We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, lovely boutique hotel, excellent location, free parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambrose Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Ambrose Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ambrose Hotel
1255 20th St, at Arizona & 20th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Re-LAX
Ranked #13 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, lovely boutique hotel, excellent location, free parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed to stay in Santa Monica area, close to the beach, lots of restaurants and cafes and high quality life style.. In this area, the hotels are overpriced, but this hotel had a good price at that time. Free parking, free internet and free breakfast are the other beneftis that made us pleased, it is very hard to find a hotel in LA which includes all of them.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you Sinemozer for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Although your reservation was made well in advance, we now have a Parking Fee of $20 per day.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations...

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    260
    67
    24
    25
See reviews for
170
178
50
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Very luxurious furnishings, and quaintly American. Loved that breakfast was included, also quaintly American. A really delightful stay. Not too far from town, and an easy bus ride back. We would stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you LPNSW for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly feel our " Zen " quality and comfort
" vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations...

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Santa Monica is expensive! We got an amazing deal on this hotel, remember you're paying for the location. We loved the zen and quaintness (small) of the hotel and the rooms are quiet and well appointed. For us the biggest bonus was the chauffer service to and from the hotel, not only saved us the hassle of driving but parking as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations...

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beautifully styled eco-friendly hotel decorated with earthy colors. The Zen-inspired design and atmosphere creates a relaxing experience for the guest. The calming music emanating throughout the building, meditation gardens, spa robes, and quality bathroom amenities are touches that do not go unnoticed. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The hotel sits on a quiet corner that is not easily detectable from the outside about a mile from the pier. Though a complimentary shuttle service and free parking was advertised at the time of booking, parking is now $20 per day and the shuttle is on a first come first serve basis after the driver is called for. A complimentary breakfast that includes fresh fruit and cream is served in an informal room containing an eclectic assortment of chairs and tables. Wi-fi is also available free of charge for the guest. Overall, a very nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you AlpineAdventure for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations...

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My room was fine. Parking good - no valet service, a pet hate of mine. Breakfast is served in a lounge area and the seating is pretty dismal. Not enough tables. Small point but an annoying way to start the day.

Green Features: They make an effort in this department with towels, sheets etc
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We’re very sorry to hear that your stay experience was not to your complete satisfaction.

We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you.

We are addressing your areas for improvements in future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were here for 2 days and very happy with the stay. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and of a good size. The location was why we first chose it and we were happy with that decision. We were visitng UCLA so we wanted a location that kept us close to the beach, but also close to the campus. We had an excellent vist and will come again on our next UCLA visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" & the benefits of our location.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This would have been our 3rd stay at the Ambrose hotel--and one we were very much looking forward to. Unfortunately, when we arrived at 6pm, we were told that our room had been given to another guest who extended their stay due to a hospital visit, and that we had been "relocated" to another hotel 10 minutes away. While I could have understood the need to move us, I do not understand why the hotel staff did not try to contact me at any point earlier in the day to let us know of the change and give us choices as to where we could be "relocated". This is, after all, 2013. The hotel could have called, emailed, or texted to get in touch with us and explain the situation. They did none of the above, and waited until we arrived to give us the bad news. Not only did their failure to communicate cause us to drive out of our way, but it also made us late for the dinner plans we had made with a client I had flown cross country to see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We’re very sorry to hear that your experience was not to your satisfaction.

We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you.

Our Front Desk is trained to make every attempt to contact a guest pre-arrival when a situation like this does occur. We will review our practices accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ambrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose Hotel

Address: 1255 20th St, at Arizona & 20th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambrose Hotel. Unique . Influenced by design, yet also inhabits the sights, sounds and tastes of its surrounding neighborhood. Your Place. That warm feeling of being at home. In fact, the last thing we want to do is make you feel like a guest. Because truth is, we’re guest’s in your life… sharing space . Of something bigger. A memory. A stay experience. Luxury. With it comes authentic service and a feeling that you’re in a special place quite unlike anywhere else in Southern California, Santa Monica… or , the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Ambrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ambrose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.