We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Umami Burger

Umami Burger
500 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2406
310-451-1614
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

It's been here before the hipster-isation of burgers, and it's still the best. Start with the Umami Burger in order to dip your feet into these tasty waters, you won't go wrong.

I just hope that the Santa Monica City Council doesn't really give approval to tear down Fred Segal's for yet another lame computer-generated mega mixed-use development that is ruining Santa Monica.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    47
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Speechless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Four blocks back from the pier - a lot quieter. Wandered in to full restaurant, correctly predicted 25 min wait, quickly sorted drinks. "The Truffle Burger is the one that brings them back". No ketchup, no mustard. Seriously. You really do need to try this. Young set, buzzing, great atmosphere, slightly enchanting faded set. Great people, great food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire united Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tucked Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Went here for Lunch with my Son his wife and 2 young grandchildren we all had burgers the childrens were small sliders which are far easier to manage for little hands the service was efficient slight problem I ordered med to well and it arrived quite rare they replaced it without any fuss that is the difference when ordering in any Restaurant in the States they deal with any complaint and treat the customer with respect

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Truffle burger like no other”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

well there i was in Fred Seigel shopping and then i needed to eat
Umami was the place and what a burger
so i had the classic it was so good a had the truffle burger it was outstanding
a must

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“good not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I ordered "The Manly Burger." It was good, but not great. I think we've been desensitized and spoiled with good burger joints lately. Maybe my bar was raised too high. But you know what was AMAZING - the truffled fries. YUM.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umami Burger also viewed

 

Been to Umami Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umami Burger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.