We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place in LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Gets the Worm
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Easton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“My favorite place in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I must admit, my first stay at the Shore this summer was a little disappointing. I felt the staff was aloof, and for the price of the room, I expect a little more. Since then, I have stayed 2 additional times my stays were excellent! The entire team was pleasant and courteous. The rooms and hotel are hip and beautiful. I absolutely love this place and will continue to stay here when in the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
MnJ_102007,
Thank you for your review and for being a valued repeat guest here at Shore Hotel. I am delighted after speaking together we were able to have you back with us and that we earned your much appreciated praise and loyalty via our personable guest experience. We are honored we are now your choice destination in LA and our entire team looks forward to your return which we hope is in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    376
    132
    38
    20
See reviews for
467
454
60
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As everyone says, this is a new, hip, modern, chic hotel right across the highway from the beach and very near the pier. The bathroom rainfall shower is one of those best hotel experiences ever and one you won't forget. The pool area was a comfortable and happening place for a quick dip or just to hang out and relax. The staff was very helpful, friendly and efficient. For all of these reasons and more, it's easy to understand why this hotel is rated number 1 on Tripadvisor at this time.

But I'm mainly writing about the junior suite with a partial ocean view, which we booked for our 3-day stay. The reason for the "partial" view is because the junior suites are tucked into the corners of the U-shaped building which faces the beach. And the view is actually quite good once you step out onto the small L-shaped balcony. Because your room is tucked into the corner of the building though, there is only one small window and a single glass paneled door in the corner of the room. The sofa area itself is a small alcove, a little dark and not really "user" friendly as relating to the location of the main bedroom part of the room. For instance, there would be no way to watch t.v. from the sofa area. Kind of hard to explain but just keep in mind that we booked the room for the extra space but ended up not using the sofa alcove area at all. And if you were thinking of using it as a private sleeping space, that would not work either as it it just an alcove, part of the main room,. Would not book the junior suite again but otherwise, loved this place and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Patcee,
Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your visit from Sonoma County. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our amazing rainfall showers and various other state of the art complimentary amenities we are delighted to offer to our guests. I will be sure to pass along your praise to our team of passionate hoteliers who take great pride in the guest experience we provide and in creating a personable escape from outside stresses. We would love to have you back with us in the future and will be sure to find the exact room type you are looking for during your next stay. I greatly appreciate your feedback and detailed review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights at the Shore Hotel on a business trip. I didn't know what to expect as I wasn't involved in selecting the hotel. It was a delightful surprise - very hip look and feel to the place. The sleeping room and bathroom were good size, with plenty of lights and plugs in both spaces. The hotel's free wifi was very fast. While I had very limited time to be a tourist, it would be a good choice for tourists given its location across the street from the Santa Monica Pier and the 3rd Avenue Promenade. My group got an excellent price, so it was also a good value.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
betsy1224,
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience of your time with us during your business trip. We embrace the importance of creating a home away from home via our personable guest experience and environment and in creating an escape from the stresses of business travels. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have you back with us here at the Shore Hotel the next time your travels bring you to Santa Monica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We are 5 Canadian men that travelled down for a sports trip and we were very happy with The Shore. Stevie and Lindsay at the front desk were both just swell. They showed genuine interest in our well being and were always eager to flash one of those million dollar smiles which considering how ugly my travel mates were, must have been hard to do. The only way they could have been any better was if they were twins. There hasn't been a team with the "one-two" punch as these girls since Gretzky and Kurri. The attitude they portrayed has made us all strive to be better people. The sun might set on the ocean but the warmest glow comes from behind the front desk at The Shore Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Loosehead17,
Thank you for your review and for choosing Shore Hotel during your sports trip from Canada. I will be sure to pass along your praise to Stevie, Lindsy and our entire passionate team here at Shore Hotel. As a team we aim to create a truly memorable and personable guest experience second to none and I am delighted we achieved this goal during your time with us. As a lifelong fan of the 2012 Stanly Cup champion Los Angeles Kings your compliment was an amazing one to say the least. On behalf of our entire team here at Shore Hotel we hope to see you in the very near future and we thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm not actually reviewing the hotel, but the restaurant, which is located at the Shore Hotel on Ocean in Santa Monica.

Blue Plate Taco opened in October 2012 and is owned by the same person who owns the Blue Plate Oysterette. It's not a taco stand, but rather a more of a high-end bistro.

There were four of us eating lunch, and it was fabulous! The waitstaff was attentive and helpful. The scene and scenery was fun, being right on Ocean. And the food...loved it, from the flight of salsas to the Dulce de Leche milkshake! I had a seared ahi, which was prepared perfectly and practically melted in my mouth. The aguas frescas were amazing (we had ours without alcohol), flavorful mixtures that were well-balanced and refreshing, not cloying.

All in all, a memorable meal. Pricey, but worth the splurge! Go there, even if you're not staying at the Shore Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
DurangoFam,
Thank you for dining in our brand new onsite restaurant, Blue Plate Taco. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to the entire Blue Plate Taco team and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed their amazing food and service. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Shore Hotel was truly a lovely surprise. I booked the hotel through their receptionist and was prepared to leave after a day in the event we were disappointed. Well, our 7 night stay was extended to 10 (which is something my husband and I never do!), but the hotel was perfect. From the moment we arrived until our departure we were treated the same...respectfully and as if we were the only guests. In addition, the location was ideal. We parked our car in their garage and used it only twice to visit museums. Otherwise, we walked everywhere. Restaurants and shops for everyone. The Blue Plate restaurant in the hotel was such fun and the food was so good, we returned for a second dinner. It was the only repeat of our entire trip.
Obviously, you can see it was a delight to stay at the Shore (love the name!).
Northern California older couple!

Room Tip: The rooms on the street facing the beach is where we stayed and loved it! Even at our age the bustle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
lovetotravelretirees,
Our entire team thoroughly enjoyed having you with us during your ten day stay. We are delighted you choose us for an impromptu stay and that our service levels were a key factor in extending your one night with us. We aim to create a uniquely personable guest experience that provides a refreshing escape from the mundane normal hotel stay many have come to accept in hospitality. We are ecstatic we succeeded in doing so during your time with us. I speak on behalf of our entire team when I say we were saddened to see you go but we look forward to having you back with us soon, thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our first night on our American holiday so a comfy bed and shower were sooooooo important great beds very comfy and good room size we had a pier view and were very happy. Very close to the pier and the yummiest onion rings at Rusty's on the pier too.

Room Tip: Its worth having a Pier view so you can look to the beach and lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Tarsha D,
Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels from Australia! We are delighted you had an excellent experience with us and we hope to have you back with us the next time your travels bring you to beautiful Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Amex, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.