We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California cool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Gets The Worm!
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“California cool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A unique room set up. Two balconies, two TVs king bed, pullout with room for a rollaway. Great views. Comfortable for four adults. Washroom was very small though
Never had to wait for the elevator!!!
Friendly staff. Walking distance to Third St promenade,Venice beach. Great location

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
joanne m,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Little touches at the hotel such as not waiting for the elevator or the extra balcony definitely help enhance your stay. Please let us know when you are in the area again as we would like to welcome you back to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    429
    150
    46
    27
See reviews for
547
498
69
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Super clean and modern with very helpful and accommodating staff. Rooms are very comfortable and in great shape. Active hotel but not too loud. Easy to get a good nights sleep. Great location with so much to walk to. Would definitely recommend for anyone staying in LA area. Look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
buckross,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am happy to hear that our staff was very accommodating, as we train our team to only provide exceptional service. I am also glad that you enjoyed the design of the room and the location of the property! Thank you again for being our and we look forward to your next arrival!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days on vacation. The location is perfect!! You can walk from any entrance of the hotel and be at the pier, the promenade or the beach in seconds. Beautiful and clean outside and in. Pool is wonderful and heated. The only complaint I have is that I don't have cell service (AT&T) in my room. Other than that, our stay was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
emma_hanny1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the pool area and the location of the hotel! I also wanted to address the issue you had with your phone carrier and let you know that we are aware of the issue. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a beautiful and sexy hotel as close to the beach as you can get in Santa Monica. Staff was very friendly and indulgent, especially the desk clerks and Wayne the valet. There are a few minor glitches here and there, but nothing too serious.

Green Features: Be sure to bring a flashlight. The energy-saving lights are too clever by half, turning off automatically while you're reading in bed or otherwise sitting still, and not turning on if you wake in the night. You have to find the reset button in the dark, by the door.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Scott T,

Thank you for the kind feedback that you have shared with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff exceeded your expectations. I also agree with you on the location of our property! It really can't get any better than this! Please let us know when you will be in the Santa Monica area again, as we would like to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I don't often do this bc I really only valeted my car and met my partner in his hotel room. But the valet Stephen G. Was polite, efficient, courteous, and charismatic. He got my car very quickly without a stitch of the leather out of place! Next time I do a staycation in LA I will definitely stay here bc I imagine the service would be extraordinary. The rooms were very modern with an awesome view of the pool and just passed that there is an insane view of the ocean. Best location in Santa Monica for sure, probably all of LA!

Best Regards,

Hale

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Halehines,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! I am happy to hear that your experience with valet exceeded your expectations! Hear at Shore, our team works hard to ensure that we are providing a memorable experience and that we are going above and beyond your expectations. Please let us know when you will be in the area again as we would like to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here (two adults and two children) for about five nights. The rooms were great - they were modern and really comfortable. The position of the hotel was convenient as it was near the beach and 3rd Street promenade. The staff were very helpful.
There were a few small cons too - there were no shower caps provided and the sound-proofing was quite poor so we were woken very day by doors slamming in other rooms. Also, the bathroom is one of those ones where the shower had a glass wall looking into the bedroom. Yes, there was a blind provided but still, it really makes no sense to me as to why these bathrooms are now so popular in hotels... unless you're a voyeur of course. :)
Anyway, we would most probably stay here again if we were in the area and can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
addictedtotravel24,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a gracious review. Knowing you are a Senior Contributor on Tripadvisor and you found our property to be a lovely hotel is truly rewarding. Thank you for recommending our property and we look forward to your return soon.

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our first visit to the LA area and we were advised to stay at Santa Monica . The area was certainly nicer than staying in town and the Shore Hotel was excellent . It is located opposite the beach and pier . My only negative criticism is they took a security deposit on my credit card and 7 days later is is still sitting on my pending transactions and we did not take anything from the room .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
mollySydney,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to know how wonderful you found our hotel and the location to be. I am sorry to hear that the pending charge for incidentals has not released after 7 days. Please contact me directly if you would like for me to reach out to your bank on your behalf to expedite the process. Thanks again for choosing Shore Hotel.

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.