We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place, but overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostaria del Piccolo

Hostaria del Piccolo
606 Broadway, Ste 100, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2486 (Santa Monica)
310-393-6633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hostaria del Piccolo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #93 of 519 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: 6th street
Description: We propose a different approach to Italian food, by creating dishes moderate in portion size, which we feel enhances the dining experience, by allowing you more variety in taste, while eating healthier.
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok place, but overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The food is ok, but nothing special, and it's kind of pricey. The service was not impressive. Won't go back there. Recommended for a quick pizza and glass of red wine by the bar.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average Food for High Price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place may be the little sister of Piccolo Venice but the food is nothing like the original. The staff is pleasant, but the rest of the experience is seriously lacking. The noise level is very high; you have to yell to be heard by your companions. The menu concept is enticing; we love small plates to share. The problem is that the food isn't anything special. We had shrimp and calamari; a ridiculously small portion for the price. We shared a pizza; fine but nothing above average, and the price was a bit high, but not too bad. Wine again fair but nothing to write home about, and over-priced.

If you want great food, go to Piccolo Venice. If you want an over-priced, average experience, this is your place. We won't be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for authentic Italian food in Los Angeles check out both Piccolo restaurants. This one is a tad cheaper and attracts a younger crowd. Food is impeccable.. Servers are rather charming.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The food really isn't to bad but yet not great. We ordered a few tapas that were good, also a salad that was very salty, a pizza that was just OK. My biggest issue with this restaurant was the noise volume. So loud that my ears were ringing the rest of the night. If you do go, sit outside! I would not sit through that noise again. It was unbearable for me.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Above Average Price For Barely Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The pizza was marginal. We sat in the back outside patio, which was pleasant.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria del Piccolo also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Hostaria del Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostaria del Piccolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.