We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bday dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Misfit Restaurant & Bar

The Misfit Restaurant & Bar
225 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90401
310-656-9800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: New restaurant near the walking mall in Santa Monica CA
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“bday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

the dinner and drinks here are amazing. must get the bacon wrapped dates and punch bowl. I came here celebrating a friends bday

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    81
    19
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Service is Falling Off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have always loved The Misfit. The food is FANTASTIC - location (block from the Pacific Ocean) can't be beat - decor is awesome. But the last 3 visits have been mystifying to me - the service is getting worse and worse with each visit.

Recently during a visit with another couple, the service was so slow that the manager comped us a round of drinks without us even having to ask - she saw us there an hour after seating without an order being taken. The last visit with a friend became weird when three servers in our area actually fought with each other in front of us about who dropped the ball with our order. I asked 3 times for a coffee refill for my friend and finally gave up and just paid the check. No one even noticed that we were miffed.

The service used to be great - I don't know what's happening there - maybe they are having issues with management/staff, but I sure hope they get it together. We love going in there and I would like to change this review to 5 stars - what they used to deserve.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Chicken. Get the chicken.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I recently tried to find the best friend chicken west of the four-hundred-and-five in West LA. With no Roscoe's to easily scoop up the win, I tried just about everyplace I could find. The Misfit (where I happily now pay the light bill), took the honors (and still holds them).

Solid drinks. Good crowd. Great place.

Cons: can be packed, which means there can be a wait. Can be loud when packed. Seriously, big deal though.

Pros: Fried Chicken. Reasonable whiskey selection. Good drinks in general. Great vibe. And the dates. Get the dates.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
“Sunday Brunch with the Dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. Fascinating fresh menu with local and organic choices. They are dog friendly and the service rates an 11!
We had cocktails, Ahi Burger, fries and the Prime Rib Dip Nik Niks (sliders). Everything was so good, we are going back tomorrow to try brunch again with an egg and vegetarian dish!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great cocktails & American Bar Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a local go-to for me that provides a lively scene and good food. The salads are great, but the lobster sliders and the mound of shoestring fries are a perennial favorite.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Misfit Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Misfit Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Misfit Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.