We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica to your Saves list
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Formerly Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica Hotel) (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Friendly and helpful staff. DJ and Hugo made our stay special and easy. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Didn't use the pool but it looked so cozy from the restaurant in the morning while having coffee. Relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear EmilyB,
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor as it is greatly appreciated. I will share your review with DJ and Hugo and recognize them for their contributions to making your stay memorable. We hope you were able to enjoy some of our spectacular sunsets and were able to "live like a local" for a few days during your stay. Thank you very much for choosing LeMeridien Delfina for your hotel of choice and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    172
    73
    25
    17
See reviews for
117
139
24
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I struggled with this hotel. Overall its a nice hotel making the most of a situation- the situation is a challenging location. They're in Santa Monica- which is great, but too far from anything worth visiting. It's a good 20 minute walk to 3rd street- the beach is closer- maybe 4-5 blocks- but for the price they charge there are other options in that price range that are better located (Loews comes to mind- and if you're lucky a good price @ Viceroy or Fairmount- 2 superior hotels). Le Meridien also has the smallest pool I've ever seen at a hotel. I've literally seen hotel hot tubs larger than this pool.
That being said, working within the location the hotel is nice. The lobby decor is nice and inviting- front desk staff quite attentive and helpful. Valet is "free" though they charge an $18 service fee- so not quite free but not excessive.
The hallways are crazy. The labyrinth of halls have more angles than you can imagine- the decor in the hallways is crazy adding to the maze-like feel (greek-key pattern carpet, vertical stripe wall paper; there's a lot going on).
The room decor was nice- the rooms are interestingly decorated and inviting. I had a small balcony though the door was quite small- and no other window in the room so despite being in a city w amazing weather you couldn't experience that in your room- the rooms are actually rather dark/ void of daylight.
The bathroom is tiny- and for some reason the mirror set on the wall cut me off at shoulder height (I'm 6'2" but not giant)- I found the mirror to be useless. I wondered if the room was a handicap enabled room but there were no signs of that other than the crazy short mirror. The bathroom was also showing some age, cabinets beat up a bit- just not the most premium experience.
If you want a starwood property in SM I think this is your only option.

Green Features: they offer the green choice- no housekeeping service for extra points
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Aaron212,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. As a Senior Contributor, your feedback and attention to detail are greatly appreciated and are considered in reviews for future changes ro the hotel. We hope you were able to get out and Unlock the Destination of Santa Monica. As you are aware, our spectacular sunsets in Santa Monica are memorable and when shared with one of our sparkling cocktails, makes for a wonderful start to an evening. We want to say thank you for your business and hope you visit Santa Monica again soon.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a few nights here on a recent trip. The accommodation is perfectly acceptable however I must say that there are better locations. Staff were pleasant and helpful, particularly the concierge.

I do have to say that the breakfast was very poor and well below the standards I would have expected.

Overall, not a bad experience from a perfectly acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Andrew D,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the hotel. Your comments are duly noted about the breakfast and will be researched to enhance that experience. I will share your comments with the concierge team and recognize them for making a difference in your visit. We hope you were able to Unlock the Destination of Santa Monica during your visit. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We live in Northeast LA and chose the Delfina as the location for our child-is-with-the-grandparents staycation. I am a Starwood Platinum member and have come to expect high quality hotels in good locations. The Delfina does not disappoint. The rooms are nice (although a bit small - hey, it's LA), the bar makes a mean Old Fashioned, and the balcony rooms have an ocean view and sliding doors you can leave open to feel the breeze.

But oh, the bikes. We rented them in the morning and headed over to Gjusta, an amazing bakery nearby. From there to Abbott Kinney for some shopping, Gjelina (Gjusta's restaurant parent) for lunch. Then we rode the beach cruisers up to Malibu to work that off, dropped the bikes off and walked to Brilliantshine for dinner (amazing!). Staycation: complete.

It's a bit pricey but so is everything in Santa Monica. If you've got Starwood points it's a bargain, though.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room if you can.
See more room tips
Green Features: We took the option to deny housekeeping and were given a $5 credit.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Beetlebath,
Thank you very, very much for choosing LeMeridien Delfina for your "staycation". As General Manager, I am very excited when I see a review such as yours from a local resident of Los Angeles. It sounds as if you truly "Unlocked the Destination" of Santa Monica through culture and cuisine and "lived like a local" here in Santa Monica for a few days. As a SPG Platinum member, it makes us even happier to see we have provided you with the experience you have come to know and deserve at Starwood Hotels. Thank you very much for choosing LeMeridien Delfina and we will be here for your next "Staycation".
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location away from the craziness of LA but a short walk to downtown Santa Monica and the beach. Hotel staff is very friendly. Hotel lobby and bar is very nice. Overall, just a really great experience. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Michael M,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I hope you were able to enjoy one of our sparkling cocktails nightly in Longitude Bar and Restaurant. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon in Santa Monica.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Delfina as a family of four with two teenagers the last week of March. Overall the experience was very good. The staff was extremely pleasant from Sonia who welcomed us upon arrival and upgraded us to a very quiet pool/ocean view room (we are lifetime Platinum member), to Hugo the concierge who provided us great advice and very friendly service as we planned our days. Not to mention the valet parking which was a fantastic perk, our car was always ready within minutes when we called service. The room/balcony was not as spacious as that of other Westin/Starwood hotels we have stayed at and the bathroom was real small for a family of four, but overall a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and with ocean views are quieter and have larger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear CXM2015,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and moreso for your lifetime support of Starwood Hotels as a lifetime Platinum member. I will share your comments with Sonia and Hugo and recognize them for making a difference in your stay at the hotel. We hope you were able to enjoy a spectacular sunset here in Santa Monica with the bright colors nightly. We want to say thank you again for your business and please come back to see us again.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great five night stay. Amenities were great, loved taking the bikes out for rides along the beach, and it was a short walk to the Pier, beach, and 3rd street Promenade. The staff was excellent. Hugo, the Concierge was GREAT! Always has a smile and very willing to help with whatever you may need.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Brad M,
We appreciate your review of the hotel. It sounds as if you took advantage of the bicycles and enjoyed the great strand along the beach here in Santa Monica overlooking the Pacific Ocean. I will share your review with Hugo and recognize him for making a difference in your visit. We hope you will choose LeMeridien Delfina for any future stays in Los Angeles. Thank you for your business and come back soon.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica

Address: 530 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Formerly Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched four blocks above the Santa Monica shoreline, Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica offers a superior access point to Los Angeles. Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica is conveniently located just a few blocks from downtown Santa Monica's engaging collection of shops, entertainment and restaurants and less than eight miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The area's main leisure attractions include: Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade, Getty Museum, Getty Villa and Venice Beach, are all within steps of Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica. The guestrooms and suites have been thoughtfully redesigned and many offer private balconies with expansive views over the Pacific Ocean or the city skyline. The rooms and suites have a relaxed and sophisticated decor, and feature the amenities needed for modern life, including oversized desks and high-speed Internet access. All accommodations are 100% non-smoking, and offer Le Meridien Platform beds, in-room coffee makers and mini refrigerators. There is a guest amenity fee per night which includes: premium high speed wifi for unlimited amount of devices, four hour bicycle usage for any overnight guests, welcome drink upon arrival, daily newspaper, wellness classes offered 3x per week, Illy coffee offered in the lobby, guestroom, or Zest Kitchen (specialty coffees), local calls, and a house car service offering dropoffs and pickups within three miles of the hotel until 9PM daily. Complimentary valet parking for all overnight guests is included with 24 hour usage and unlimited access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Delfina Hotel Santa Monica
Sheraton Hotel Santa Monica
Sheraton Santa Monica
Santa Monica Sheraton
Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.