We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Food and Sunset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hungry Cat - Santa Monica Canyon

The Hungry Cat - Santa Monica Canyon
100 W. Channel Rd., Santa Monica, CA 90402
(310) 459-3337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hungry Cat - Santa Monica Canyon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #175 of 513 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pacific Coast Highway
Description: The Hungry Cat Santa Monica Canyon, our third location, sits on the PCH with amazing views of the Pacific Ocean. Chef/owner David Lentz & crew continue to focus on high quality fish paired with the best locally sourced ingredients, often from nearby farmer's markets. The 13 seat raw bar showcases Pacific and Atlantic oysters, Santa Barbara sea urchin, raw and marinated fish dishes, crab and lobster. The market-inspired bar specializes in seasonal cocktails, craft brews and a wine list geared toward seafood. The Hungry Cat Santa Monica Canyon is open daily serving dinner. Valet Parking is available!
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sea Food and Sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

this is a great restaurant which is across the street from Santa Monica beach. You can drink, eat fresh oysters and watch the sunset. A great combination for any day of the week.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Loved the seafood and attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were in Santa Monica for the LA marathon and wanted to try this new location because we loved the food at the Hollywood location two years ago. The braised mussels appetizer was outstanding and very substantial. We don't expect much for $14 in LA restaurants so we were pleasantly surprised. The barramundi and scallop dinners were also excellent. The wine selection, even by the glass, is really good. Also, for only a dollar more than a soda they offered a selection of unique non-alcoholic mixed drinks. The service was also outstanding. Even when our cab didn't show up as expected after they called for us, the manager made sure to,take care of us even though it was something outside of his control. We highly recommend the place for the food and service, but if you are looking for fancy table linens and a stuffy atmosphere, this isn't it. The place is popular and fun, but not frilly. We were staying at a hotel near the pier and it is about two miles up the road so we took a cab. Be forewarned to allow extra time to get a cab back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Ehhh, I've had better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I liked the atmosphere enough. I liked the food okay. Nothing memorable. So, average. Except the service. Some say they had great service, so maybe it was the day I went, but the service was not good. They were very slow and it took a long time just to get our drinks. Then to take our order. Then to get our order, then for the check. Too bad, I had been looking forward to eating here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Fish Tacos...and oysters too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I had brunch here last Saturday and it was wonderful. We started with some oysters that came with an Asian Mignonette sauce that was subtle and tasty. I then had the fish tacos which were superb - fresh, crispy and accompanied by lots of cabbage and home made tortillas. You can choose to have your fish tacos grilled or Baja style. My wife had the crab cake eggs Benedict that was also scrumptious. We will definitely go back to the Hungry Cat. One note of caution.....if you park on the street nearby, be sure to feed the meter. We emerged from our brunch happy with our food, but upset to see a parking ticket waiting for us......

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service. Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I went to this place with my sister. She lives across the street from the restaurant. I am so jealous she lives so close to such an amazing restaurant! Great food with very generous portion sizes. Great service. The waiters are extremely attentive and pleasant. Our waiter kNew the menu insideband out! Great atmosphere! Very clasy restaurant without being stuffy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Cat - Santa Monica Canyon also viewed

 

Been to The Hungry Cat - Santa Monica Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hungry Cat - Santa Monica Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.