheap tea bag. A memorable meal. It's busy with a good bar scene so book. Service was also excellent and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    43
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good find, good food , good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited here after a recommendation from one of the staff at our hotel. Very busy and lively had to wait a while for a table but that didn't matter as the atmosphere was lively. All our group had a variety of pitza slightly different from ones in uk. Very nice, lovely wine the pitza were reasonably priced. The wine was a bit on the pricey side however found wine pricey every where in California which I find strange being in wine making country. Lads had local beer which they liked . Staff nice helpful but not pushy. I would recommend to any one in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A very lively place with great pizza! Unless you reserve you will have to wait, but not too long. The pizza is very homemade and great. A nice lively bar and full of locals.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Did not like their pizza.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Place is very nice, service is good, but pizza is not the way I like, especially after eating fire oven pizza in Napoli. Pizza is too thin, and almost nothing for cheese and sauce, pizza Margherita was almost piece of dough with few sprinkles of cheese and sauce, so thin, that it tasted like fried dough chips.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stella Rossa? Duh.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Amazing pizza. A waiter who talked to us like a friend. This place has everything going for it. I can't imagine anyone will visit this place and not love it and recommend it to people they like, and forget to mention it to people they hate.
g

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella Barra Pizzeria also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Stella Barra Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Barra Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.