We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel- a dream come true!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Gets the Worm
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent hotel- a dream come true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

everything about our stay was perfect. We had excellent service, kindness and attention to detail on everything in this hotel. Excellent service, excellent staff, excellent location, excellent amenities, excellent care. we were there during a very difficult time for my husband receiving medical treatment…. the shore hotel was an oasis in the desert. I can't say enough about how wonderful we were treated every step of the way!

Room Tip: the ocean front or ocean view rooms are the most beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Service Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Good Evening 59travelgirl04,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It was truly quite a pleasure to welcome you to Santa Monica. I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time and had a good experience. I truly hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    377
    132
    38
    21
See reviews for
468
454
60
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Shore hotel is great - perfect location, original architecture, well-designed rooms, lounge in parking lot:) and extremely friendly staff -but Randell is the best:) This is the 3rd hotel we tried in Santa Monica and I certainly know our second one...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Didemanil,

Thanks so kindly for your recent visit and review of our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated. I am quite pleased to learn you had a pleasant stay and connected with our staff. I do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Shore Hotel is centrally located across from the beach with stunning ocean views, and yet within easy walking distance from fabulous shopping and restaurants. The staff was incredibly friendly, professional and attentive, and our dealings with Adam Burke, Alex and Jen were on par with the very best in luxury accommodations. This was truly a five star experience!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and had stunning views and a balcony.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Shore Hotel is 100% LEED certified. Totally environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Bernt U,

It was quite a pleasure to welcome you & your wife. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and staff. We very much appreciate your business and receiving your feedback about your recent stay. I truly hope we may welcome you both back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We just arrived at the Shore Hotel and I can not rave enough about the wonderful check-in process. Roxanne was welcoming, informative and lovely!

The room is lovely and the bathroom shower adds a fun conversation starter. :-)

Here's to hoping the rest of our stay is just a great!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Betsy C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Shore Hotel. Service is something that is truly on our minds, and is what allows us to separate ourselves from our competitors. I am truly happy to learn you had a good experience. We so appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The Shore is stunningly gorgeous and in the absolute perfect location. Personally, I spend a lot of my time traveling and I always look forward to checking in to the Shore. Super friendly and helpful staff (special shout out to Alex, Danielle, and Mary) combined with a top notch location and property. Five Stars Shore! Well done!!!!

Room Tip: Try and get the Ocean/Pool view
See more room tips
Green Features: Very conscious of the environment, conservation, and re-purposing of unused soaps, lotions, and shampoos to challenged areas in the world who would otherwise go without. Credit given back to guests who opt not to have daily cleaning.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Good Evening Julie M,

Thank you for your recent stay & review of our hotel. We often speak about how service is truly from the heart, and I am glad that our staff was able to shine through during your time spent. We truly appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The Shore Hotel is ideally located in Santa Monica, across from the beach and Santa Monica Pier. It has a boutique hotel feel to it and the staff are very nice. Our flight arrived late (after 10pm) and when we arrived at the hotel all of the rooms with 2 queen beds (which is what we booked) were gone, so we agreed to stay in a room with 2 double beds and see what could be done in the morning. The only clerk working at ~11:00 was very busy and needed help, there were about 3 groups waiting to check in and the phone was constantly ringing - he was doing the best he could, but I felt bad for him. In the morning, Adam, the supervisor was able to offer us an upgrade to an ocean view room for the remainder of our stay. It was a bit of a pain to move rooms but we loved the upgrade to the ocean view room. Thanks Adam. The hotel was really clean (immaculate) and just had a fantastic feel to it. It is more expensive that I would usually pay but we wanted to stay here, so we splurged. We also loved the efforts they make to be environmentally friendly. Although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, it is not a problem (unless you want room service) - there are so many restaurants around. They do offer some food by the pool in the morning for purchase - coffee, yogurt & fruit cups, cold cereal and some pastries and we took advantage of this twice. Loved Santa Monica and loved the Shore Hotel.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are really lovely (but small).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Good Evening ShannonE848,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you to the Shore Hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. I sincerely appreciate the feedback about your trip, it's what allows us to gauge our service from your eyes, and improve. I truly hope we may have the pleasure to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel and it's over the top friendly courteous staff . The location is perfect for some truly wonderful restaurants, shopping and the beach is right outside the hotel. Everything we needed was within walking distance. We plan on returning for a stay whenever visiting Los Angeles

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dalelago,

I wanted to congratulate you on your first review! I am pleased to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations and that your stay with us went well! Please let us know when you will be in the Santa Monica area again as we would love to be your destination of choice!

Thank you again for being our guest!

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.