We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Santa Monica Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica to your Saves list
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Formerly Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect Santa Monica Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a great base for a holiday in Santa Monica. The rooms were really modern, very clean and our room had a very small balcony with a great side ocean view. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the beach and a 15-20 minute walk to 3rd St promenade. The pool area at the hotel was very small, but as the beach is so close this really wasn't an issue for us, it was also a nice area to sit for some pre dinner drinks, as was the large bar and lobby area. The only downside for me is the lack of parking at the hotel, they have a small underground car park, but this seemed to be full all the time and I'm not sure how suitable this would be for larger vehicles. There is an open car park around a 5 min walk away which was $5 a day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfinaGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear mcscottie,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you and your friends had such a comfortable and relaxing visit, and enjoyed the countless amenities that come with our beach city hotel.

You are correct that our complimentary parking garage does fill up. Just so you know, you can reserve your self-parking spot prior to your arrival. If it comes to using our Valet, we promise our Valet will deliver your vehicle quickly and efficiently.

I hope you will return to us the next time you crave the perfect getaway.

Sincerely,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    128
    63
    20
    15
See reviews for
94
107
19
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I booked Sheraton Delfina (later Le Meridien Delfina) directly through the property. As a corporate client at another Starwood property, I was promised that I'd be treated well.
So, after 13 hours flying and three to four hours in customs, we arrived for our first stay at the property ready for our promised early check-in. It was 2pm. Check-in time is 3pm.
We have a two month old baby who, by the end of the car trip from LAX to the hotel is pretty upset and in need of a rest, so we were VERY upset and disappointed to get there and be told there were no rooms available.
These things happen though, and other than another few minor issues on this stay we probably would have rated the property in the average to very good range.
BUT THEN...
When we arrived back a week later after a trip to Mexico, we checked in and went up to our room...only to find it wasn't the room type we'd booked. After talking with reception, they told me the property was fully booked out and they couldn't move us.
There were some other issues that made our stay less than average, and maybe these can be attributed to the hotel having its mind on re-branding and not guest services (the brand officially happened the day we checked in the second time).
In fairness, they did try to make amends...but so much of your stay can hinge on that check-in experience and two-out-of-two times they failed us.
On the up side, the location is great. I love Santa Monica and you're close enough to everything here.
The rooms are pretty nice, but a pillow menu would be good; their pillows are just way too soft.
Would I stay there again? Maybe. But probably not as a first option. I think my wife would say definitely not.

Room Tip: Ocean view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfinaGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Brett S,

I appreciate your comments regarding your multiple stays at Le Méridien Delfina Santa Monica.

I take to heart your comments as I am a Father myself and can relate to those young years when traveling and in restaurants. This is very important, and rest assured we will conduct training with our staff based on your comments on check-ins and check-outs.

Additionally, we are researching the pillow menu as an option for implementation and agree it is a great idea for our guests.

I hope you will afford us the opportunity if you visit Los Angeles again. We strive to create memorable experiences so that Santa Monica sunset is one you remember forever from your visit to Le Méridien Delfina Santa Monica.

Sincerely,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were in LA for a couple of nights and got a really good deal for this hotel as the area is quite pricey. The staff were helpful and polite, and we were upgraded to an ocean view room with a private balcony - I spent the morning fighting jet-lag by watching the sun come up over the Pacific!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfinaGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Megan S,

It’s so nice to see the beautiful imagery in your message. We love creating memorable experiences for our guests and it is always a greater treat to hear back.

Thank you for showering us with your kind words. Let us know when you’re ready to come back for more at Le Méridien Delfina.

Yours truly,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The stay for 6 nights was wonderful..beach , Promande close by walkiing distance..." Hugo "the conceigre was absolutely fantastic as well as the other conceigre's... very helpful in booking reservations at restaurants and other activities..wait staff in the Messanine restaurant were excellant. Parking is limited..try to get a room off the street as it can be noisy if the sliding door is left open...,highly,recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfinaGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Betty B,

It will be my pleasure to share your gracious words with our most caring staff at the Zest Kitchen. Hugo and his staff at the Front Desk will also be so inspired by your words. Six nights is not enough when everything is going so well. So we hope you can come back to visit from Ohio sooner than later. Hope to see those Buckeyes in Pasadena in January.

Yours truly,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed the weekend the hotel switched from a Sheraton to a Le Meridien. The staff did a great job and our stay was fairly seamless given the switch. We had an upgraded suite which was a nice room, big bathroom, nice décor. The balcony overlooked the street and was very noisy with the sliding door open. Door closed, it was surprising how quiet the room was. There is a coffee bar on the mezzanine which was a nice surprise. Pool was okay. All in all it was a good stay with one exception being parking. The self parking is limited to very few spots and even valet was backed up. It took us a very long time to get parked and to get our car back out of the lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfinaGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Bpatton22,

Thank you for joining us and for sharing some insight on being one of our first guests as the new Le Méridien Delfina Santa Monica. You touch on some of our hotel’s best new features, such as our stylish, renovated guestrooms and suite marble bathrooms. Our Self Parking, which is located on property and complimentary, always has great demand and is on a first-come basis.

Remember to try more from illy coffee at Zest. Upon your next visit, please have one of our caffe lattes and the best scones to match.

Yours truly,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting the LA area. Check in took a long time and there was only one person in front of us. Actually when we were being checked in it went fast but the people before us took a long time. We pulled up to check in and the valet said we needed to leave the keys in case they needed to move us. I went out after about 10 minutes of waiting to check in and the car was still there. 10 more minutes after we were checked in our car was moved and it took about 5 minutes for them to retrieve the car for us. After a long drive back from Big Sur we weren't happy. There is a self park garage but it's very small with maybe 40 spots and they are taken quickly. The second night we actually were able to get a free parking spot late at night which was nice! Valet parking is expensive so we parked a block down the street for $5 in a community lot. Our room was facing the main street which was also a local school. We didn't hear any school noise but occasionally heard car traffic noises. The noises weren't enough to keep us awake at night. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was nice but could use a really good cleaning. We didn't use any of the common areas in the hotel - we basically just slept there at night. In my opinion it was more of a high 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfinaGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear klbdmb,

Thank you for your notes.

As we have recently rebranded to Le Méridien, our guestrooms and amenities have been completely remodeled, which has supported our efforts to achieve our AAA Four Diamond rating. Our attention to the details with our guest needs may have caused your delay at check-in, but it sounds as your check-in experience was smooth and expeditious.

Our valet service is competitively priced for the Santa Monica market, which being from New Jersey you most likely can relate in such a high demand destination.

We hope you will afford us the chance to share our new F+B offerings during your next visit to Los Angeles.

Sincerely,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed in a deluxe room for two nights. Very clean and nicely decorated, even with a small water view balcony. There's only free wifi down in the lobby.
The breakfast in the restaurant is severely overpriced. We were sat down and offered coffee or orange juice before even getting the menu. Nice touch, until you get the menu and realise the small glass of juice is $5. Considered getting the Continental Breakfast but when a bagel & juice was all we wanted, the $18 charge was a bit of a joke. Two bagels and two juices for $36, plus tax? These guys are kidding themselves.
Head down the road and turn left on Main Street. There's a good choice of local cafe's with normal pricing and really good coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfinaGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear heneedsfood,

Thank you for your comments on the property and we appreciate your attention to details on our recently renovated guestrooms.

Your feedback on F+B pricing is duly noted as we have adjusted our breakfast offerings so that our guests have more options with a la carte pricing upon request.

We look forward to sharing our new breakfast scones with you on your next visit with a masterfully brewed latte at our Zest Kitchen.

Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica

Address: 530 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Formerly Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched four blocks above the Santa Monica shoreline, Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica offers a superior access point to Los Angeles. Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica is conveniently located just a few blocks from downtown Santa Monica's engaging collection of shops, entertainment and restaurants and less than eight miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The area's main leisure attractions, including the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade, Getty Museum, Getty Villa and Venice Beach, are all within steps of Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica. The guestrooms and suites have been thoughtfully redesigned and many offer private balconies with expansive views over the Pacific Ocean or the city skyline. The rooms and suites have a relaxed and sophisticated decor, and feature the amenities needed for modern life, including oversized desks and high-speed Internet access. All accommodations are 100% non-smoking, and offer Le Meridien Platform beds, in-room coffee makers and mini refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Delfina Hotel Santa Monica
Sheraton Hotel Santa Monica
Sheraton Santa Monica
Santa Monica Sheraton
Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.