We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely individual hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ambrose to your Saves list
The Ambrose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1255 20th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
Worcester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely individual hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was a great place to stay in Santa Monica.
Great room - Very spacious and decorated well. Very comfortable bed and great bathroom.
The hotel had a very nice feel about it - Calming and quite.
The buffet breakfast was good quality, however, there could have been more tables to sit at.
The woman at the check-in desk was very helpful and had extremely good local knowledge.
It's just under 2 miles to the beach but the hotel provides a car to get there and back.
A very nice hotel which I would absolutely use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farts_fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you immensely, from " down under " !

We greatly appreciate your comments and genuine review of the AMBROSE Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations... like their own. We strive to provide a calm, quite oasis and accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife had been to a stressful family event in Central America and I decided to treat her to an expensive boutique hotel in Santa Monica, expected to get her some friendly and comforting pamping.

The hotel interior is a Japanese inspired design, wooden beams and white panels, and a small water garden in front. Appearances were thus very favourable until we reached the desk. The staff were polite but insisted I pay the $20 parking charge despite it being included on the Expedia price (yes, Ambrose, I have proof). Okay, in view of the $400 odd cost including taxes for one night, twenty dollars wasn't worth the hassle and I didn't want to hold up the line.

The room was fairly basic, average toiletries, and bottled water was of course charged for. Note the hotel has no restaurant or bar, or at least I could not find either. Breakfast next morning was fruit, yogurt, bread, cakes and coffee, adequate for most people but perhaps a little meagre given the steep price. But what upset us, was that another couple tried to enter the breakfast room about 5 minutes after it had closed and were refused breakfast. But the cleaning staff didn't turn up until 15-20 minutes later and they cleaned away a good deal of untouched food. A more friendlier hotel would have let them in just this time, maybe wagged a finger at them. After all there wasn't any cooked food available and chefs waiting around.

We were planning on staying for two nights but decided to leave and we booked a Best Western in the Simi Valley. And despite being packed out, half the price and twice the service.

Room Tip: Looks like I paid too high a price given the other comments on this hotel. Closely look at pricing i...
See more room tips
Green Features: I saw very little of them, other than a few vegetarian items on the room service menu. The hotel though had notices proclaiming its Green practices.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morris_minor_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We’re very sorry to hear that your stay experience was not to your satisfaction.

We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you.

I'd certainly welcome a follow up email at gm@ambrosehotel.com to review your comments and contact you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

That's what a friend said when I told him we had booked a stay at the Ambrose. We agree, especially for families traveling with a car. This hotel has comfortable well appointed rooms, friendly and accommodating staff, healthy breakfast options and is one of the few hotels we stayed in that were willing to take a sustainable approach to their operations. The cost was reasonable compared to similar quality hotels. The location was very convenient with good restaurants and shopping within walking distance and easy access to the ubiquitous LA freeways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southwind910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you Southwind509 for your positive comments about the Ambrose hotel on your recent stay.

We couldn't have said it better !

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations....

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here for six nights and was very comfortable. The staff were attentive and helpful, allowing me early access to my room after a long international flight. They also helped with suggestions and directions to various LA attractions

Location of the hotel is good, particularly its proximity to a number of eating places, a great 'organic' supermarket and local buses. Although the hotel is not right on the beach, this allows for a bit of peace and quiet, plus walking around the attractive (and clean) neighbourhood is an added attraction.

One reason I chose the hotel was ease of transportation - without a car - to both the Getty Centre and the Getty Villa. Venice Beach can also be easily reached by the 'Blue Bus'. For further afield, the yellow route of the double decker 'hop-on-hop-off' bus stops in Santa Monica.

Room for improvement: Breakfast seating was quite limited plus a few more items could be added to the menu without necessitating the introduction of a hot breakfast. Also there were a few minor problems, which I think related to the change of ownership of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbourne3058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you Melbourne3058 for your positive comments about the Ambrose Hotel and our Staff !

We sincerely appreciate all your positive remarks and work to consistently deliver unexpected service results to all our guests'.

It's guest's like you that make our job effortless !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoxall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Overall disappointed with our recent stay at the Ambrose despite the management doing their best to satisfy us. The management did reduce our charges for the hotel stay which was a decent gesture but was warranted given the range of issues we had. Without going into the individual detail of the issues we do feel that the management and the hotel are obviously going through a period of change and they clearly have some staffing problems. Many of the staff were polite and helpful ( mostly on the reception desk) whilst the other staff found around the hotel clearly were unhappy . This unfriendliness and unhappiness should not be felt by the customer but it was pretty obvious and not what you expect or usually get from hotels in the states.

The hotel is in a decent position 20 blocks walk (30 mins) from the main shopping area or a quick taxi or public transport ride. It is next to Wilshire Bvd where you have a good road between Santa Monica and LA. It is well presented in terms of the reception and lounge/ breakfast area but this was quite busy at breakfast time which meant competition for a decent place to sit.
The rooms were okay but I would suggest coming the time when they will need a refresh if hey are to continue asking the price they do. The TVs are old.

There car park is underneath the hotel so is ideal although we understand that there is now a daily charge for this . Other matters worthy of note are that there are no ice making facilities available without having to ask reception and very strangely you have to pay for be coffee and tea in the room which was the first time ever for us anywhere and we have travelled extensively. Just comes across as a poor gesture.

We booked this hotel based on many old trip advisor reports but were saddened to see a number of negative comments since the ownership or management has changed . Overall this hotel still has the potential to satisfy but there needs to be better attention to the basics of customer service and doing the basic stuff right.

So the good is the position and the breakfast was decent .. the bad is he additional charges within the room and parking ... And the ugly is the number of issues we had .

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the side alleyway as it can be noisy . 1 room does not have a safe so make sure...
See more room tips
Green Features: Windows in 2 rooms we went in had holes in so need replacing so not sure how these can be energy rated
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisJane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We’re very sorry to hear that your stay experience was not to your satisfaction.

We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Unwilling to pay a $200 plus premium to stay at a hotel on the beach, we opted for The Ambrose twenty blocks inland. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the ceiling high (we were on the top floor, the fourth). It was also remarkably quiet and I only heard two sirens in the afternoon from the nearby hospital. The whole hotel is very Zen-like, with a Koi pond and dim lighting, which can make it a little bit difficult to read, but just a little. They have a great complimentary breakfast with fresh fruit and 2 free papers (the WSJ and LATimes). They offer 24-hour room service, which we didn't order, and have no restaurant, which wasn't a problem since there are many within walking distance or easy to get to because of the free shuttle to Montana Street and the Third Street Promenade. They charge $10 to $20 for convenient non-valet parking, depending on the package. We would definitely stay there again.

Green Features: I believe it's Leed certified; they had a recycling trash can in the room
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OriennaGuermentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations....

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I prefer boutique hotels to the big chains, so we were happy to have found the Ambrose.
As others have mentioned, the rooms are nicely appointed, but it's all the little touches that make the difference; a beautiful organic continental breakfast that is included with the room, the beautiful Asian garden views, and the wonderful staff are what sets the Ambrose apart.

Other reviewers complained about the $20/day parking fees. If you don't want to pay, there is plenty of metered parking out front, and on the side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgraded room with a garden view. Ask for a quiet location.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank PhysicianEndorsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our Southern California " vibe " that transcends other destination locations especially in boutique hotels.

Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

We appreciate your comments and will share them within our departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,860 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Address: 1255 20th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing