We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beauty of this hotel is only overshadowed by the beauty of the front desk girls.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shore Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The beauty of this hotel is only overshadowed by the beauty of the front desk girls.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We are 5 Canadian men that travelled down for a sports trip and we were very happy with The Shore. Stevie and Lindsay at the front desk were both just swell. They showed genuine interest in our well being and were always eager to flash one of those million dollar smiles which considering how ugly my travel mates were, must have been hard to do. The only way they could have been any better was if they were twins. There hasn't been a team with the "one-two" punch as these girls since Gretzky and Kurri. The attitude they portrayed has made us all strive to be better people. The sun might set on the ocean but the warmest glow comes from behind the front desk at The Shore Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Loosehead17,
Thank you for your review and for choosing Shore Hotel during your sports trip from Canada. I will be sure to pass along your praise to Stevie, Lindsy and our entire passionate team here at Shore Hotel. As a team we aim to create a truly memorable and personable guest experience second to none and I am delighted we achieved this goal during your time with us. As a lifelong fan of the 2012 Stanly Cup champion Los Angeles Kings your compliment was an amazing one to say the least. On behalf of our entire team here at Shore Hotel we hope to see you in the very near future and we thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    345
    130
    37
    18
See reviews for
450
403
54
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm not actually reviewing the hotel, but the restaurant, which is located at the Shore Hotel on Ocean in Santa Monica.

Blue Plate Taco opened in October 2012 and is owned by the same person who owns the Blue Plate Oysterette. It's not a taco stand, but rather a more of a high-end bistro.

There were four of us eating lunch, and it was fabulous! The waitstaff was attentive and helpful. The scene and scenery was fun, being right on Ocean. And the food...loved it, from the flight of salsas to the Dulce de Leche milkshake! I had a seared ahi, which was prepared perfectly and practically melted in my mouth. The aguas frescas were amazing (we had ours without alcohol), flavorful mixtures that were well-balanced and refreshing, not cloying.

All in all, a memorable meal. Pricey, but worth the splurge! Go there, even if you're not staying at the Shore Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
DurangoFam,
Thank you for dining in our brand new onsite restaurant, Blue Plate Taco. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to the entire Blue Plate Taco team and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed their amazing food and service. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Shore Hotel was truly a lovely surprise. I booked the hotel through their receptionist and was prepared to leave after a day in the event we were disappointed. Well, our 7 night stay was extended to 10 (which is something my husband and I never do!), but the hotel was perfect. From the moment we arrived until our departure we were treated the same...respectfully and as if we were the only guests. In addition, the location was ideal. We parked our car in their garage and used it only twice to visit museums. Otherwise, we walked everywhere. Restaurants and shops for everyone. The Blue Plate restaurant in the hotel was such fun and the food was so good, we returned for a second dinner. It was the only repeat of our entire trip.
Obviously, you can see it was a delight to stay at the Shore (love the name!).
Northern California older couple!

Room Tip: The rooms on the street facing the beach is where we stayed and loved it! Even at our age the bustle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
lovetotravelretirees,
Our entire team thoroughly enjoyed having you with us during your ten day stay. We are delighted you choose us for an impromptu stay and that our service levels were a key factor in extending your one night with us. We aim to create a uniquely personable guest experience that provides a refreshing escape from the mundane normal hotel stay many have come to accept in hospitality. We are ecstatic we succeeded in doing so during your time with us. I speak on behalf of our entire team when I say we were saddened to see you go but we look forward to having you back with us soon, thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our first night on our American holiday so a comfy bed and shower were sooooooo important great beds very comfy and good room size we had a pier view and were very happy. Very close to the pier and the yummiest onion rings at Rusty's on the pier too.

Room Tip: Its worth having a Pier view so you can look to the beach and lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Tarsha D,
Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels from Australia! We are delighted you had an excellent experience with us and we hope to have you back with us the next time your travels bring you to beautiful Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The location of The Shore is perfect, close to 3rd St promenade and the mall, close to the beach and lots of good restaurants, and right by the road if you're driving down to Venice or into the city, or onto the Pacific Highway.

Really nice fresh rooms, tastefully decorated. The shower was great, and I liked the overall design of the room, utilizing the small-ish space really well. A little gift of some chocolate and pretzels brought to the room after I arrived was a really nice touch.

Shame there were no breakfast options, it would be good if even the taco place next door accommodated this. Seems a shame not to have options. We were told on check in that the staff could order in from local restaurants for us for dinner, but there were no menus in the room or instructions to do this. A few extra touches like having some menus available would be great.

I didn't use the pool but it seemed like a good size and got sun most of the day. A little weird being right by the sidewalk but it was hidden enough not to worry.

Overall, great hotel with friendly staff. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Jillinthebox,
We appreciate the honor of being your choice hotel in Santa Monica during your visit from New Zealand! I will be sure to share your praise with our staff who will be delighted to hear you had a memorably personable guest experience with us. I have already shared your suggestions with our in room dining team to ensure the menu issue has been immediately rectified. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to have you back with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the first 3 days of our 2 California road trip and it was perfect. It has a sustainability charter closely linked to the issues of the Ocean, oh and is just 20 minutes drive from the world famous surf rider Malibu beach.

Arriving on an long-haul afternoon flight we were there in around 20 minutes from LAX, the hotel has parking which makes things even easier.

The staff were helpful, the location spot on for the beach and good restaurants nearby. I’d say this is the ideal spot to get over jetlag and be hit with the beach culture of California in the best possible way.

Highlights have to be the pool and nuclear hot hotub after sunset and popping for super fresh Taco’s in the onsite restaurant. Free wifi was a total bonus. The glass bathroom wall was a ketch touch and happily comes with an electric ‘modesty’ blind for those who do not wish to overshare their bathroom time.

It would be a great stopover hotel if flying on to Hawaii for example.

Room Tip: Pool facing means you'll probably bag an ocean view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Richie_J0nes,
Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel as your place to stay in beautiful Santa Monica. We are glad to hear how fantastic your stay was and we are thankful for the favorable review. Sounds like your time with us was well spent as you were able to enjoy our refreshing pool and locally favorite onsite restaurant Blue Plate Taco. Our all glass shower is definitely a hit for all guests who stay with us, it provides a different feel then the norm many come to find in most hotel rooms. In today society, we believe providing free Wi-Fi is essential to ensure a positive and welcoming stay while traveling to our property. Thank you again, we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just stayed at this boutique hotel right across from the ocean. It was perfect! We got an upgraded room without even asking and no hassle late check out. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the property was glistening clean and new. Very hip, Euro vibe with excellent location very close to pier, beach, and 3rd st promenade shops. Lovely pool and hot tub too! Will definitely return.

Room Tip: choose room away from elevator as the "ding" from elevator can be heard in room close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
JJWood,
Your generous review and favorable remarks are kindly appreciated. On behalf of Shore Hotel staff, we thank you for providing viewers of Trip Advisor with your feedback regarding the perfect stay you had with us. Our guest service staff makes every effort to provide guests with “anything and everything” needed during their stay. When possible, based on our availability we will upgrade our guests and extend late checkouts to accommodate any desires needed to ensure a delightful stay. Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels to Santa Monica, we look forward to your return shortly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Otel, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.