We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of M Street Kitchen

M Street Kitchen
2000 Main St., Santa Monica, CA (Santa Monica)
310-396-9145
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 514 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Bicknell
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We visited twice after a recommendation from Shutters Hotel Busy and good value for money. Great friendly service It's where the locals have breakfast.
Good alternative to the expensive hotel breakfast offerings

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    87
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reliable, good, comfortable. Breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Been here twice on recent trips, for breakfast. Solid food, good service, comfortable atmosphere. Nice that it is away from the main drag in Santa Monica, more relaxed. Would recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've been here twice now, once with a group of friends and once with my husband. On both occasions I've been somewhat disappointed as I had expected better from the reviews.

The evening menu is unsurprising and not as much of a "twist" as I was hoping for. One of our party needed the gluten free menu and was wholly disappointed that what she got was even advertised as specially developed gluten free as it was pretty basic. On a positive note the Sangria was good!

The atmosphere in the location is good, a great relaxed vibe. The music is not so loud that you have to shout to be heard by the people you are with. There's a good big screen for sport if you are with some sports addicts, at least they're not constantly checking their phones for scores!

All in all i was expecting better...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Sophisticated place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I had a late lunch there and everything was delicious. I really enjoyed the food. I needed to eat some real food in a more sophisticated restaurant. The decoration is cool and the place is good choice if you are prepared to spend a little more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Have the bacon and the cinnamon roll! Everything was great! We had a large group of 9 and everyone was please with their meal. All served at once - perfect!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M Street Kitchen also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to M Street Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M Street Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.