We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Formerly Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #15 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Alberta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not great but good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This hotel looks very dated from the outside but has been nicely renovated on the inside. Upgraded to the deluxe room but didn't really feel that special, probably would have been just as happy with the classic or studio room. Also for a hotel that had been more recently renovated the room was already showing some real wear (especially the very small bathroom). The hotel is in a ok location, not too far from the beach and also walkable to the 3rd Street Promenade. Was impressed that the self park was free (pretty rare for LA) but was hard to find a spot sometimes. The real nuisance was that only one of the main elevators worked for the whole 4 days we where there. It was the 4th of July weekend so the place was packed and it always took for ever to get up or down. Phoned to the front desk to ask if there was any other elevator or stairs we could use and the person said she did not know?? Had some time to look around the second last day and found there was elevator that we could have taken straight to the parking garage on the other side grrr!! All in all an ok place. Got a good deal on SPG, but not sure I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    79
    43
    14
    11
See reviews for
62
77
12
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

So most people want to tell you how the hotel room was, I usually do. The rooms are great and comfortable of course. But this is about the bar.

Last Night Wednesday July 23, we stopped in to have a drink at their cool lobby bar, and low and behold, they had a live DJ, actually 2 DJ's. It turned this usually nice place to meet for a drink, into this great place tohave a drink a little food, and some great Music. The DJ's were rockin, the staff friendly, and we were extremely happy.

Don't know if this is a nightly occurrence, but we will be back..

Room Tip: If your lucky enough to get a true balcony that looks to the ocean, your in....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed here a few times for work. I thought when they began their transition from a Sheraton to a Le Meridien they were a great value and customer service was very high. Over my last few stays, their rates have gone up but what they deliver to me has not improved...in fact, it has decreased. They took away the club lounge and the service from the front desk is a little snobby. They seem to be missing the little things. The lights on the patio are missing and wires just hang out. The bathroom is dingy because of the poor lighting (it is clean though). The valet rates have gone up.

On the plus side, I will say that the valets are very nice and welcoming. The hotel provides everything you need for a comfortable stay. I think you have very stylish rooms that are a good size. They also addressed my issues in a timely manner...the thing is, I shouldn't have issues to address for the rates they charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that views the ocean with a patio. Free wi-fi in the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Pgirl42,
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and taking the time from your busy day to help us create better experiences for all of our guests. I will share your comments with the team and ensure we have corrected any defects in the lighting you mentioned. If you could please give me a ring to discuss any other challenges you may have, I can be reached at the hotel during normal business hours. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a nice stay at this hotel which has a nice lobby, good continential breakfast and small pool area. The room was spacious with a small balcony and the hotel is a short walk to the beach and mall. Staff were very friendly and helpful, was not cheap but was a quality experience where we would have likes to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Nice20a,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with TripAdvisor. As a Senior Contributor, your feedback allows us to get an honest assessment of the guest experience and provides us critical information to help us get better. I will share your comments with the team and hope to see you again soon. We appreciate your business and have safe travels in 2014!
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've been staying at the Delfina off and on for business for the past year, and have spent at least 20 nights there this year. Here are the things I love about it:
Free parking until the lot is full, then valet only
Great beds, decor in room, and most rooms have a balcony where you can get fresh air
Friendly, responsive staff
Good for families, nice pool area, really good gym for a hotel
Here is what I don't like:
Rooms are not soundproof, pretty noisy by the elevators and also where there is an adjoining door
Bathrooms are small and kind of awkward
Two times now I have ordered food from the bar while working outside and they forgot my order.

Overall, its a nice hotel with a good location. The front desk staff is very friendly, cool, and professional. It's kind of a home away from home most of the time I am there, and a pretty good place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors away from the elevators, and hopefully without an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Brandywigs,
Thank you for choosing Le Meridien Delfina as your home away from home when visiting Santa Monica. I appreciate the feedback and will share with my team your comments, especially regarding the food and beverage. As a repeat guest, please reach out to myself during your next visit so that I can ensure personally your stay is outstanding and exceeds your expectations. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stay here for work and have stayed for a holiday recently too. I love the location of this hotel as you can walk around Santa Monica or down to Venice beach easily from here. The hotel is lovely with generous rooms and very comfortable beds. Rooms have a balcony and if you face the ocean the views are terrific. The staff certainly make your visit here special, especially the concierge and valet team.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jojonicks,
Thank you for the kind words regarding the hotel and your recent stay at Le Meridien Delfina. We appreciate your business and understand you travel long distances when visiting Santa Monica. You mentioned a couple of our unique points of interest and it is our goal to "Unlock the Destination" for our guests so that you can experience our culture, cuisine, and coordinates. We hope you will visit us again and have safe travels.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Le Meridien last weekend while attending my dear friends wedding in Santa Monica. Our first impression was this was a this well located. close to the beach stylish hotel. As part of the Starwood gold program we were offered two complimentary beverages and an ocean view room.
The reception staff were accomodating and were extremely gracious about an early check in as we arrived early in the day to be in time to prepare for the wedding.
Unlike most hotels, especially in parking/traffic challenged LA, this hotel offers unheard of complimentary self park! Although spaces are limited we were able to find a space all three days.
The room itself was a good size, clean and had a nice size balcony.
Now for the less desirable aspects.... The Bathroom, very disappointing. Only two towels, one set of very basic toiletries, and when we asked for more towels, shampoo etc..letting them know we were changing for the wedding, they brought just one bath towel and never came back to replace anything that evening. No turn down service. Lighting was extremely poor, missing light bulb in the lamp and you could barely see in the dark dingy bathroom. Compared to the main room itself there was a total disconnect in the bathroom. Dark, needed paint, didnt feel clean and no style at all.
And the worst part was you could barely stand to be in there as the main light (which was not adequate) was connected to a loud annoying fan. Please please please at the very least switch out your light bulbs and connect the fan to another switch.
So all in all very mixed messages from this hotel and not all that we have experienced and come to expect from a Starwood property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Nadellsell,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. As a Gold SPG member, your value is extremely high and we want you to feel like family when staying at our hotel. I would like to ask that you contact me at the hotel so that I can ensure that your bathroom is addressed and corrected. I will share your comments with the housekeeping team on the request items. We appreciate your business and hope to speak with you soon.
Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica

Address: 530 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Formerly Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched four blocks above the Santa Monica shoreline, Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica offers a superior access point to Los Angeles. Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica is conveniently located just a few blocks from downtown Santa Monica's engaging collection of shops, entertainment and restaurants and less than eight miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The area's main leisure attractions, including the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade, Getty Museum, Getty Villa and Venice Beach, are all within steps of Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica. The guestrooms and suites have been thoughtfully redesigned and many offer private balconies with expansive views over the Pacific Ocean or the city skyline. The rooms and suites have a relaxed and sophisticated decor, and feature the amenities needed for modern life, including oversized desks and high-speed Internet access. All accommodations are 100% non-smoking, and offer Le Meridien Platform beds, in-room coffee makers and mini refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Delfina Hotel Santa Monica
Sheraton Hotel Santa Monica
Sheraton Santa Monica
Santa Monica Sheraton
Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.