We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ambrose to your Saves list
The Ambrose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1255 20th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very quaint hotel with super friendly staff and spacious, clean room. The rate includes breakfast, which is not to be missed. The breakfast has delicious croissants, muffins, and other baked goods as well as fresh orange juice and grape juice.

Pillows were a bit too hard for me, and the AC noise was a bit loud. But other than that, the room was quite comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sf_nicole22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is beautifully designed with elements of Japanese architecture and Art Deco furniture. It also has a Japanese garden. It has free Internet, a generous breakfast and free shuttle within Santa Monica. The staff is very friendly. My stay in this hotel was thoroughly enjoyable.
Olga

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaP319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

this was our second visit to the hotel. Both times it was the location for a long weekend away. Both times the staff made us feel welcome. The rooms are nicely appointed, clean and roomy. The continental breakfasts were large and delicious. The location is quiet yet close enough to local restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMNABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

When we stayed here my daughter brought her stuffed animal that she loved so much. I called the hotel 4 times and the staff said that they couldn't find it. But I knew we left the stuffed animal there and that they could probably find it. It was unfortunate that we lost the stuffed animal and my daughter was very upset. The hotel staff did not take the issue seriously and did not really do much to help us in this situation. The hotel does not have an adequate lost and found program.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 475traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are very sorry about your daughter's lost stuffed animal. I can assure you that we did take your loss seriously and attempted to find it to no avail. Our executive housekeeper personally checked your room and moved the furniture to try and locate it. We also checked with our outside laundry service to see if they had found it in the linen. Please be assurred that the hotel took your situation very seriously and we did our best to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eco-Oregonian
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the warm personal greeting upon arrival to the "We look forward to your next visit" on leaving, this was a class act. The location is quiet. In fact, it's so quiet we hit Whole Foods and had a beautiful wine and cheese evening on our private patio, complete with a gas fireplace and cozy bathrobes! The breakfast was a delicious surprise: organic (and gorgeous) strawberries, Starbucks coffee and fresh baked croissants. Does it get any better? The only small item of note is the hotel is a bit "worn" in places like the carpets but it certainly wouldn't stop me from returning to this little gem.

Room Tip: Tip: Ask for a room with a private patio and fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hikergirl500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence Center, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife ande I travel a lot.

We stay at a lot of hotels and hotel chains; we have become very used to the typcial amenities associated with most hotels.

Imagine our excitement when we came across this true gem of a hotel, nestled in the Heart of Santa Monica! The foyer is open and eclectic; the breakfast station adjecent to the front desk is warm, invting, and homey. Each guest room exudes an old world charm; oh - and the beds are extremely comfortable! And parking is super easy - they have an easy-access underground parking area.

The best part of this hotel is the extreme hospitality and friendliness that the staff provides. They are all warm, genuine, and helpful. After staying here for just a few days, we felt like we were family!

The workout room is nice as well: even has free weights. Not always easy to find in hotels these days. Also has a great conference room area; we plan to use it the next time we stay here in March, as we have several meetings that we will need to set up for...


We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidWMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics. UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We chose to spend our last night at this hotel following a month long trip to California & Baja. Having done all the necessary research we were not disappointed. The room was very nice, clean, comfortable and furnished in a traditional style. The only downside for us was the lack of coffee/tea making facilities in the room. I know they do have room service and a mini bar/fridge but in my opinion a hot drink on tap is what every traveller needs especially when suffering from jetlag.

The hotel is set several blocks inland from the Pier & all the entertainment, very peaceful & quiet, however it does provide a courtesy London Taxi Cab to transport you to and fro on request - [or in our case a Suburban as the taxi had recently "died".]

The staff are very welcoming and knowledgable. They arranged our taxi to the airport, stored our luggage and put two bottles of Corona in the fridge! Had we not been keen to walk they would even have offered the use of the courtesy car and all this after we had checked out. The service could not have been better - plus the wifi is free.

The buffet breakfast, included in the price, was OK - pastries, cereals, toast etc served in the foyer which to be honest was rather cramped & was not totally suited to eating ie. lounge chairs & coffee tables.

All in all this was an excellent choice of hotel and the hour spent relaxing in the small garden before returning to LAX and a long flight home was rather special.

Yes I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonleics_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,109 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,867 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Santa Monica
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Address: 1255 20th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing