We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Conference Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Up To 20% Off!
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Conference Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week while helping run a company conference at the hotel. The staff was excellent, the location is incredible (short walking distance to the Santa Monica Pier) and the food service was very very good. I was routinely surprised by the hotel's willingness to accommodate us. Nice bar and pool areas and a good fitness center too!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    482
    251
    126
    86
See reviews for
526
412
66
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berks
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked in to this hotel when we 'escaped' from the London in West Hollywood. It was Saturday night and the hotel was very busy. However, the reception staff could not have been more helpful. We arrived early and had to wait from 1.30 to 4.00 to check in. That was not their fault. We were early. Despite this, they compensated us for the wait by paying for our dinner. In the morning, we asked for a late checkout as we were taking a night flight. They could not do this but paid for breakfast. Neither of these did they have to do but it left us feeling very positive. Just one warning. At 8am we watched people putting towels on the prime recliners by the pool and then disappearing. Very selfish and very annoying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Overall a nice hotel with good rooms and a great location. Tried the sushi at the Ocean & Vine restaurant which I wouldn't recommend. The hotel charges for wifi access on a per device basis so if you have a laptop + iPad + 2 phones = $48 per day. SCAM!!!! The hotel had a seminar/convention on so from about 7 am I could hear a 100 people at my front door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was very excited to stay at this property based upon positive past experiences at other Loews, but unfortunately this location was a bust. First off, I was in town to run the LA Marathon; I selected this hotel from a list of hotels offered by the Marathon website so I assumed they were in partnership with the event, I was mistaken. Here are my main complaints…
-Room was smaller than I expected and not well insulated, you could hear toilets flushing next door and hear everyone in the hall very clearly. Also, the sink area of the bathroom did not have a door so if you got up during the night and washed your hands the light and noise was sure the wake the other guest.
-High additional charges, $36/day for valet, yikes! Internet is $11.95. I thought this would buy me 24 hours of use as is typical at other properties, but I was wrong. It only buys you time from 12:00 (noon) to 12:00 (noon), the following day. So if you buy internet at 11:00am it will expire in 1 hour, promptly at 12:00, eekk!
-I requested a late checkout (to run the marathon) and hopefully take quick shower but they were very strict and would not give ANY later check-out – wow! So unless I could run a 2:30 marathon I would have to be checked out prior to running and have no shower, what a waste. I would think a hotel listed on the Marathon website would actually try to be somewhat accommodating to their runners and guests.
I will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My client made all the travel plans and booked us into the Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, so I wasn't paying real attention, but wow, what a great, very pleasant surprise! We checked in relatively late (10:00pm), but the door staff and the reception staff were very warm and welcoming, as well as effective and efficient, very unlike my own mental state, so the welcome / reception was my first impression and was a very good one. The room was spacious, big bathroom, very well done. And, my pet peeve, a table to work on, which also faces the television, so I can watch CNBC while phoning and e-mailing for maximum multi-tasking. We met for a drink at the lobby bar. True to form in the L.A. area, the bartender was an actress, very engaging and personable, who regaled us with stories of the TV commercials she was doing. Great atmosphere, well-done lobby, bar, the whole thing. AND, it's right on the beach. Too bad I was on business, but will definitely plan ahead next time and carve out some extra time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a fantastic time in Santa Monica. What a place. In LA and yet a million miles away.

We stayed at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel for 7 days on a recent trip to the US. It offered everything you could expect. A Great pool area, easy access to the beach and all the attractions of Santa Monica.

You pay for parking and internet which is always a sore point for me given you are paying top dollar. But, otherwise the staff and service are first class. Look out for Sergio on the pool deck, he is one of the managers and he went out of his way to make sure we were always looked after.

Oh and try the fish tacos.... On the pool deck. What a way to end the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountlake Terrace, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My mom and I spent a night at this hotel to celebrate my birthday. It is a beautiful hotel, great location too. You just cross a small street and you are on the beach. The room was very nice with a view of the pool and Santa Monica Pier and ocean. Everyone was very friendly who worked at the hotel too. It was very refreshing. The guy who checked us in, the bellmen, the guy at the spa desk and the excercise class teacher and waitress, were all wonderful. There were really great common areas in the lobby area, very relaxing to hang out and have lunch, drinks or just relax and talk or read. Great pool area and gym and spa. They even have excersize classes. I did the Pilates Fusion class and it was great. I highly reccommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I got a Travelzoo rate that included an upgrade. It made it a little more affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.