We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel failed by customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Gets The Worm!
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great hotel failed by customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I love this hotel, the truth is we will return. But they have hopes of being number one on Trip Advisor - they need to up their game.

The style of the hotel is modern and cool, the pool, hot tub and lounging area that allows you to admire the architecture and the palm trees is great. Don't forget about the huge plus of Blue Plate Taco.

But the hotel was let down by staff. All lovely people who were clearly trying to provide good service. But not hitting their mark. Our room was never made up properly - once not until 5pm when we were back in it. And no less than six requests to reception (small things, like can you please send some coffee up as house keeping forgot it) all got missed, never happened and promises broken.

Two other's at check out expressed the same thing.

Please go there, it's great, but be ready to voice and re-voice your requests as they really do over promise and under deliver.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
juddj,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I wanted to apologize that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay. We take your feedback very seriously and strive to make improvements with your comments. We will use your experience as a training opportunity, so that you or any of our guest will not experience this again. And I will also speak with the departments involved. I understand that you have a choice when traveling and I am hopeful that you will give us another chance. Thank you again for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    428
    151
    46
    27
See reviews for
546
497
69
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

1st time at The Shore in Santa Monica and won't be my last ! Joseph and his team who work the Lobby are fantastic, friendly and very helpful, as are the Valet staff who look after luggage and car. The hotel is perfectly located across from beach !

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
PeterD,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! I appreciate the time that you took to share your first experience in Santa Monica with us. We do our best at Shore Hotel to ensure that we are anticipating the needs of our guests. From the first 30 seconds to the last, it is our goal to make your stay memorable! Please let us know when you will be in the Santa Monica area again, as we would like to be your destination of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

For what I paid the hotel could have been a lot nicer. $815 for two nights including parking and taxes. The "suite" was really just a room. The bed was not very comfortable. The pillows were overstuffed and hurt my neck. Honestly courtyards have more comfortable beds. On the upside the location was amazing and th hotels design was trendy. I just felt that the standard did not match the price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
js802002,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our goal at Shore Hotel is to ensure that your stay is exceptional. I would like to apologize on behalf of our team, that we failed to do this during your stay. We will use your comments and feedback to make improvements with our property. I also wanted to mention that we do have feather and foam pillows available on hand, and can have these placed in your room on your next stay. I understand that you have a choice when traveling and am hopeful that you will stay with us when you are in the Santa Monica area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Shore Hotel, in my opinion, is a really great hotel. First of all, the location is GREAT. It's right by the beach. The rooms are also really nice and comfortable. Overall, The Shore Hotel is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Nate R,

We appreciate the wonderful feedback about our property! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location of our property. We take pride in ensuring that our guests are receiving 4 diamond service by exceeding their expectations. I understand that you have a choice when traveling and wanted to thank you again for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

It is all about location.Expensive but rolled the dice with Hotwire and was certain to get The Shore.Saved about 100/ night.Ended up with fantastic room in the back facing the magnificent Santa Monica Place mall. Huge balcony! Only the second floor units have these large balconies.
Very clean,comfortable beds and pleasantly quiet as well. Although those self closing door mechanisms a big problem! So Loud!!! You ever have that fight with your spouse and slam the door behind you. Well that's what these doors sound like every time they close on their own. So people respect your neighbours and Hotel should politely remind guests to simply close the doors gently or eliminate them somehow. Only flaw though. Soothingly warm pool was a plus during cold L.A week too.
Saved another 200$ during week long stay by parking across the street at 14/day compared to Hotels 35/day Valet parking and tips?
Staff was nice. Joseph and the French girl,sorry not good with names, stood out and more than met all my needs.

Room Tip: Second floor facing mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Peter A,

We are proud to have met all your expectations during your recent stay with us. I am personally glad to know that your family felt comfortable and well taken care of throughout your visit as we understand the importance of finding good accommodations when traveling, especially with family members. I will pass along your praise to Julie as she will be thrilled to know that her customer service stood out during your interactions with our team. Thank you for the gracious review and please join us again next time you are traveling to Santa Monica.

Joseph Heywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed two nights at The Shore Hotel and was very pleasantly surprised. The location of the hotel is ideal; and once inside the hotel it is surprisingly quiet from the happenings on Ocean Avenue which can be a very busy street = foot traffic as well as street traffic. Upon arrival , the staff was very welcoming and check in was seamless; my room was ready earlier than anticipated which added to the positive experience. The room wasn't terribly large but was outfitted well with a lot of drawers and an ample enough closet. The bathroom was well appointed and had a fantastic showerhead with great pressure. The balcony was a nice feature - especially in the mornings. Fitness Center was a decent size and equipped with the a few treads, bike ellipticals ,plus free weights, lots of mats and a pulley gym. The pool area was a great surprise ; its facing Ocean Avenue but it is set back and blocked by panels of glass which provides privacy and quiet - hot tub is a good feature. Also towels and water provided. he hotel has a great look both day time and night time when it is strategically lit up. The only downside is that there isnt any real breakfast service. In the mornings, in the lobby there is a small bar set up with basic fruit, some danish and some beverages plus coffee. At the very least a selection of yogurts could hv been offered as well. However, that is just a comment and the overall experience was very positive.The staff i encountered - Julie, TJ and Romano were helpful, courteous and accommodating and i will stay again at The Shore Hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Stacy S,

We appreciate you providing viewers with insight on how well your stay went here at Shore Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to address the features which stood out to you such as the seamless check in process, ample luggage storage, state of the art shower, the balcony and the well-equipped fitness center. Providing such amenities and features allows our guests to truly relax and enjoy their time on property. Also, I am proud to announce that our onsite restaurant will be opening here in the next few month and we will then be providing breakfast, lunch and dinner. Please come back soon so you can dine at our new anticipated restaurant. Julie, TC and Romano all say thank you for the kind mention. See you again soon.

Joseph Heywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great people working there! Beautiful property! A+ location!!!! Pricey (if you use the beach towels or slippers in the room, you bought them) there are loads of very expensive snacks and drinks in the bar stock. There were too many to even use the refrigerator for our own drinks or take out leftovers. Otherwise the stay was awesome!!! Loved all the staff! Hard working and extremely helpful. We Loved our room and street side balcony. Don't valet, as it's reallllly expensive. Use the city parking right across the street. It is safe with cameras present and much better pricing. Great time and excellent walking, shopping, entertainment, and great restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Karenstro,

Thank you for the kind review. Our team takes pride in providing efficient, professional and friendly service with a smile and we are glad to know you recognized these characteristics of our staff. We all agree that the location of our property allows everything Santa Monica has to offer within a few minutes’ walk. Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your visit to the area. Please join us again soon as we look forward to hosting your next stay.

Joseph Heywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.