We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Up To 20% Off!
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great hotel on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We always stay at the Loews in Santa Monica whenever we visit with family in the area. It's a great hotel for families and my kids love the pool, the beach and especially the hot tub.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    464
    242
    115
    82
See reviews for
508
395
64
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

A huge dissapointment.

My family and I stayed at this hotel for a few days in early August. For anyone considering this hotel for a getaway, PLEASE read this review and consider what it is you are paying for. The rest of the reviews on this site that highly reccommend this hotel is what encouraged my family to book a room. Now we find ourselves discussing the option of leaving a day early in order to save the $900 we are spending a night (2 rooms) in order to do something more worth while elsewhere.

When we arrived at the hotel, our rooms were not ready, first of all. We were kind of in limbo with that for around an hour until they were ready, but made the most of it and walked on the beach while we waited. The rooms run around $450 a night, so naturally we expected some kind of nice accomidations or views, however we got neither. Our rooms were located in the back of the hotel along a busy street, overlooking a patch of brown, unkept for terrain. The noise from the street kept all five of us up at night and the view was really an eyesore. The room accomidations were also a dissapointment. Internet Wifi is not free- $12 a day, not all of the rooms have refrigerators, and the stream of water in the shower pulses and changes temperature every time someone in the room turns on a sink or flushes the toilet, etc.

Do not even bother to eat at this hotel. I understand that hotel food is normally a rediculous price, however I was so frustrated with the food services at this hotel that I almost went to talk to someone about it. There is the option of breakfast room service, but I was not about to spend $10.50 for two eggs. I thought maybe going downstairs for eggs might save me the money that naturally makes room service expensive, but that was not an option. If you go down to the lobby to the "breakfast bar" you have the choice of bagles, muffins, and fruit. Did I mention that one banana costs $2.50?

One night we went to the $6 sunset dinner inside the hotel, where the food was great, but the service was sub par. Our waitress hardly came to our table, and we sat there multiple times (for a long time) with empty glasses. I even had a half glass of wine left when I ordered my next one, and I still sat for 15 minutes after I had finished the rest of my glass!

Also, two of the four elevators in the hotel were out, causing a lot of person traffic getting to and from the room. Some of the other guests commented that they had been broken a while, and the hotel did not seem in a hurry to fix them.

Honestly, the hotel was a huge dissapointment. I am writing this review from the hotel room, ready to leave and save some money. It is the closet hotel to the beach, and you literally can walk right to it (but not "onto" it from the hotel), however I would have been willing to walk a little farther if I knew I could save money, get better service, a more satisfying breakfast, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed for the American film market last November. If you can afford, get the ocean view. Eveything is perfect except for the carpet... a bit dirty and worned in my room. I am sure there are better rooms.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We've visited the Loews Santa Monica Beach Resort for our 17th year. The staff are very professional and extremely accomodating. There is no better hotel to view the Pacific Ocean and Santa Monica Pier.
On site facilities whether it be Spa, Pool lounge, exercise room or convention rooms - Loews has it all. Loews has really made an effort to have guest rooms cleaned early in the morning and they'll do everyting to meet your request. For example, I found that the room lighting didn't provide enough light unless one was sitting on the bed. I asked, and received, a floor lamp that I could position near a chair to provide better light when reading newspapers. I realize that's not for everyone, but I do tend to read quite a bit.
I also ordered room service twice during my stay - a dinner and a breakfast. Food was fresh and served hot with plenty of condiments. Concierge assistance amazing - I asked for different breakfast establishments and within seconds, a map was produced and various places highlighted within walking distance of the hotel. The doorman, Fernando, will do everything for you; you simply have to ask. It's nice to be remembered year after year - especially when we visit for one week only.

Room Tip: You must ask for what you want, whether it be poolside, city view, full Pacific view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My family and I stayed here during July 4-7th. We arrived at 4:30 P.M. (30 minutes after checkin time) and they didn't have the room ready. They gave us a $50 credit towards food or drinks at the hotel for this inconvience. I had booked this room about 1 week before arrival at last minute rates and also got a AAA rate as well. Our room didn't face the water but it didn't matter. The hotel itself is beautiful to walk around. At night you can look out the back of the hotel and see the Santa Monica Pier all lit up. It was beautiful. My daughter and I walked to the 3rd street Promenade in about 10 minutes. It was a beautiful walk along Ocean Ave. There are many places to eat and shop between the hotel and 3rd Street. Also there is easy access to Interstate 10 (almost across the street).
I would totally recommend you trying this hotel. I do not regret my last minute decision to stay here. It was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We loved it here. Location was great as this part of the beach is clean and quiet, unlike Venice beach further along. We did get a room to begin with, with no view and outside were noisy air conditioners, but we asked to be moved and then had a great room with a terrace leading to the pool. Staff very helpful and friendly. Pool area lovely but did get very busy, especially as people were allowed to put towels out very early and then not use the sun beds until lunchtime!! If I could change 1 thing it would be that. Valet parking very expensive, but you are in Los Angeles. Wifi also expensive as only free in the lobby. Overall expensive hotel, but you do get what you pay for, and we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I had choosed Loews first because of the Miami unit that was really recomended by some friends and later because of the pictures and everything said in its website. When I arrived there I was kind of disappointed because the hotel didn't look like so great as expected. I thought that by pictures on the website it was more luxurious but anyway, it was really nice beach hotel. I was with my 1 year old daughter and more 4 nephews and they had great fun there with a guy that use to make ballons and with the nice space in the pools and beach. Besides it, the good point was the location, it was really close to mainly Santa Monica attractions. The bad thing was the service at the front desk, people were very stuborn and were always making faces when you ask for some help. I was really unsatisfied with this particular service. Food wasn't good either, few options inside the hotel and quality not good. The last problem faced happened when we received the credit card bill charging us amounts that we don't know what they are and one of them duplicated!!! Next time maybe I'll try some other one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations.Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Chef Keith Roberts’ California contemporary cuisine showcases creative interpretations of the familiar favorites. Located in Ocean & Vine, the chic new Sushi at Sunset sushi bar features a variety of inventive rolls as well as traditional sushi, nigiri and sake pairings. Recently named one of the “Best Hotel Spas” by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell Massages to Age defying Facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed…naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel’s door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel’s Les Clefs d’Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest’s fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.