We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Priced Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambrose Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ambrose Hotel to your Saves list
The Ambrose Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1255 20th St, at Arizona & 20th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Well Priced Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Among the ridiculously expensive hotels in Santa Monica (e.g, Shutters, Casa Del Mar) is a gem of a hotel. The Ambrose is a boutique hotel in the best sense of the genre. Located one block from the ever busy Wilshire Boulevard, this asian influenced hotel is a serene way station that is best suited for couples and business travelers. The rooms are relatively large, clean and well appointed. A continental breakfast is served each morning and the hotel has a lovely garden where you can enjoy your Starbucks coffee and organic scone. The staff are helpful and friendly. Free car service is available for nearby trips and, unheard of for Santa Monica, the hotel offers free guest parking. The one drawback is the hotel's proximity to the local hospital which results in the occasional sirens from emergency vehicles. The noise, however, does not detract from the overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    319
    95
    41
    40
See reviews for
218
209
62
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astana, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Whenever we travel to Los Angeles, we prefer to stay in the Santa Monica area. While it's nice to stay at a hotel near the pier and beaches, you'll pay more and and get less in return. The Ambrose Hotel, while not on or near the beach, is a short drive away and offers far greater value for your hard earned money. It is a boutique hotel and simply fantastic. There's free, self-service underground parking with elevator access directly to your floor and a small Japanese style garden with miniature koi pond that provides an oasis of peace and quiet in the heart of downtown Santa Monica. There's even a small alcove with a bamboo grove tucked away alongside the hotel that offers a private spot to sit and relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or a beverage of your choice at the end of the day. The rooms are nicely furnished with everything you need to include fine toiletries, luxury bathrobes,an in-room safe, and a full size walk-in shower. The walk-out balconies available with some of the rooms also offer a nice, quiet place to relax and unwind as well. Breakfast is continental and for those of you that prefer a full service style breakfast, there's a very well serviced IHOP about a 5 minute walk away. There's a Walgreen's across the street, a Whole Foods around the corner, and plenty of other stores and restaurants a walk around the block away. After searching over the past few years for a hotel in LA that offers good service and comfortable lodging at a a reasonable price, and throws in free self-service covered parking on top of that, we finally struck gold and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side have large roomy balconies with tables and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have stayed in Santa Monica before, and near the pier. This hotel is 20 blocks away, but no problem. They provide bikes and car service. The room and bed were comfortable, nice amenities,and they even provide an in- room safe. Finally, a hotel gets it!!The breakfast buffet was wonderful. We definitely over ate. The hotel has an Asian flair, and the feeling is restful and calming. The patio area with waterfall and gardens is lovely and relaxing. Would stay again. Really liked this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

When we booked this hotel we were a bit concerned about the distance it was from the beach. We do a lot of walking so did not think that it was too much of an issue. We were surprised to find out on enquiring about means of transport to the pier that the hotel had bicycles that they let the guests use free of charge. Needless to say that we spent an awesome day cycling to Santa Monica Pier and all along the waterfront to Venice Beach with stops for food and drinks along the way.
The hotel had a very laid back and relaxing feel about it and deserves a high rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for one night while in Santa Monica for business. The location is great, was less than a mile from the offices I was visiting, and the hotel had a complimentary car service that drove me to the office.

Liked the vibe of the hotel, very laid back with a japanese kind of decor/vibe to it. The room was great, though a little dark - could use a little more lighting. Beds were extremely comfortable and though I didn't use it, I liked all the hanger and drawer space given.

I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning, great selection and very peaceful to sit outside on the patio with the small waterfall. A great relaxing way to start the morning!

Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

The Ambrose is very welcoming, cozy, comfortable and neat. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety to cover everyone's tastes. J Just loved the atmosphere in this hotel - a spa hotel-type quality to it.

I can now understand why the Ambrose receives high ratings - well deserved!

I thought being 20 blocks from the beach was going to be an issue but when we arrived, we quickly realized this was not going to be a problem. By car, it's a 5 minute drive with ample parking.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel is cute and charming. Seems an European hotel, but with a kind of Japanese style/decoration..The rooms are great, the bathroom is very nice.
There is a minibar with a key, free parking and is 20/25 blocks away from the beach (must have a car). A Walgreens in the corner. Be aware of Santa Monica's tax (about 15% per day).
Weak points:
we asked a wake-up call which never happened...
the room rate is expensive
the "breakfast area" is in the lobby and everybody has to eat with the dishes in the lap, a lot of mess. The hotel could put 2 or 3 extra tables to accommodate everyone.

Room Tip: Room 317 is a good room, near the elevator and with a partial view of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ambrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose Hotel

Address: 1255 20th St, at Arizona & 20th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambrose Hotel. Unique . Influenced by design, yet also inhabits the sights, sounds and tastes of its surrounding neighborhood. Your Place. That warm feeling of being at home. In fact, the last thing we want to do is make you feel like a guest. Because truth is, we’re guest’s in your life… sharing space . Of something bigger. A memory. A stay experience. Luxury. With it comes authentic service and a feeling that you’re in a special place quite unlike anywhere else in Southern California, Santa Monica… or , the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Ambrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ambrose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.