We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful Family Experience!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shore Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“"Wonderful Family Experience!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Our family of five, including three adult boys (16, 20,& 22) rented two rooms at the Shore Hotel in Jan. 2012. Our rooms had a small balcony with a "partially obstructed", but beautiful view of the Sant Monica Beach and Pacific Ocean. These rooms overlooked the pool and were on the south side of the buliding on the 3rd floor. At this time of year there is no sun on these balconies. If you are a sunworshipper or enjoy watching the sun rise and set, we would recommend getting a south facing room (the ones overlooking the pool) on the 3rd or 4th floors or a "Premier Ocean Front" room. There are many different types of rooms with varying views, prices and bed configurations. It would be prudent to clarify these details at the time of booking to avoid confusion. One other note, although the rooms are well soundproofed, the premier ocean front rooms at the front of the hotel, may be a bit noisier than the ones set further back, especially when sitting out on the balcony, because of the traffic. All in all the rooms were very clean, the beds and linens were fresh and comfortable and the maid service was efficient and friendly. We loved the rain shower and did not have any problems with water temperature or pressure. There was an empty fridge in our rooms which was extremely convenient and we enjoyed having free wifi in our room. Our sons enjoyed the pool and hot tub and took advantage of the fitness facility in the hotel. The location of this hotel is fantastic as it is a short walk to the pier,all of the best restaurants, sites, beaches, bike paths, rentals and jogging trails. The fact that there was no restaurant in the hotel was not a big deal as it forced us to explore the area and experience different restaurants. Although this hotel is one of the pricier hotels in the area, it was immaculately clean, safe and well situated. Perhaps the best part of this hotel was the welcoming staff. Stevie, Cash, Kimberley and our booking assistant Lynette, were extremley friendly, accomodating and patient with all of our queries and questions. They really made us feel at home. The valet staff and doormen James and Randell always greeted us with a smile. All in all we had a wonderful time at this hotel, the weather was fantastic and we didnt want to leave. We can't wait to return. Thank you for memorable and happy experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
karvan221,
We are delighted you and your family enjoyed their experience with us! Thank you for sharing your pleasure with our views, rain showers, pool and hot tub and our staff. We all take great pride in providing our guests with lasting memories thru our uniquely welcoming, personable customer service and are so appreciative of your compliments. I will be sure to share your praise with Stevie, Cash, Kimberley, Lynette James and Randall as well. We share you sentiment and excitement regarding your return and thank you so much for your review and being a guest with us here at Shore Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    352
    131
    37
    19
See reviews for
456
425
54
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We booked a night in the Ocean View room for our last night in the USA so were expecting and hoping for a great room. We were disappointed by the following things:
- WiFi did not work majority of time and staff were unable to help fix this problem
- Poor cell reception
- Beds did not have plush cushioning & pillows were flat
- Shower pressure was barely okay and maximum heat was just warm
- Our 'Ocean View' room hugely disappointed us. We had to peek around our balcony to see the ocean. Definitely not as described by the hotel. Staff simply stated that it was an ocean view room.

Good things:
- Close to everything & nice restaurants nearby
- Staff were friendly

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
CK0808,
Thank you for your review. We regret and take full accountability for the internet issues you had during your stay. We worked overnight to get the service restored but understand during the time it was down this was time lost. We are pleased you did enjoy our location and our amicable staff. We take great pride in providing an affordable, uniquely personable experience second to none here at Shore Hotel and will never be satisfied with providing an average experience here. I have contacted your account as I can guarantee you the issues during your stay were a technical rarity and we would love to have you back to experience the best of Shore Hotel. I look forward to hearing from you and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, ON
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at the Shore Hotel for the first leg of our family reunion. 5 rooms, 18 people (2 seniors, 8 kids and 8 adults). This was the ideal location for all of us because at any time if someone needed to go back to the hotel it was just a short 5-10 minute walk back. Travelling with kids who need to nap, or have to run back to get a jacket or more diapers was easy. Also, even though the hotel is very modern it does not have that air of beginning adults only. The kids were all welcomed by the staff. A big thanks to Nichelle for helping arrange a great limo company who was very reasonably prices and provided exceptional service. Raul from California Limo is a gem. As well, thanks for letting us use the meeting room, to have a impromptu family meeting, though there was no cafe or bar, they gave use the use of their space for FREE. Brandi was amazing and helped get use a private dining room at a Mexican Restaurant (Border) and getting us a reservation at Bubba Gump for lunch, that was totally packed. With a party of 18 you need help :) The rooms were amazing and the beds are really nice. My one disappointment was that when I originally booked the rooms I was assured that we were all getting oceanview rooms but only 1 room was truly ocean view,2 were partial ocean views and 2 were city views.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a great stay in a great hotel. I think once the rest of the hotel is operational, bar or restaurant...it will be FANTASTIC !!! Thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
tsoi888,
We thoroughly enjoyed having your large group with us for your family reunion. We love to create lasting memories during these important gatherings and are happy both the adults and children in your group enjoyed their time with us. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to Nichelle and Brandi and on behalf of our entire passionate team here at Shore Hotel we hope to have the honor of being the home for your next reunion which will then include our bar and restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at the Shore in Jan 12. We ordered the ocean view room for 2 nights. Our experience was mixed. First our room was not ocean facing. In fact, we had to lean over our balcony to even see the ocean...we complained about this, but were told that there was nothing to be done and to get proper ocean view rooms we should have ordered the premier ocean view room. This despite that fact that the Shore website claims that we should have had "suberb full ocean views". (btw...the hotel also offers partial ocean view rooms....can't imagine any view from those!) The room overall was fine....clean, quiet, good bed, decent tv+channels, good products but very mediocre shower (no pressure and only luke warm during our first night). Service was also mixed...we asked for a recommendation on a walking tour of Santa Monica and were told that "walking in any direction will be nice" (I kid you not!!) This hotel needs a proper concierge! But a request for a shower cap was met immediately and professionally. Also be aware that the restaurant is not yet open, but this didn't bother us as there are plenty of places to dine nearby. The location is good. Overall, if we return to Santa Monica, we will try a different hotel.

Room Tip: if you want ocean views, you will need to get the premier rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
vactionerAmsterdam,
Thank you for your review. We love reviews both positive and those that supply us with constructive criticism so that our young hotel can continue to evolve and grow. During our opening we made sure to generously categorize our ocean view rooms, the majority of our partial views would be considered full views in the city and we regret your view was not satisfactory. Our knowledgeable front desk team does serve as our concierge and that response, while certainly not characteristic of our applauded team, is not to our high standards. I have contacted your account so that you can experience the best of our team here at Shore Hotel and again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The hotel entrance is really different. Big glass windows, blue lighting, a new property. The hotel is a bit stretched out depending on where you room is (ours was toward the back in an adjacent building) but overall we were happy with our stay. The pool drew the kids in immediately though it is in no way private as it sits in the center of the hotel entranceway. The rooms are interesting with a glass shower and bathroom that has a drop down screen for privacy. With the screen up, the room looks a whole lot bigger. Water pressure wasn't good nor was the toilet water pressure but this may be due to the "green" design and construction. Room AC was great, funky doorbell/privacy system. Cleaning missed the balcony but the room itself was cleaned well. We'd definitely stay here again based on the value. No restaurant which is coming soon but that was not important to us.

Room Tip: We liked being back from Ocean Blvd as the noise from the road was not a factor in our room. Well i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
t25624,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with all of us. Our building is definitely unique and we love to provide our guests with an open feel via our spacious rooms and windows looking into the beautiful Pacific Ocean. As you allude to this also creates a very open experience in our rooms as well. We also invested in ensuring every guest room was insulated from the city’s action when desired. We thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I recently stayed at the Shore Hotel for a couple nights during the holidays. There are a few things from the hotel that are still missing (restaurant, bar, movies... they are coming though), but the staff goes above and beyond to provide you with almost any service you want. By the end of your stay you feel as it's your 'home' due to friendliness. It's nice having people you feel really care about your comfort. They definitely make up for anything lacking with their staff. Thank you Jim for always having a solution and to Jim and Cash for always putting a smile on me and my family's face! Can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Rogelev,
We aim as a collective team to create a home away from home with our personable customer service and are happy you felt that comfort during your stay with us. We will be sure to pass along your praise to Jim and Cash and our entire team. We share your excitement regarding a return visit and look forward to having you back with us at Shore Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Spent three relaxing, cozy, fun filled nights at the Shore Hotel. From the Bell Staff to the ceaning crew they all performed flawlessly. Valet or self park is a breeze. Very convienient to 'The Pier' and 3rd St Promanade this place has it all. Clean, confortable extreamly modern rooms are work works of art. A little tight for big families but worked great for us. Storage and a balcony were a plus. You will love the glass shower and waterfall screen. Can't say enough for this place we had not one single complaint or problem. Modern, clean, fun and convienient. What more do you want?

Room Tip: Rent bikes from the Santa Monica Bikes just around the corner. Great maps and Trek Bikes. Stafff w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
TNtraveler1998,
Thank you so much for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels from Tennessee. We aim to make every step of our experience here seamless and comfortable and are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We too love the glass bathrooms and rain showers that create a unique guest experience and look forward to your return visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, BookIt.com, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.