We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back luxury on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Laid back luxury on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel was recommended by friends in LA. Not cheap but Loews has a fabulous location almost on the beach and within walking distance to all Santa Monica attractions and facilities - Santa Monica Pier, 3rd St Promenade, restaurants, shopping, bars etc. Rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Service was good from the time we arrived with the valet until our departure. It was unfortunate we only stayed one night as there was no time to use the other facilities (pool, spa etc).

Only negative is at this price you'd think that wifi would be included.

Room Tip: Beach side is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    524
    274
    133
    92
See reviews for
568
451
71
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Actually, whenever I go to Los Angeles, I make it a point to book myself into this hotel. Why? Simple, it's near the beach and, if I'm going to L.A., I want to be near the Pacific. Simple as that. But this hotel is my favorite in the city. Most of the time I stay here, I'm working but it doesn't feel like it thanks to the laid-back vibe at this hotel. It's steps from the beach (and you can rent a bike right there), has a great gym (with classes) and a very nice pool. The restaurant is tops and overall, it just feels like a resort. Another plus is that you can walk to several other good and hip eating establishments (Chez Jay, Cha Cha Chicken and Cora's Coffee Shop) as well as the tons of shopping along the 3rd Street Promenade. In L.A., which is not a walking city, this is a huge plus for me. You can also hop in your car and head north on the PCH (Pacific Coast Highway) to Malibu and other beaches.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room overlooking the pool or the ocean...makes a huge difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I are from Australia, and for the second time we booked into Loews Santa Monica on our way back through L A

We love the laid back beach atmosphere of Santa Monica, and Loews is in the perfect position to take advantage of this lifestyle

Make sure you get a room that not only overlooks the beach, but also has a view of the Santa Monica pier. When this is lit up at night the view is spectacular

We love being able to access the beach easily, and to walk 20 mins down the beach to Venice for breakfast. Most of the restaurants of Santa Monica are a short walk or taxi ride away, and shopping and entertainment on 3rd St promenade is also in walking distance

The hotel has a great bar and lobby area, and there is nothing better than sitting there, or on the pool deck, with a drink, watching the sunset.

The rooms are vey comfortable and well stocked and staff are friendly and helpful

I would recommend this hotel and will always make it part of our plans when next in L A

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the beach and the Pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in Santa Monica, close to some exclusive shops, and within adequate range to downtown Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Malibu, L.A.... The beach is one block away, but you can enjoy the nice pacific view from your room, if facing the pacific and from the higher floor. You could also see the famous Santa Monica Pier, seen in many movies. The beach is a block away, the only reason I did not give it a 5, but the road is so narrow that it almost feels like you are right on the sands. The hotel is nicely kept, clean, and impressive. Adequate choice of restaurant, price within expected range for such a hotel. 2 hotels are a few feet away form thsi one and right on the beach, but way too expensive for most. The price range for this one was more than adequate for this hotel class. I would reccomend it.

Room Tip: high floor, pacific front with a view of the Pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I need my room to be coolish (19 degrees) in order for me to sleep; so I complained when my room was way too warm (yes in May). They moved me but next room wasn't much better but I could leave windows opened which helped. And I got a better view. I agree with others that the price doesn't equal expectations. Thank god for the view hey? Outdoor areas are great - breakfast is a treat and nighttime drinks with flame heaters are magical times. Must admit hotel impressed my Santa Monica mates.

Food okay but nothing spectacular cept the view, it is a bit of a walk to shopping but only about 10 mins. Would stay if there's a bargain price on one of the websites. Def wouldn't pay more than usd300 per night tho.

My personal pref still Bev Hills Hilton :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

First the good news. The hotel property is beautiful and the location perfect. It could of, and should of, been a wonderful stay. Two major negatives that ruined my stay.
1) woke up on my third morning to have a workman standing directly outside my 4 th floor window.
The hotel had neglected to inform me they were going to be doing work outside my window. Workman then proceeded to much banging with a hammer.
2) that same morning, there was no hot water at all for the entire morning. Had to take a cold shower.the front desk staff are the worst trained staff of any hotel I have stayed in. It's as if they are hired for their stupity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I haven't travelled much so it probably doesn't take to much to impress me but my jaw did drop when I entered the beautiful Loews at Santa Monica. I think I was more impressed with the lobby than our room! ha. I think our experience may have been different if we hadn't of received a room upgrade as we had amazing views looking out over the pool and onto Santa Monica Pier which was definitely the most exciting thing about staying here. The room was reasonable, fairly compact but fresh and tidy (the beds were extremely comfortable!), I would of expected a little more for the price tag but with the room upgrade I really can't complain! I would say you are mainly paying for location though..it is right next to the pier and within walking distance of third street promenade as well as loads of restaurants. Free wi-fi is only available in the lobby (which is better than nothing), you have to pay if you want it in your room. The pool was lovely to swim in and when the night got a bit cooler we were able to sit by the pool by a warm fire overlooking the pier.

The view is what makes this hotel so amazing..if I could get upgraded again I definitely wouldn't say no ;D

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.