We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Fulshear, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Shore Hotel is wonderful. Location is great. Right on Ocean Ave. a very short walk to the Santa Monica pier and the beach.
We arrived early and there was no problem checking in. The staff is friendly and efficient.
The Hotel is beautiful, from the public areas to the room. The room is on the smaller size but it was very comfortable and again, beautiful. We had a full on ocean view which was great. The beds are very comfortable. The bathroom was large and well supplied. The glass bathroom and shower are really nice. If I had any complaint it would be a few more outlets for charging all of the electronics, but thats a really minor concern. Television is large with a nice selection of channels, but with the beach steps away who really cares about T.V. ? Nice balconey. Although we had a room that was on the Ocean avenue side at night it was very vey quiet. The pool area is also very nice, with a large whirlpool spa. There is a complete exercise room where you can get a full workout. Nice business center as well. Free, fast wifi throughout the property is a real plus. The entire hotel is kept spotless, no, really spotless.
There really is nothing to complain about. Maybe a coffee option in the mornings in the lobby so you could enjoy the wonderful pool area while family sleeps in, but I'm seaching for any downside and its hard. Location, Location, Location. Beautiful design. Very comfortable. Attentive staff. Very clean. And a great value. I would return to this hotel anytime I could.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Fbhfour,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Shore Hotel, your review is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear how wonderful your visit was during your time at our hotel. As a Four Diamond property, we make every effort to maintain prestigious grounds and to provide top amenities that contribute to a friendly stay. In your review, you touch on several key attributes that makes our hotel truly special and we thank you for that. Our staff works extremely hard each day to ensure every guest has the privilege to experience all our features and also experience the caring nature of our team, we are glad to know you able to appreciate each aspect. Thank you again for choosing Shore Hotel and please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    646
    274
    107
    31
    13
See reviews for
336
328
50
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place can't get any better.

1. Clean beyond clean
2. Friendliest staff ever
3. Perfect location
4. Gorgeous rooms
5. Perfect gym

It would be nice to have a restaurant there, but hey! There are a million places to eat in the viscinity! Forget about struggling which room. Who spends daytime in the room at the beach??Stop whining about the location of the tv, etc! Come on people!

It's so refreshing to have the staff say hello and smile.


We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Braxton23,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a favorable review about your recent stay with us. Your welcoming comments regarding our friendly staff, clean rooms, great gym and perfect location are a few of the features that helps create a friendly environment and an enjoyable stay. Our staff is willing to answer any questions one may have about the surrounding area and we do apologize if you were not informed about our onsite restaurant, Blue Plate Taco. Please join us again soon to once again enjoy all the features reflected in your review and to also try our great restaurant. We look forward to your return and thank you for choosing Shore Hotel as your place to stay when visiting Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel recently. We had a hard time deciding which room to reserve, so I thought I would write this review to help others.

To be clear for everyone, our room was the Partial Ocean View Junior Suite with two queen beds. This type of room is located in the corner on the inside of the U. All of these types of rooms are located in this corner, if I heard the manager correctly. The room itself was nice, but my only dislike about this corner suite was that the balcony was very cramped. Since it's in the corner, the balcony is cornered two, and it was very tight to move around in. And only one seating position had a good view. The other seating position had it's view limited by the wall. And if someone got up, they could barely get by. This suite might have been larger than a regular room, but if I go to this hotel again, and I would have no reason not too, I'll get a regular room, or the full ocaen view.

As far as the rest of the hotel, great. Great hot tub too.

Room Tip: Avoid the Partial Ocean View Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Blazin65,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are thrilled we were able to host you and your friend all the way from Alabama for an enjoyable Santa Monica experience! Our Junior Suites do offer a larger accommodation which definitely is more comfortable for families. The seating area not only provides extra lounging space, but also a pull out sofa just in case you need three beds. Due to the fact that it was just two of you and the view was of high importance, one of our ‘Ocean Premiere’ rooms probably would have been a better fit. It gives a full view of the ocean from any angle in your room and is simply breathtaking. You definitely will have to come back and try out one of those rooms! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I must admit, my first stay at the Shore this summer was a little disappointing. I felt the staff was aloof, and for the price of the room, I expect a little more. Since then, I have stayed 2 additional times my stays were excellent! The entire team was pleasant and courteous. The rooms and hotel are hip and beautiful. I absolutely love this place and will continue to stay here when in the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
MnJ_102007,
Thank you for your review and for being a valued repeat guest here at Shore Hotel. I am delighted after speaking together we were able to have you back with us and that we earned your much appreciated praise and loyalty via our personable guest experience. We are honored we are now your choice destination in LA and our entire team looks forward to your return which we hope is in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As everyone says, this is a new, hip, modern, chic hotel right across the highway from the beach and very near the pier. The bathroom rainfall shower is one of those best hotel experiences ever and one you won't forget. The pool area was a comfortable and happening place for a quick dip or just to hang out and relax. The staff was very helpful, friendly and efficient. For all of these reasons and more, it's easy to understand why this hotel is rated number 1 on Tripadvisor at this time.

But I'm mainly writing about the junior suite with a partial ocean view, which we booked for our 3-day stay. The reason for the "partial" view is because the junior suites are tucked into the corners of the U-shaped building which faces the beach. And the view is actually quite good once you step out onto the small L-shaped balcony. Because your room is tucked into the corner of the building though, there is only one small window and a single glass paneled door in the corner of the room. The sofa area itself is a small alcove, a little dark and not really "user" friendly as relating to the location of the main bedroom part of the room. For instance, there would be no way to watch t.v. from the sofa area. Kind of hard to explain but just keep in mind that we booked the room for the extra space but ended up not using the sofa alcove area at all. And if you were thinking of using it as a private sleeping space, that would not work either as it it just an alcove, part of the main room,. Would not book the junior suite again but otherwise, loved this place and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Patcee,
Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your visit from Sonoma County. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our amazing rainfall showers and various other state of the art complimentary amenities we are delighted to offer to our guests. I will be sure to pass along your praise to our team of passionate hoteliers who take great pride in the guest experience we provide and in creating a personable escape from outside stresses. We would love to have you back with us in the future and will be sure to find the exact room type you are looking for during your next stay. I greatly appreciate your feedback and detailed review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights at the Shore Hotel on a business trip. I didn't know what to expect as I wasn't involved in selecting the hotel. It was a delightful surprise - very hip look and feel to the place. The sleeping room and bathroom were good size, with plenty of lights and plugs in both spaces. The hotel's free wifi was very fast. While I had very limited time to be a tourist, it would be a good choice for tourists given its location across the street from the Santa Monica Pier and the 3rd Avenue Promenade. My group got an excellent price, so it was also a good value.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
betsy1224,
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience of your time with us during your business trip. We embrace the importance of creating a home away from home via our personable guest experience and environment and in creating an escape from the stresses of business travels. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have you back with us here at the Shore Hotel the next time your travels bring you to Santa Monica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We are 5 Canadian men that travelled down for a sports trip and we were very happy with The Shore. Stevie and Lindsay at the front desk were both just swell. They showed genuine interest in our well being and were always eager to flash one of those million dollar smiles which considering how ugly my travel mates were, must have been hard to do. The only way they could have been any better was if they were twins. There hasn't been a team with the "one-two" punch as these girls since Gretzky and Kurri. The attitude they portrayed has made us all strive to be better people. The sun might set on the ocean but the warmest glow comes from behind the front desk at The Shore Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Loosehead17,
Thank you for your review and for choosing Shore Hotel during your sports trip from Canada. I will be sure to pass along your praise to Stevie, Lindsy and our entire passionate team here at Shore Hotel. As a team we aim to create a truly memorable and personable guest experience second to none and I am delighted we achieved this goal during your time with us. As a lifelong fan of the 2012 Stanly Cup champion Los Angeles Kings your compliment was an amazing one to say the least. On behalf of our entire team here at Shore Hotel we hope to see you in the very near future and we thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TIG Global, Splendia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Amex, Otel, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.