We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary service, great location, and cool, clean, comfortable room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Gets The Worm!
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Extraordinary service, great location, and cool, clean, comfortable room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

I loved this hotel! I was feeling sorry for myself, having to spend mother's day 3,000 miles away from my son, and at a crummy hotel down the street. The clean lines of the hotel caught my eye as I walked to the Pier, so I stopped in. The hotel staff could not have been nicer - the manager on duty gave me a great deal on a room, an early check-in and a lovely card and a box of fancy nuts was waiting for me. The room was beautiful, spacious and modern. Free wi-fi and a nice pool were bonuses. The hotel is getting a restaurant, but there is no shortage of places to eat nearby, and there is a delivery service. What makes this hotel stand out, though, was the attentive and personal client service.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Kathleen D, Thank you so much for taking time to write such a wonderful review. I had the pleasure of meeting you during your stay and I could not be more thrilled you enjoyed your ‘Shore Experience.’ We take great pride in making every guest feel special and happy, especially when they’re a little down on mother’s day. I will pass along your praise to Nichelle, who left the card and nuts in your room. She will be ecstatic that you were so pleased. Also, I’m glad you enjoyed our pool and free Wi-Fi. Those are definitely the two stand out amenities that guests seem to love! Our restaurant and bar open up in July, so we hope to see you again for that! Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    460
    161
    49
    31
See reviews for
593
542
75
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights at the end of May. Brilliant hotel, lovely rooms and pool. Only downside is lack of food or drink facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichelle N, Assistant Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Claudine H., thank you for posting a review! We're happy to hear that you found our hotel to be "brilliant" and that you enjoyed all of our facilities! Our restaurant will be open mid-summer and we hope that you're able to join us again to experience it as well. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and fell in love as soon as I stepped in the door.
It was hard for me to leave this beautiful hotel
Location is perfect. The pier is in front and the mall is at the back of the hotel
Best time to be in between.

The pool is so inviting ... ( note : no restaurant available or drinks on location ) you need to buy outside if you want to bring in drinks
The valet area was too cute.. it has a lounge / waiting area which was decorated nicely. I don't mind hanging in there too

The room is decent size. big enough for 2 people.
I will be back for sure!

Only thing i did not like is their pillow.. too soft.. had a hard time catching some zzz

Room Tip: Free Wi Fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
StellaStyle,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Shore Hotel during your visit from Vancouver. We appreciate your praise and will be sure to pass it along to our entire team of passionate hoteliers. We hope to see you in the very near future and thank you once again for your review!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, N.S.W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I recently arrived home from a 4 night stay at Shore Hotel. What a great experience. Staff were professional and very helpful especially Stevie, what a star you have there!! Hire car companies, tours, restaurants and bars to visit whatever you needed, they were able to source. Location is brilliant just a stroll from the iconic Santa Monica Pier and minutes from the 3rd street promenade. In some reviews people have said traffic noise is an issue, not so. The glass doors are thick enough to completely block traffic noise. They also had separate recycling/rubbish bins in the room, which we didn't find elsewhere in the US. A slight negative was that at check-in time our room wasn't quite ready, however with minimal delay we were upgraded and on our way, thanks again in no small part to the wonderful Stevie. Had a great time and if I'm ever back in the area I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

J

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichelle N, Assistant Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Hello jembot and thank you for your review! Wow, we are so proud of Stevie for providing you with nothing short of excellent service and we will be beyond happy to pass along your compliments! We're so happy to learn that during your inconvenience, we were able to rectify the situation for you promptly and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location definitely can't be beat as we our just minutes within everything Santa Monica has to offer. Thank you for mentioning our "Green" initiatives as we are a LEED (Gold) Certified property. We are dedicated to providing a luxurious and comfortable stay while reducing our carbon footprint! Thank you again for your review and we hope that you will be able to stay with us again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

excellent location...close to the beach very safe area lots of bars restaurants and cafes nearby....room very clean pool and spa area very enjoyable and lastly the service is by far the best always willing to listen, help and act upon situations....one employee i found extremely helpful and nice was Stevie from Nashville she was able to do a generous discount on my parking because i stayed for the week...also Lizzie helped big time by giving us an upgrade because they overbooked our original room really sweet room.... best hotel LA

Room Tip: im sure all the rooms are fantastic i got upgraded to a room with view because they overbooked my or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichelle N, Assistant Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review Faruk C. We really appreciate it! We are so delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your "Shore Experience" with everything from our central location, clean room, enjoyable pool and spa and our wonderful staff! More specifically, that Stevie and Lindsy went above and beyond to provide you with the 5-star service we have become known for. Each will be notifed of your praises as will our entire team! We cant wait to have you back with us to enjoy what we know will be another excellent stay! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We recently stayed at the Shore hotel and were very happy with our stay. The place is very sleek and modern, the rooms are ok, all rooms have a balcony, which is nice. We had a good view of the ocean, and often enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a drink to relax. We didn't use the pool, but it looked great. The gym equipment was good, at least good enough to push in a small work out while on vacation.

There is no restaurant, so breakfast is not included and you will have to go out for that. However, they are opening a restaurant this year, which unfortunately may also push up the prices on the hotel, yet would be nice. I generally don't have any complaints about this hotel except that our keys often wouldn't work. Especially to get in and out of the garage.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on the third floor at least for a better view. We were at first put on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichelle N, Assistant Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Hello Sara N. and thank you for your review! Thank you for mentioning our sleek and modern design! It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing experience on our lovely balconies as well as had a good view of the ocean. We're sorry to hear that you experienced some inconvenience wth your room keys. Please be assured that we did everything possible to rectify this situation for you and even had our technicians inspect the gates. Our restaurant, which will be Blue Plate Taco, is due to open in July and we are so excited about it! We hope that you are able to return to experience it as well as enjoy another relaxing stay! Thank you again for your review and we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I went this past weekend for one night. I thought it was going to be impossible to get reservations since it was Memorial Day weekend, but we were lucky enough to get an amazing room! Our view was perfect, it overlooked the entire beach and the pier. When we checked in the director of guest services, Dieter Schmitz, was at the desk and made sure we were taken care of. He suggested a few restaurants and once we decided on one he made reservations for us. (Boa was also amazing!) We really appreciated that he gave us his personal card in case we needed anything during our stay. The entire staff was extremely friendly. We went here to relax and that was just what we did! We will definitely be going back very soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichelle N, Assistant Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Hi Shelby H. and thank you for posting a review! We know how sold-out the entire area was over the holiday weekend and we were so happy to welcome you and your boyfriend to stay with us! Our Director of Guest Services, Dieter, will be delighted to hear that you mentioned him here. Thank you also for the compliment to our entire team! Dieter has provided you with the level of service he has trained each and every one of us to offer all of our guests. We're so happy that your stay with us was relaxing and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#8 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#19 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.