We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New modern hotel opposite Santa Monica pier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Gets The Worm!
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“New modern hotel opposite Santa Monica pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Fantastic modern hotel in prime position, we were very happy with our room. It had everything you need, flat screen tv, free wi fi, large bed, great bathroom with double shower and beautiful view out to Santa Monica pier over the pool. Our room wasnt ready when we arrived (early) so we went for a walk to the pier with the promise of a phone call when the room was ready. We went back to the hotel much later and when we mentioned that we hadn't received a phone call, the reception said the parking fee would be taken care of which was very nice and unexpected. When we checked out both days parking had been comped so that was a very nice touch. We would also like to mention James (concierge) and Brandi (reception) who both were very nice and helpful especially James who made a reservation at a restaurant for us. Some other reception staff weren't anywhere near as friendly and didn't even acknowledge us when we walked past. All in all a great experience and we would happily stay at the Shore Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view, definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Wizzynew,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our passionate team here at Shore Hotel is glad to hear how fabulous your stay was during your time in Santa Monica. Even though check in is not until 4 pm our guest service staff will make every effort to honor all early arrival requests. We will attempt to make each interaction with our guests a positive one and will also take full accountability if any expectations are not met. We will pass along your pleasing remarks to James and Brandi, they will be happy to hear how they impacted your stay. Please feel free to join us again soon as we would like for you to meet more of our staff and get to know the agents first hand. Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    428
    151
    46
    27
See reviews for
546
497
69
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Hotel located on ocean av. in santa monica where you will have a great view either of the famous pier or the ocean. it is close to the third street promenade where you will find shops and restaurants. The hotel is new and rooms are furnished with cozy beds coffee machine and 37 flat tv. You will be surprised by the barhroom: there isn't a wall which divides it from beds but a big window. for your privacy there is an electric curtain. Hotel is also furnished with Artemide lamps and it looks very cool. On the other hand I wasn't satisfied by the receptionist at the check in: he forgot to tell me informations about the parking and the use of elevator but in the next days I found other receptionists who were very kind and helpful. despite there is a complimentry internet wireless I had problems with my device and none was able to solve it even if they put a lot of efforts to try to help me, so I had to go out and log in with the complimentay wireless of santa monica.
last but not least the parking rate are $30 per night for hotel guests and only $15 for non guests.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Franz0778,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As stated in your review, we definitely do have a great location to the third street promenade and beautiful views of the pier & beach. Being a newer hotel it allows us the opportunity to provide guests with state of the art amenities that help contribute to a wonderful stay and we are glad you enjoyed all aspects. However, we are saddened to hear your check in experience was less then exceptional as we do try to inform each guest about every detail regarding the property and the features. In regards to the $15 non guest parking, this does not include overnight as this is a daily rate only and we apologize if you were misled. Our staff here at Shore Hotel appreciates your feedback and thank you for staying with us during your time here in Santa Monica. We hope to see you soon and promise your next check in with be on point!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking this hotel, so this not only met our expectations but exceeded them! What a jewel! The location could not be more ideal for our morning walks/jogs along the ocean. The Promenade is conveniently close by, as well as other great shopping and dining on side streets. As for the hotel itself, the lobby is amazing! So open- all glass- that we felt like we were outside! At night, the lighting was so soft and comforting, yet dramatic. When the sun went down, and it got cool outside, we walked inside and felt like a warm blanket was being put over our shoulders, welcoming us home. The rooms are beautiful, quiet and comfortable, with lovely balconies. Of course, we loved how green it was. Luxurious AND green- a rarity! Lastly, the prices were were "friendlier" than the other luxury hotels close by. You will NOT be disappointed! Great job, Shore Hotel!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
JoanieBDallas,
Thank you for your review and for choosing Shore Hotel after reading reviews from our past guests on our Trip Advisor page. We are very appreciative to have over 400 detailed and frequent reviews in our first year of operation. I am delighted to read the guest experience you had with us exceeded your expectations. We have an amazing team of passionate hoteliers here that take great pride in our new property/brand and aim to ensure every interaction we have provides a refreshingly memorable escape. We also take great pride in our LEED Gold certification as well as ensuring our guests can enjoy our Four Diamond property at an affordable rate as you allude to. We thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again the next time you visit Santa Monica from Dallas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botkins, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Could not have asked for anything more in a hotel. We walked in very early (10 am) due to an early flight on a Tuesday expecting to have to come back to check in. The young lady behind the desk (Cas? sorry very bad with names) said no problem to checking in and after some small talk upgraded our room to an ocean view! We we walked into the room, our breaths were taken away by the view through the sliding glass door!

Everytime we walked through the lobby we were greeted with a smile and every question was answered quickly and enthusastically. So refreshing in this day and age!

Close to everything in Santa Monica.

Our driver wasn't arriving until 12 45 so we asked and received an late checkout with no problem - with the before mentioned smile.

Overall a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
besser1961,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to hear we were able to check you in early and that we were able to honor a later check out for you as well. I will be sure to pass along your compliments regarding the personable service you received to Cash. Our goal here since our pre-opening was to assemble a team that would take immense pride in creating a refreshing escape from the mundane interactions many have come to accept while traveling. I am delighted we succeeded in doing so during your time with us. Please visit us again in the near future and thank you once again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Loved being so close to the pier at night and enjoyed eating at Bubba Gump's a novelty for us. Great overnight break before travelling further in US. Good area for walking around and absorbing the holiday atmosphere. Great service by staff and liked the iced water available at the desk.

Room Tip: Garden room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Aussie_100,
We are thrilled we were able to host you for an ‘overnight break’ during your holiday travels. Santa Monica truly is an amazing city and our hotel definitely is in a prime location to enjoy it! As you noticed everything is in walking distance. Being just steps from the Santa Monica Pier and Third Street Promenade, it truly can’t be beat. Also, we are thrilled you were able to relax in one of our peaceful Garden View rooms. Our garden definitely does create a peaceful sanctuary. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

At check-in, (maybe) felt like we were banished out to the back of the property because we had kids (views overlooking the next door restaurant and it's car park, but we did have partial ocean view which did include good view of the SantaMonica Pier). Room was very small, but it was clean, and modern. Shame the restaurant wasn't opened when we were there 2 weeks ago. The lack of dining options was disappointing for us at the time (but I guess would no longer be the case). Truly surprised there wasn't a thriving cafe/restaurant strip on Ocean Avenue pivoting the Santa Monica Pier.

Room Tip: Adjacent the pool area is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
HellasHellas,
Thank you for your review and for choosing Shore Hotel during your visit from Sydney, we appreciate your compliments regarding our property! We love hosting the many families who have enjoyed Shore Hotel in our first year and aim to provide a uniquely personable guest experience for every traveler whether it be a solo guest or a large family that we have the honor of hosting in our new hotel. Subsequently we politely disagree with the assertion that we would ever give a lesser room type or location to our travelers with children as we block our rooms solely based on the specific room type that our valued guest’s book. We have various room types to choose from in both of our buildings to cater to the exact preference of our guests.

Given our beautiful property and talented team of passionate hoteliers we will never be satisfied with anything short of an excellent guest experience here at the Shore Hotel. I regret our amazing restaurant, Blue Plate Taco, was not open during your stay and would love to have you back with us the next time you are in Santa Monica. I am confident your next experience will bring only the utmost levels of service excellence, which is the core of our new property and brand.

I have contacted your account and look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We passed through one night and it was hard to go. Overall aesthetic was neat; modern, lots of glass, but simple, comfortable -- not slick. Nice, natural grasses used in the landscaping (that I suppose don't need watering --it's a LEED certified hotel).
The room was fantastic. Me and 2 big guys (my husband and giant, teenaged son) but we were very comfortable and didn't feel on top of each other. There was a balcony, so that helped (it looked out onto 'the garden', which was lovely -- not actually a garden, but a sitting area with cozy couches and little fires burning at night -- and the grasses). Bedding, toiletries -- all great! Ipod dock in the room and great shower and bathroom.
Staff was super-friendly and helpful. When I asked if we could check out, the guy at the front desk very pleasantly looked up our room off and sheepishly said, "The best I could do is 12". 12?? Check out was 11! He's apologetic about giving us an extra hour?? Very gracious.
Another person at the front desk gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner, and steered us away from a local tourist trap. Very much appreciated!
Great location and close to the pier, restaurants, etc. I was afraid it would be a little TOO close to everything, but it was quiet and serene during our whole stay.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: We thought the garden room was great, and it's cheaper than the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
daphneNewYorkCity,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel staff is glad to hear how much your family enjoyed your time with us. Our team is made up of very professional hoteliers that strive daily to provide each one of our guests with exceptional guest service. With that being said, we appreciate the kind words of being super-friendly, helpful and gracious. We are glad to hear how fantastic, comfortable and spacious the room was for your family and welcome you back anytime. Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel as your place to stay in Santa Monica. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.