We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable, delicious seafood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Monica Seafood

Santa Monica Seafood
1000 Wilshire Blvd, Santa Monica, CA
(310) 393-5244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Reasonable, delicious seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Found restaurant by mistake. We were headed towards Huckleberry's, and walked right by SMS. Menu was extensive, not overly expensive. Smoked salmon salad and Fish Ñ' Chips was great. Service just OK. We'll
Definitely go back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    37
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent cioppino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had the Cioppino, mushroom ravioli and lobster roll. All were fantastic and worth the price. We had to wait about 45 mins to get a table but it was well worth it and you can pick up some fresh seafood for dinner tomorrow.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was expecting a small, rustic setting, like those of La Jolla and Malibu. Santa Monica Seafood is large, bright, cheery and clean. The service was excellent and food portions about perfect.

The grilled swordfish was the best I've ever tasted.

The bill for our party of three was ~ $100.00, and well worth it.

Dave

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The restaurant is part of a market that has the most beautiful seafood presentation I have ever seen. Great care is taken in keeping the market well stocked and beautiful. On the restaurant side, I had a mixed seafood pasta and really enjoyed it. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood - Casual Sophistication”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is an extremely inviting not-so-big cafe in a high-ceilinged, almost glitzy, seafood market. Compared the the vast selection in the display case, the cafe menu is somewhat limited, but everything is well prepared and delicious. The server was knowledgable and helpful. Prices are what you'd expect in Santa Monica - but quite reasonable considering the quality and ambiance, and that you can spend more for some chain-restaurant meals. If I were a local - this would be my fish market and a reliable local choice for a great meal in a bright, comfortable setting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Monica Seafood also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Santa Monica Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Monica Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.