We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SEAFOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Monica Seafood

Santa Monica Seafood
1000 Wilshire Blvd, Santa Monica, CA
(310) 393-5244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“SEAFOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great place to enjoy seafood! We had the cioppino with lobster added extra....it was really wonderful! A nice casual vibe with a lot of people purchasing raw fish to cook at home....it is a market too. The service was awesome. Enjoy :D

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    37
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moe, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“it was only ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

found this one to be cramped in the sense that the tables where to close for our liking but that may just be us?. the food while very nice was bought much to fast, we like to take in the ambiance and eat over a period of a couple of hours but no mater where we went in the USA we always felt that every meal had to be served in a hurry. the staff however where lovely and considerate and this certainly helped.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great - had to write a review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is my first review, I generally don't write them, but this place is really great! The seafood is really tasty, fresh and well made, I am only sad I discovered this place a week before I am leaving Santa Monica! Been there for lunch on Saturday, ordered a "small" Cioppino which was a very filling portion and really good. I loved the place so I decided to go again on Sunday, got fried calamari for starters (again "small", again big!) and then ravioli with shrimp and scallop - also very well made and tasty. Will definitely go there again before I leave Santa Monica, those crab legs look awesome!

The place was quite crowded both times I went, so one should probably book a table. I was solo both times so I sat at the bar which wasn't empty but there were a couple of free chairs there. The interior and atmosphere aren't exciting, but who cares when the food is superb! The staff is very friendly and good. At the bar I could see that quite a few people were regulars (knew the names of the waiters and asked about their private lives etc) who were also clearly very happy with the food.

One of my favorite places, just had to come to review it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seafood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good seafood poor service no atmosphere noisy parking is hard also the fresh seafood counter has really nice fresh seafood and great selection to bring home with you

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious King-Crab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was actually driving around in my car, looking for a place to have dinner alone, when i drove past this place. Looked really crowded, but i gave it a try. There was a seat left at the bar, which i took. I ordered some king crab legs, which were really delicious. Fresh and very tasty!
The second time i ordered a spicy salmon burger for lunch, which was also very tasty and fresh.
Look forward to my next visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Monica Seafood also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Santa Monica Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Monica Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.