We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zen-Like Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambrose Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Ambrose Hotel to your Saves list
The Ambrose Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1255 20th St, at Arizona & 20th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Zen-Like Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beautifully styled eco-friendly hotel decorated with earthy colors. The Zen-inspired design and atmosphere creates a relaxing experience for the guest. The calming music emanating throughout the building, meditation gardens, spa robes, and quality bathroom amenities are touches that do not go unnoticed. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The hotel sits on a quiet corner that is not easily detectable from the outside about a mile from the pier. Though a complimentary shuttle service and free parking was advertised at the time of booking, parking is now $20 per day and the shuttle is on a first come first serve basis after the driver is called for. A complimentary breakfast that includes fresh fruit and cream is served in an informal room containing an eclectic assortment of chairs and tables. Wi-fi is also available free of charge for the guest. Overall, a very nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you AlpineAdventure for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations...

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    306
    83
    31
    34
See reviews for
199
205
58
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My room was fine. Parking good - no valet service, a pet hate of mine. Breakfast is served in a lounge area and the seating is pretty dismal. Not enough tables. Small point but an annoying way to start the day.

Green Features: They make an effort in this department with towels, sheets etc
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We’re very sorry to hear that your stay experience was not to your complete satisfaction.

We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you.

We are addressing your areas for improvements in future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were here for 2 days and very happy with the stay. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and of a good size. The location was why we first chose it and we were happy with that decision. We were visitng UCLA so we wanted a location that kept us close to the beach, but also close to the campus. We had an excellent vist and will come again on our next UCLA visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" & the benefits of our location.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This would have been our 3rd stay at the Ambrose hotel--and one we were very much looking forward to. Unfortunately, when we arrived at 6pm, we were told that our room had been given to another guest who extended their stay due to a hospital visit, and that we had been "relocated" to another hotel 10 minutes away. While I could have understood the need to move us, I do not understand why the hotel staff did not try to contact me at any point earlier in the day to let us know of the change and give us choices as to where we could be "relocated". This is, after all, 2013. The hotel could have called, emailed, or texted to get in touch with us and explain the situation. They did none of the above, and waited until we arrived to give us the bad news. Not only did their failure to communicate cause us to drive out of our way, but it also made us late for the dinner plans we had made with a client I had flown cross country to see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We’re very sorry to hear that your experience was not to your satisfaction.

We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you.

Our Front Desk is trained to make every attempt to contact a guest pre-arrival when a situation like this does occur. We will review our practices accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orcutt, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was a mixed experience. Pros: Pastries, juice and coffee at the breakfast were yummy. Cons: The space to get the breakfast was so cramped (by a buffet that could be moved back), people had to go slowly and gingerly or risk bumping into each other. Coffee in the room was $2.00! Pillows too fat and cheap! Walls so thin I could easily hear our neighbor urinating from the bathroom (where our toilet would not flush without great effort) and voices loudly talking in the hall at 1:00, 2:30 and 4:00 am! Red light on phone began blinking in my face middle of night, even though when I pushed button and picked up the "message center" said, "You have no messages". Aaggh! In addition the front desk staff was snooty and made me feel like I was in trouble for something. Think I need to re-celebrate my 30th anniversary.

Green Features: The red recycle can threw us -thought it was biohazard!-usually they are blue or green.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We’re very sorry to hear that your stay experience was not to your satisfaction. Noisy neighbors are allotted to time zone changes, foreign travelers or simply late trendy "out all nighters"...
We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you on this special occasion.

While we would love to cordially invite you back for a return visit... as I am certain the incident was an isolated nature, please reach out to me directly at 310-315-1555 for a repeat guest discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I booked a hotel room for a one night getaway (we live in Encino with two kids) and could not have been more pleased with the tranquil atmosphere, friendly staff, and convenient location. It's not by the beach - 20 blocks away - but it sure is a cozy place to come back to after a long evening. Breakfast was included, a continental affair with various pastries, strawberries, yogurt, coffee, juices, cereal, etc.

The room itself was quite nice, clean and well appointed. We were assigned a handicap accessible room, which I believe is the reason for the very spacious bathroom! I noted the TV is old school (not a flat HD set) but we didn't watch it. Fitness center is adequate, two treadmills, an elliptical machine , couple other small machines and free weight racks. Not sure this is a big issue as I used it for lack of time; probably better to use the gorgeous surroundings of SM as an exercise venue. Note if you have a car parking is $20/day.
Staff is friendly and no hitches during our stay.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about The Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly catch our Santa Monica "vibe". They get to know our entire hotel, staff and accommodations like their own home.


We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is well located and reasonably priced for the area. Our room, however, had lost that "zen feeling" reviewers have alluded to. The room was very , very dark and the dark woods and carpet didn't help. The shower curtain was inadequate and needed replacing. The concierge appeared on our last day and staff, while friendly, seemed a bit overwhelmed. I was told by the front desk clerk that the hotel was due to be renovated. The eco friendly concept is nice but should not replace good lighting and well maintained furnishings. Still, it was well priced as I have stated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are extremely sad to hear that we failed to meet your expectations in staying at The Ambrose Hotel.

We strive to exceed our guest expectations on every stay for every guest.

Your comments will be shared with our Team Members in our efforts to alleviate this from future guest stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ambrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose Hotel

Address: 1255 20th St, at Arizona & 20th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambrose Hotel. Unique . Influenced by design, yet also inhabits the sights, sounds and tastes of its surrounding neighborhood. Your Place. That warm feeling of being at home. In fact, the last thing we want to do is make you feel like a guest. Because truth is, we’re guest’s in your life… sharing space . Of something bigger. A memory. A stay experience. Luxury. With it comes authentic service and a feeling that you’re in a special place quite unlike anywhere else in Southern California, Santa Monica… or , the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ambrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ambrose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.