We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality healthy food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of True Food Kitchen

True Food Kitchen
395 Santa Monica Place, Suite 172, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)
+1 310-593-8300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 594 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Top quality healthy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Lovely healthy food -what a great start to our holiday. Had the sea bass tacos and the gluten free chocolate cake. Maybe they OD on the anti-oxidants and gluten free but that is the Californian vibe!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    98
    19
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fresh, high-quality ingredients. Vegetarian choices abound!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

True Food Kitchen is an oasis in which to hide from the noisy, gaudy, hyper-crowded Santa Monica Pier (EEK. NEVER going back there again, nor to the SM Beach. NB: we were brought there by family... thanks a lot).

I digress.

There was a 20-minute wait during peak lunch rush for a table for two, but there was space at the bar, and we enjoyed chatting with our very friendly bartender/server. We ordered the Farmers Market salad and a wild mushroom pizza to share. The salad was absolutely fresh and vibrant, full of flavor and different textures, and simply/lightly dressed so as to not cover up the goodness. A salad to remember and emulate. The pizza was excellent as well. The mushrooms had wonderful depth of flavor, and the crust, though not the very very best I've had, was delicious-- crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside.

We left feeling nourished and very happy, and reenergized enough to take on the rest of the family outing. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Enjoyed it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Clean and freshly prepared food. The roasted chicken and shrimp with coconut was good. Both are teenagers had the rice bowls with steak and like it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy and healthy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have visited here before and the food was good, it is nice to have swome fresh food and especially coming from a country that has amazing fresh food. This place definitely comes up to standard with ours! You get sick of the American chezzey crap and need to a have detox before going back to work! Service was great, food amazing, juices amazing, clean and tidy and quick food service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food, vibrant atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The food is fabulous and fresh and atmosphere is fun and upbeat. We ate chicken and seafood and both were delicious.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True Food Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to True Food Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage True Food Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.