We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very good service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Up To 20% Off!
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, very good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here years ago and really enjoyed it so decided to come back this time. This time it is not so appealing. It is not inexpensive and even worse when you get into costs like breakfast which will run you $32 for a buffet brekkie or go a la carte and pay $16 for eggs then add toast $5 and coffee $5 which is a tricky way of pricing breakfast. The WIFI is one of those choked down versions which won't allow you to use some programs like for instance Whatsapp and yet it does allow Skype. It does not seem to have changed a bit in more than 20 years but it is showing its age in places.

On the plus side the staff are very courteous and service is excellent. The location is not quite beachside but you do get a good view from parts of the hotel of the lovely beach and the ocean. Take a walk down the beach and you will end up at Venice Beach which will consume the good part of a day to have a good look. Going the other direction is the Santa Monica Pier which is pretty interesting.

Bed was superbly comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    459
    238
    112
    79
See reviews for
504
390
63
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Roosevelt and the AWESOME VALET service at Loews Santa Monica is not 1; not 5; BUT 25 STARS of AWESOMENESS.
The staff are some of the best that I have ever experienced and the AMBIANCE of the Hotel is SUPERB. Robert at the SPA gives the best massages in the UNIVERSE.
I call the front desk staff THE QUADRUPLE "A" front desk MAGICIANS
Dr. Sandra Wilson

Room Tip: rooms on the Santa Monica Beach side are SUPER
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the Loews Grand King suite--we chose this room because we wanted an ocean view---the view was not only of the ocean but also the Santa Monica Pier---one bedroom suite--with the bedroom also having an ocean view. This would have been perfect if there had been a balcony--. The first night we were tired and decided to have room service--while it came quickly--it was very disappointing and very average at best. The pool was surprisingly small--and we gave up on being served drinks--and eventually went inside--very expensive--if you want an ocean view--but why stay there if you do not want to see the ocean---The front desk staff --Jessica--went out of her way to make us feel welcome and important--valet service excellent---the concierge arranged a tour for us---

Room Tip: if you want an ocean view room--you will pay more but it is worth it--julliette balony--no room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Loews Santa Monica Beach hotel has sadly become so overcrowded and in disarray from its original state. We have stayed there on three occasions, even booking 5 rooms for family some years back as it used to be so nice and well kept. HOWEVER during our recent visit this past month the Loews proved to be such a disappointment : Crowds and waits in the lobby for coffee, a menu so unfriendly for kids at the main restaurant and never available lounge chairs at the pool . The overwhelming stench of carpet and room deodorizer was so intense none of us could bear it.
The worst part was the EXTREMEMLY loud noise throughout the night from the stairwells leading from the pool and beach access. We couldn't sleep for the noise and also the lack of security it posed as our room was at the same end of the hallway.
Lastly, the once clean and uncrowded gym facility was in disrepair unkempt. I am sad to see a former favorite so run down and crowded.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms at the end of the hall by the exterior staircase at all costs- very noisy and not se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you are traveling to Los Angeles and wanting to spend time in Santa Monica, the Loews Santa Monica hotel is the best place. I stayed there for a work meeting, but the layout is so relaxing, as you are on the beach and the views are breathtaking. You have direct views of the Santa Monica piers and ocean. You're in walking distance of Third Street full of shops and restaurants. The service was outstanding in different positions of the hotel. The consistent service is evident. Thank you Loews Santa Monica hotel to the following employees who made our stay feel like being a VIP guest: Dustin, whom I believe is the manager of the front desk, immediately greeted us with calm and professionalism, considering we arrived the day before Labor Day and it was crazy busy on the streets and in the hotel. Our room wasn't ready at 4pm but Dustin immediately gave us a $100 credit which prevented any potential frustration. Thank you for empowering your people. I ordered room service quite a bit and Pearl got to know me so well she would know my order and sent up a hand written thank you and a bottle of wine which was unexpected but coincidentally it was our 12 year anniversary. Abdul - star service. I had logged into my iPad and laptop ordering wifi. I was charged twice and called star service. Abdul acknowledged this was common and immediately reversed the fees. I'm not one to ask for fee reversals but I would have asked for the one. This was beyond fair and I appreciate Abdul going above and beyond. When booking a manicure and pedicure Layton was so helpful in describing which one to choose. When I got there he was so busy with people coming in and out, needing a locker key etc.... He always was calm, cool and professional. He checked in with me during my services and as an executive for a customer service company, I see the potential for I'm in hotel management once he graduates. We stayed there for 4 days and I cannot say enough of the outstanding service, food quality and room quality.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view and if you can, upgrade to a king room with terrace. There are only 6 of thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I hate most everything about this hotel.
The lobby was so-so ... there was a breakfast bar turned cocktail bar by night with unfriendly service. The view of the ocean is the only selling point - there are chairs and couches along the windows that are a more comfortable place to sit and work than the guest rooms.
The workout facility is also nice - open, bright and lots of machines.
The spa has a small little "hair salon" that offers Blow Outs for only $40 - there was a great stylist that worked there.
The guest rooms are downright horrible. Dirty, old, outdated.

Would I stay here again? Living in MN, whenever I travel to CA in the winter I like to stay by the ocean. If it was the dead of winter and this was the only hotel available in my price point, I would consider staying here if I could get an ocean facing room. That's the only way you could get me back here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsSantaMonica, General Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Erica-

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your February stay. We are truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable, ocean view seating in our lobby environment, and that Ocean Spa and Fitness was an enjoyable experience. We take great pride in our guestrooms and are very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectation. It is our sincere hope that you allow us another opportunity to “WOW!” you in the future. We want to thank you for staying with us for business in February, and we do hope to see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was very luxurious......and you pay for that here!! A total splurge. The location, the views, the spa, the resturant.......all wonderful!! Would make a fantastic girls weekend spot. And the Santa Monica pier is right out the door.....Beautiful!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations.Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Chef Keith Roberts’ California contemporary cuisine showcases creative interpretations of the familiar favorites. Located in Ocean & Vine, the chic new Sushi at Sunset sushi bar features a variety of inventive rolls as well as traditional sushi, nigiri and sake pairings. Recently named one of the “Best Hotel Spas” by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell Massages to Age defying Facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed…naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel’s door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel’s Les Clefs d’Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest’s fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.