We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Infant Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambrose Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ambrose Hotel to your Saves list
The Ambrose Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1255 20th Street, at Arizona & 20th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
Central NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not Infant Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Ok lodgings about a mile from the beach in Santa Monica. Room was a nice size with a balcony. Bathroom was somewhat odd with no door in the commode area. My party had 2 rooms and was travelling with a 13 month old. Arrived before check-in after an early flight from the east coast. Front desk personnel "suggested" a local park to visit as we were "waiting" in the waiting area for rooms to be ready. The sense we got the front desk was "bothered" as a 13 month old acted like a 13th month old and no he/we were not loud. Great free shuttle offered by hotel within a 3 mile radius was a plus. Overall fine for adults but could not recommend for families.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We appreciate your research in finding us.

We’re very sorry to hear that your stay experience was not to your complete satisfaction.

We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    336
    104
    44
    40
See reviews for
237
224
68
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Room was extremely nice - wish we had been there longer to take advantage of the balcony and the deck with outdoor fireplace. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Location is great - close to everything in Santa Monica. Will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the studio rooms. What a pleasant surprise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments on your most recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I didn't expect to enjoy this hotel as much as I did. It's on the smaller side, but I think that's one of the reasons that make it great. The room was so nice! The front desk, some of the most courteous I've ever dealt with. Free rides / pickups in Santa Monica. Organic breakfast? Another win!

My only negative is no pool. Would have been nice, but can't take away points.

Room Tip: Top floor has vaulted ceilings, opens the room up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We couldn't have said it better !!!

Thank you for your positive comments on your most recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations...

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Room 229 was very quiet and laid out nicely with an "L" shape balcony. Did not hear any street traffic. The exercise room was open 24 hours a day. The complimentary continental breakfast was very good & we appreciated the organic fruit. Was delicious. The manager and staff were very friendly and helpful.
We enjoy hiking, so walking to the beach was fun. Also lots of restaurants within walking distance.
We had a nice time in Santa Monica, and we will stay again at The Ambrose.
Thank you,
John & Cheryl

Room Tip: Room 229 had a big "L" shape balcony which was a plus for the evenings
See more room tips
Green Features: We appreciated that about this hotel. Prior to this we were unaware that there were hotels that practiced this. We will look for this in the future.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you John B from Arizona for your positive comments on your most recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations...

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

After my medical procedure, I slept from 6pm to 6am! The bed was extraordinarily comfortable and the environment was quiet. No elevator noises or stomping feet throughout the hallways like other hotels. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments on your most recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito Ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A cute small hotel without an attitude. Great complimentary breakfast and coffee. Very clean and comfortable rooms, many with balconies. Perfect location and free shuttle to most sights in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments on your most recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations...

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We enjoyed a large comfortable, nicely acquitted room with the two separate balconies. Very nice continental breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Complimentary shuttle service within Santa Monica. Perhaps the third or fourth time we have stayed at the Ambrose and we will be back in the future.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments on your most recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
Santa Monica
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#5 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#23 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose Hotel

Address: 1255 20th Street, at Arizona & 20th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, the property is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is Santa Monica's first award-winning LEED Certified boutique hotel. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens and bath products, complimentary in-room wireless HSIA, an extensive complimentary breakfast and complimentary house car service (3 mile radius) await your guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ambrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ambrose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.