We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great hotel and location. We had issues with wifi connectivity from our room - there wasn't any, must have been a dead spot. Would not recommend room 434 as it overlooks the next property's mechanical equipment on the roof which is very ugly and noisy so the 2 balconies are unusable. Nice view of the ocean if you don't look down! Service and staff were excellent and room was spotless.

Room Tip: Don't get room 434 - see review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
CayJay,

Thank you so much for writing a review on our hotel. Describing the service and staff as excellent is such an amazing praise. We have an outstanding team that truly goes above and beyond for each guest. I apologize you had Wi-Fi issues during your stay. There are no dead spots for Wi-Fi in our hotel so I have contacted the IT department to reset the server near your room. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you soon.

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    806
    333
    125
    34
    17
See reviews for
439
387
53
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here last week and had a great time. Hotel has the best location; close to shopping and restaurants, the pier, and across the street from the beach. We stayed in the King Ocean View room which has a balcony. The great place to have a martini and relax. The room is large and very quite. The staff was always helpful. The hotel has underground self parking at a fair price. It was too cool for the pool (although it is heated) but it looked like fun. They serve drinks in the lobby in the early evening.

Room Tip: Spend extra for the full ocean view room, it is worth every penny. Great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Vecchio49,

On behalf of the entire Shore Hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing us as your Santa Monica destination, and also for writing such an amazing review. Your title, ‘Wonderful Experience’ is what we have aimed to achieve with each guest. We know that to rise above the rest, we must create an experience rather than just a stay. As you noticed, our amazing team of dedicated hoteliers truly helps in doing so. I will certainly pass along your praise to all of them. Also, I am thrilled you were able to relax on your balcony and sip martinis! Every single room at The Shore Hotel has a balcony for we know it adds to an ‘escape.’ Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I sometimes visit Santa Monica on business, and the Shore Hotel is located just blocks from where I need to be so I gave them a try. Well they've made me a regular! No matter where my business may take me in the LA area, I'll go out of my way to stay at the Shore. What a pleasant and refreshing experience, very nice room and every member of the Shore team had a great attitude! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
andy c,

We aim to create a relaxing escape via our personable guest experience that in turn creates lifelong guests and are ecstatic we succeeded in doing so during your time with us. We appreciate you giving our Four Diamond Shore brand a try and on behalf of our entire team of passionate hoteliers we look forward to your return!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We selected the Shore for a two night stay based on tripadvisor ratings. While it has a great location near the beach, pier and promenade and is modern and new as noted, it lacks some amenities expected for the price. We found some staff helpful and friendly, but others seemed uninterested and put upon when approached. Also, one wouldn't expect to find things like TV or ventilation not working in a new hotel nor expect a request to fix them to go undone. We were surprised that the only dining is offered at a taco restaurant taht you must go outside to enter, and that there is no room service nor breakfast. The fitness center is nicely equipped though quite small.

The view from our king suite was excellent, but the furnishings were basic/minimalist. The hotel seems more trendy business than resort. Guess we like more service and things to do in hotels when we vacation.

Room Tip: Get room directly facing beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
enjoylife,

Thank you for your review. While I am glad we were able to rectify the rare issues with your television and in room ventilation I apologize you had to take the time out of your guest experience to request them to be remedied as this should never be the case and is not acceptable. As you allude to the Shore guest experience that over 500 reviews have attested to in our first year is based on providing a consistent genuinely personable escape from life’s daily stresses. Subsequently an average review will never be acceptable to our team of passionate and talented hoteliers and has been shared with every department. We would greatly appreciate the honor of having you back with us as I can assure you your next stay will ring only with tones of satisfaction and service excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you want to stay near the beach and the shopping scene, this is the place to stay. The location is unbeatable. The hotel is very clean and the room is functional. We stayed two nights on a room located in the first floor at the back of the hotel (garden view). I liked the garden view as it was very quiet at night and the balcony had direct access to the garden. The only inconvenient is that in order to walk to the back of the hotel, you need to go up the front elevator to the second floor, go through the walkway and take the back elevator down to the first floor. But other than that, the room is new, the carpets are clean and the cleaning staff very helpful. My only complaint is that I wish the reception team could be more welcoming. Neither my fiancée nor myself felt that they were doing enough to welcome you (and we checked-in in different times with different people)

Room Tip: My sister choose a partial ocean view room and I don't think it is worth, cause you really get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Jujulina,

Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your visit from New York City. We appreciate your compliments regarding our central location and overall experience. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our team who aims to create a uniquely personable guest experience in every interaction that has been the source of our accolades early on. We hope to have you back with us in the near future at which point I assure you the consistency and amicable guest experience will await here at the Four Diamond Shore Hotel.

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we had one of the best possible hotel experiences. Not only was the hotel beautiful--sleek and modern. Trendy is probably the best word for the decor. Our room overlooked the water boardwalk, and we had the most enjoyable time sitting on our balcony people-watching. The room itself was perfectly planned with a glassed in open shower provided with a privacy shade. The hotel staff was extremely accommodating, and we easily found our way around Santa Monica because of their good information. We enjoyed one of those great Sunday breakfasts following their directions. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The fourth floor provides the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
judyphillips1504,

Thank you for your review. Our goal here at Shore Hotel from our pre-opening onwards was to provide a genuinely personable guest experience from the moment our valued guests arrive that provides a refreshing escape from the robotic mundane norm many have come to expect. The key to succeeding in this goal has been our team of passionate hoteliers that take great pride in every interaction and in the honor of being able to create lasting memories that subsequently leaves our guests eager for their return. We are delighted we succeeded in doing so during your time with us and look forward to your return!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have been staying at the Shore Hotel since it opened in October, 2011. We visit about every 5 or 6 weeks to see our Grandkids in Santa Monica. We love the staff. Everyone make every effort to please. They remember us, know the ocean-front rooms we like, recommend good restaurants.

Our rooms are always clean, the mattresses are just right, internet is instant and included, overall look is very modern. The bathrooms and the pool are special. The lobby looks like an Apple Store without computers. We have found a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
azduch,

Thank you for being a valued repeat guest here at Shore Hotel during your visits from Arizona. I am delighted to read about the service excellence and consistency that greets you each time you visit us and we greatly appreciate your feedback and awesome picture. Our entire team looks forward to your return and we thank you for your review!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TIG Global, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.