We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Stars.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Gets The Worm!
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“6 Stars.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Easy to see why this hotel is rated #1 on Trip Advisor... it was a truly unique experience and our stay in Los Angeles was amazing because of it. The staff could not have been nicer and more accommodating: Jim, Brandi, Joshua, Joel, and Stevie. A huge thank you from two mommas looking for a nice little get-away on Mother's Day Weekend!

Room Tip: Front facing ocean view is very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
fieldingSR,

Thank you for such a gracious review and rating. Here a Shore Hotel we are honored to know we provided that unique experience that you were looking for. All our team members are pleased to know that you found each of us to be pleasant and accommodating, especially on a Mother’s Day getaway. I will make sure to recognize each Guest Service member for their efforts as I know they will all be glad to hear how they made the difference in your stay. Thank you again for the six star rating. Please join us again soon!

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    465
    161
    50
    31
See reviews for
600
543
75
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Shore over Spring Break with our two children (ages 10 & 14) in March. The hotel had not booked our room correctly, when we arrived there was no room for a roll away bed. They upgraded us at no charge to a lovely larger room at the front corner of the building. The room was spacious and clean and we appreciated the efficient service from the front desk, the bellman and the valet attendant in the garage. Although the hotel is across the street from the beach and the Santa Monica Pier we had an obstructed view due to a strange overhang on the roof. Even with the obstruction, the view of the Ferris wheel at night was beautiful! The pool was directly below our room and the noise from the pool as well as the street crowds below was a bit annoying. More disturbing was the cigarette smoke that kept floating into our room from the sidewalk (I realize this is out of the hotel's control but if you are sensitive you may want to book further off the street). We ended up never using our balcony over the 2 days we were there. The roll away bed was comfortable as was the layout of the room with 4 people. It was a bit difficult traveling with children and not having easy access to breakfast. My husband ended up going for a walk in the morning and picking us up something-on several occasions we noticed the aggressive nature of the street people begging and harassing for money- they actually would block your path as you tried to walk. We found the area around the hotel interesting but the pier and beach are actually quite dirty and the food was not very good. Maybe it was just the Spring Break crowds but I do not think we will return to Santa Monica anytime soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
fromthebluffs,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, I will make sure to pass along your praise to each department. Our team of passionate hoteliers make the efforts each day to provide all of our guests with exceptional service and we are proud to know we did just that during your stay. In regards to you mention about food options, I am sorry if you were not correctly informed about Blue Plate Taco, our on-site restaurant for lunch and dinner. Also, in the mornings we have a lobby breakfast bar every day of the week and also provide the option of in room dining for breakfast lunch or dinner. Again, I apologize if you were not informed regarding these amenities. I hope if you do return to Santa Monica that you please give our property another chance as I can ensure your next experience will bring nothing but excellence. Thank you again for choosing Shore Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Love, love, love the Shore hotel. It is hard to say what I like the most as everything is so over the top. At check-in, Cash was phenomenal. She is always so welcoming (2nd year in a row) and had a great room with an ocean and pool view for us. Her colleague Stevie, was very helpful, knowledgeable, and upbeat. Lindsy, Brandi and Dallana (Diana) were bubbly and awesome; as were Christine, Derek and Jim. The staff at the front desk, including Joseph, the front office manager, are the best in the industry, which is saying a lot. Not only are the personnel exceptional, but the hotel is also clean and environmentally friendly. The room itself is phenomenal. The shower is relaxing, shampoo & conditioner by Aveda is great. I really enjoyed the body lotion, and the bed is unbelievably scrumptious...so comfortable, relaxing, and soothing. Most of all, I just get a fantastic feeling when I walk in the hotel. Everyone is super, nice, and welcoming. It feels like a home away from home. I enjoyed every minute of my visit and look forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a couple of different locations in the hotel; both rooms were excellent, but it is...
See more room tips
Green Features: Like the hotel's eviro-friendly atmosphere. I was careful about towel usage and and for the most part tried to use fewer towels...
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Lisa G,

Thank you so much for your review. We are truly honored that you have become one of our repeat VIP guests. All of our guests are extremely important to us; however those that have been with us from the beginning will always have a special place with us. Being a boutique property, we have the amazing privilege of getting to know each guest on a more personal level. Seeing that you knew the name of almost all of our Guest Services team is a true testament to our commitment to make sure every guest is remembered and welcome at all times. I will certainly pass along your praise to all of them. Thanks again and we hope to see you again!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of April with my wife. Definitely wanted an ocean-front room and chose this hotel because of its modern looks, great central location, and rates that were more acceptable than other big name ocean front hotels. We were absolutely impressed. Room cleanliness, service, amenities, free WiFi were all great. Rooms are modern and super cute with great features. Having a balcony is also a plus. The only minor setback is expensive valet parking ($35/night) with no option to self park but I guess it could be understandable with limited real state in the area. Would definitely stay at Shore Hotel again if traveled to the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
BorisUNY,

Thank you so much for your review. Choosing our hotel based on looks, location and rate is definitely a choice you share with many of our guests. We are thrilled we did not disappoint in these three initial requirements. However, more importantly, we are even more excited that we were able to impress you with our service. As you stated, there are many big name properties just blocks away to choose from. What makes us stand out though is our team member’s commitment to providing impeccable service. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights on our 4th visit to Santa Monica, we had a fantastic time and could not fault this hotel. It's location is first class, elevated position means you are a 2 minute walk from the Pier/beach and 3rd Street Promenade shopping.
We chose to upgrade to an Ocean View room at check-in which meant we could enjoy a fabulous outlook.
The staff were excellent, being polite and helpful when needed, excellent service without dramas, very-much in keeping was a relaxing vacation. We will definitely return for another visit and this hotel will be the first that we look to book with.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
AndrewR,

On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to thank you for such a great review! We are thrilled we were able to give you an ‘outstanding’ experience. Our talented group of hoteliers set out to create a memorable stay for every guest. As you noticed, being polite and helpful can truly make all the difference. Also, I am glad you were able to upgrade to one of our breathtaking ocean view rooms. Having an amazing location right above the beach certainly makes for a stunning view! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Only stayed for 2 nights as it was part of a round the world trip but have to say it was a Highlight of my trip.

From check-in Stevie and her colleagues are some of the most helpful reception staff I've encountered.

The rooms are excellent, not over the top in decoration - they don't need to be and the Aveda products in the shower is an excellent touch.

The fact that this hotel has won awards for its Environmental policy speaks volumes and it shows that all members of staff are very proud of it.

So pleased to have stayed at this little gem of a Hotel and cannot wait to visit again !

Room Tip: Rooms facing the coast line will obviously offer a nice view ... but the room I had towards the back...
See more room tips
Green Features: Well as an award winning hotel the environmental policy is there for all to see.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Andrew T,

We are thrilled we were able to play a part in your trip around the world! Also, thank you so much for writing such an amazing review. Our Guest Services team is comprised of amazing hoteliers that truly care about each guest’s happiness. Their dedication to providing excellent service without the stiffness generally associated with Four Diamond properties is truly remarkable. Also, our Gold LEED certification is something we take great pride in for we know we are helping save our environment. I am thrilled you were able to see the pride exuding from the entire team. I will pass along your praise to all of them, especially Stevie. Thanks again and we hope to see you very soon!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

In April my wife and myself spent 10 days at the Shore Hotel. I had just left UCLA after a dramatic heart incident at the L.A. Airport. The staff were most helpful in downloading documents and helping us organise flights back to Australia. The position in Santa Monica is ideal with easy access to the Pier, shops and eateries. The staff at the front desk were most helpful and easy to approach.

Room Tip: Room 411 was an excellent room with ocean views
See more room tips
Green Features: You have the option of lower rates by being environmentally friendly
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Pryan13,

Providing top notch service and going above and beyond for each guest has been our goal since opening. Knowing we succeeded in doing so with you is truly astonishing. Also, being a boutique property, we have the honor of getting to know our guests on a more personal level. Your husband and you definitely earned a special place in our hearts and we are overjoyed your situation ended on a positive note. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#9 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#19 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.