We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distance From Beach Not An Issue!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambrose Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Ambrose Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ambrose Hotel
1255 20th St, at Arizona & 20th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Re-LAX
Ranked #12 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Distance From Beach Not An Issue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

The Ambrose is very welcoming, cozy, comfortable and neat. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety to cover everyone's tastes. J Just loved the atmosphere in this hotel - a spa hotel-type quality to it.

I can now understand why the Ambrose receives high ratings - well deserved!

I thought being 20 blocks from the beach was going to be an issue but when we arrived, we quickly realized this was not going to be a problem. By car, it's a 5 minute drive with ample parking.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    263
    68
    25
    25
See reviews for
172
179
50
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel is cute and charming. Seems an European hotel, but with a kind of Japanese style/decoration..The rooms are great, the bathroom is very nice.
There is a minibar with a key, free parking and is 20/25 blocks away from the beach (must have a car). A Walgreens in the corner. Be aware of Santa Monica's tax (about 15% per day).
Weak points:
we asked a wake-up call which never happened...
the room rate is expensive
the "breakfast area" is in the lobby and everybody has to eat with the dishes in the lap, a lot of mess. The hotel could put 2 or 3 extra tables to accommodate everyone.

Room Tip: Room 317 is a good room, near the elevator and with a partial view of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California/Italy
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This could be a truly exceptional hotel with its eco friendly commitment, free parking, taxi service, excellent staff, and superb continental breakfast but it disappoints in other ways that demonstrate lack of attention to details. The mattresses were so soft one sunk to the middle and one squeaked when turning over (we asked for help with that and they changed the mattress but it was still soft). The electric clock was malfunctioning (blinked all night), the baseboards and door frames in the bathroom were nicked, and the TV died in the middle of the Olympics. The rugs in front of the elevator were very stained but well vacuumed even at 10:30 at night...not too great when your room is close to that hallway. Finally the excellent breakfast was marred by a lack of sufficient comfortable places to enjoy it. What about some breakfast tables instead of just one? All this seems incredibly picky but these are minor things that are maintenance/infrastructure issues that should be addressed by management. By the way, we did report this to the service staff when we checked out. She said she would speak to the manager but we have not had any follow through despite a week's wait before writing this review.

Room Tip: Avoid room 115 which is across from Housekeeping and close to the bottom floor elevators. You hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

When traveling to hot tourist destinations we prefer a hotel near, but not in the middle of, the hustle and bustle. In this regard Ambrose is not only the perfect location, but also the perfect vibe. A little laid back, great attention to detail and customer service, quiet. We ended up in a first floor room. A little noise from traffic during the day, but made up for it in the vaulted ceilings and hard wood floors of the room (why don't more hotels ditch the carpet?). comfortable, peaceful and nice housekeeping services. Wouldn't hesitate to go back. Only thing keeping it from 5 stars are a few little things in the room showing wear.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We came in for a small team business meeting and I can't say enough about how hospitable the staff was at every level. Rooms were great, the shuttle service was extremely convenient and very easily the best value of any hotel in the area.

Room Tip: 430 is the best room in the hotel!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Arriving fairly late after a long flight, check in was straightforward but lacked that personal touch that makes you feel really welcomed. The room was fine, but somewhat dated and worn around the edges, peeling paint, stained carpets etc. We had a small balcony overlooking the road, but it was nice to sit here with a drink at the end of the day but fairly noisy due to traffic. Lovely bathroom products, decent breakfast and free parking make up for where this hotel misses the mark in other areas. We didn't use the shuttle service, preferring to drive ourselves, and we thought that the hotel was conveniently located for beach, shops and restaurants. Bed a little too soft, silly charges for 'restocking the mini bar' and not enough places to sit at breakfast. We liked the hotel's green efforts, including filtered drinking tap water in bathroom, but felt that the hotel lacked the personality to pull it off convincingly. I'm being fairly critical, but all in all this was a perfectly pleasant hotel, and definitely nicer and better value than other places I have stayed in Santa Monica.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
1,281 helpful votes 1,281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We enjoyed a comfortable stay at the Ambrose which was welcoming from the moment we stepped through the door. Reception staff could not have been nicer and after a long day of driving - 12 hours - the cool, dark interior was as welcoming as a nest. Our room was spacious and comfortable - lovely beds and linen. The bathroom was spalike with good products. We even got a bottle of champagne and chocolates in our discounted rate! It is not on the beach but the hotel has a shuttle that takes you wherever you want to go, whenever you want to go. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
Breakfast was fabulous. Gorgeous pastries, really really nice. Good cereals, coffee, yoghurts, fresh fruit. It was simply delicious. Parking was complimentary which was a wonderful change from the $30 a night commonly charged by Santa Monica hotels. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ambrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose Hotel

Address: 1255 20th St, at Arizona & 20th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambrose Hotel. Unique . Influenced by design, yet also inhabits the sights, sounds and tastes of its surrounding neighborhood. Your Place. That warm feeling of being at home. In fact, the last thing we want to do is make you feel like a guest. Because truth is, we’re guest’s in your life… sharing space . Of something bigger. A memory. A stay experience. Luxury. With it comes authentic service and a feeling that you’re in a special place quite unlike anywhere else in Southern California, Santa Monica… or , the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Ambrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ambrose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.