We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in an informal setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Plate Oysterette

Blue Plate Oysterette
1355 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-1019
310-576-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Plate Oysterette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food in an informal setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had dinner at BP Oysterette and loved it. Great food (I had the Sea Scallops Linguine) and a good wine list. We would have come back to eat lunch or another dinner there, but we only stayed one night in Santa Monica .-(

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    123
    31
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Our hotel receptionist recommended the restaurant as the best sea food restaurant in Santa Monica. It was therefore with great expectation that we visited them for dinner. In general they did not quite measure up to the expectation as the best seafood restaurant, but not bad at all and really a place that I will visit again if in the area. The tables inside are very close together in a European type style and you cannot help eavesdropping on your neighbours. Makes for a very interesting evening.
Food is not bad. We shared three main courses of which the straight fish and chips were the best. Our neighbours had the fresh trout which looked really good. Service was nothingbto write home about, but they were quick to respond once you could get someones attention.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

THis neighborhood place is located next to BOA Steakhuse (which I did not give great review. I wish we would have gone back to Blue Plate instead! THis is not upscale but the food id great as was the service. The menu is extensive. You know the old saying . .if the locals eat here . . . . . .

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average food - great people watching and view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

No reservation for a walk up 7:15 pm dinner in mid October. View is great, we sat outside right next to valet parking - so great cars along with fumes. Food was average for the price. Appetizers looked interesting. Service was so so. I think they paid more attention to "big spending" looking couples. Go knowing you are spending money for eating on Santa Monica Blvd.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Eat here if u can”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Long waits but WORTH IT. Killer good food. Pappardelle with scallops beyond outstanding. Best lobster Mac to date.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Oysterette also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Oysterette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Plate Oysterette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.