We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Beach! And on Business!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Up To 20% Off!
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“On the Beach! And on Business!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My client made all the travel plans and booked us into the Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, so I wasn't paying real attention, but wow, what a great, very pleasant surprise! We checked in relatively late (10:00pm), but the door staff and the reception staff were very warm and welcoming, as well as effective and efficient, very unlike my own mental state, so the welcome / reception was my first impression and was a very good one. The room was spacious, big bathroom, very well done. And, my pet peeve, a table to work on, which also faces the television, so I can watch CNBC while phoning and e-mailing for maximum multi-tasking. We met for a drink at the lobby bar. True to form in the L.A. area, the bartender was an actress, very engaging and personable, who regaled us with stories of the TV commercials she was doing. Great atmosphere, well-done lobby, bar, the whole thing. AND, it's right on the beach. Too bad I was on business, but will definitely plan ahead next time and carve out some extra time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    431
    226
    108
    69
See reviews for
475
362
62
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a fantastic time in Santa Monica. What a place. In LA and yet a million miles away.

We stayed at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel for 7 days on a recent trip to the US. It offered everything you could expect. A Great pool area, easy access to the beach and all the attractions of Santa Monica.

You pay for parking and internet which is always a sore point for me given you are paying top dollar. But, otherwise the staff and service are first class. Look out for Sergio on the pool deck, he is one of the managers and he went out of his way to make sure we were always looked after.

Oh and try the fish tacos.... On the pool deck. What a way to end the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountlake Terrace, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My mom and I spent a night at this hotel to celebrate my birthday. It is a beautiful hotel, great location too. You just cross a small street and you are on the beach. The room was very nice with a view of the pool and Santa Monica Pier and ocean. Everyone was very friendly who worked at the hotel too. It was very refreshing. The guy who checked us in, the bellmen, the guy at the spa desk and the excercise class teacher and waitress, were all wonderful. There were really great common areas in the lobby area, very relaxing to hang out and have lunch, drinks or just relax and talk or read. Great pool area and gym and spa. They even have excersize classes. I did the Pilates Fusion class and it was great. I highly reccommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I got a Travelzoo rate that included an upgrade. It made it a little more affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights here by default (originally booked jw marriott but they were over sold so the put us up here) We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! We were in a large king room on the second floor with ocean views. The view was slightly obstructed by scaffolding as they were renovating the exterior of the building and we didnt hear any construction noise. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is very beautiful and has a nice pool area with cool fire pits in the of the poolside tables to keep you warm on chilly nights. The hotel is also within walking distance of the beach, santa monica pier, third street prominade, restuarants and buses. We will definitely stay here again the next tme we are in santa monica

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I had a very spacious and comfortable room and made use of the big and full equipped gym and the heated swimming pool where they even marked one lane for swimmers. Breakfast was served a little slow so I had to take it with me in the car to be on time for my meetings but the next day I just picked a quick breakfast and coffee from the bar. Wished I had more time around my meetings to enjoy the facilities.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Even though the hotel is in a fabulous location, the rooms for 300.00-400.00 a night are not any better than most hotels I've stayed in that were around 100.00. The service was very good though. Beware, it will cost you 36.00/day to park there. My big complaint is I just received my invoice by email. They over charged me by 75.00 per night that I was there and also charged me for four days for parking my car there instead of three. After I called to request a refund for the difference, they sent me a new invoice that charged me for three phone call at 25.00 that I didn't make nor were they on my original invoice. Needless to say a place like this should be able to bill correctly.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsSantaMonica, General Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear bbwl,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share the details of your recent experience at our hotel. It was disappointing to learn of the billing errors you encountered with your final bill. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this caused you. We do hope that these billing issues were resolved to your satisfaction. If this is not the case, please do not hesitate to contact my office so that I can assist in resolving this matter immediately. We appreciate your business and look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel in the very near future.

Paul Leclerc – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Was looking for a good hotel in a central Santa Monica location and I have to say that Loews met this requirement. A great pool and just a short walk to the beach.
We checked in, dumped our bags and then hit Santa Monica. When we got back into our room we discovered that rain from the night before had soaked the carpet. We phoned reception who sent an engineer to check the significance of the damage, after checking the carpet the engineer informed us that we would have to move rooms and that he would arrange this.
A few minutes later we got a call from Christina at the front desk who was very sorry for the inconvenience, arranged to move us to another room and then offered us a discount on our rate. We found Christina's response to the issue to be generous and very customer focused, we will certainly stay here again the next time we are in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations.Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Chef Keith Roberts’ California contemporary cuisine showcases creative interpretations of the familiar favorites. Located in Ocean & Vine, the chic new Sushi at Sunset sushi bar features a variety of inventive rolls as well as traditional sushi, nigiri and sake pairings. Recently named one of the “Best Hotel Spas” by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell Massages to Age defying Facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed…naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel’s door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel’s Les Clefs d’Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest’s fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TravelClick, Otel, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.