We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a pretty great little motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rest Haven Motel

Save Saved
You added Rest Haven Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Rest Haven Motel
815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still a pretty great little motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I've now stayed at the Rest Haven probably more than 30 times. I guess you can tell I love it- it's tiny and homey, just right for me. Cheap. I love the staff, there's no turnover, eferyone's friendly. I've been using the table in the little courtyard more lately for reading in the mornings. I've stayed at a few other places too, including Rest Haven's main competitor across the street, but I don't believe in writing negative reviews unless things are REALLY horrible, so enough said. TripAdvisor keeps bugging me for more reviews, I think I'll do a few for places I like when I'm in Santa Monica (frequently, I guess you can tell). Classy Cleaners on Lincoln Blvd, Santa Monica Radiator Repair on Lincoln for various car repairs, there's a 7-11, Subway & Laundromat too on Lincoln & Pico (walking distance from Rest Haven). Denny's further north on Lincoln if you're not a fan of the nearby Jack In The Box (like me). Albertson's south on Lincoln.

Room Tip: rooms are all different; there are 2 small rooms that are directly off the cool little courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and good words. We do have a lot of repeated customers and we cherish them all. As you well said this is a homey little motel in the heart of Santa Monica.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    72
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
38
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice friendly hotel, rooms are very clean and there are some nice touches. Overall don't expect anything amazing as this is a budget hotel but is good value for money. Lady at reception was extremely friendly and helpful. This is more like a family run operation so they give you that personalised attention. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Yes this is a budget motel in Santa Monica which an expensive city. We try on daily basis to improve the quality of our motel and listen to our guests. Thank you for staying with us. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Traveling down the Pacific Coast Highway landed us in Santa Monica for the night. We started looking for a hotel using the Yelp phone app, but every place we called was full. We called Rest Haven, were told they had vacancies and she offered to text me the address. When we drove up to the hotel it was not fancy, but the property was well maintained and clean. The room was small but had the amenities we needed: refrigerator, TV, wifi and free parking in front. The room and bathroom were very clean. The hotel is located behind a Jack in the Box, with the drive thru lane across the lot from our room, but there was minimal late night noise. The lot was brightly lit, which is good for security, but some light does leak in around the heavy drapes on the windows. The staff was pleasant and helpful, gave us a map and suggested we visit the pier. It is not a fancy motel, but it was clean, economical and comfortable for our one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Rest Haven Motel is not a fancy motel but clean with family oriented environment and friendly staff. Thank you again for staying with us. Have an awesome day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked my stay at the Rest Haven Motel after a thirty year absence from Santa Monica. I didn't want to stay in one of the overpriced multi story hotels that have overtaken the once low key community. We stayed in one of the rooms on the side street, and it was a nice sized room with comfortable beds and a real full sized tile shower. Yes, the Jack in the box was next door ( great since there are no coffee pots in the room), and there are some fairly seedy looking places on Lincoln Avenue, but the neighborhood behind the motel is neat and friendly, and a great place to walk if you don't want to head down to the beach. Everything you could possibly want is within walking distance; a Von's supermarket (and the room has a fridge that's big enough to actually hold some food), the beach, the San Mo pier, and the third street promenade with shopping and restaurants. The windows actually open to let in the cool night air, and there's lots of storage space for your stuff.

It is not a cookie cutter modern hotel, and if you are offended by the occasional homeless person on Lincoln Avenue, stay away, but if you want a convenient, clean, comfortable room at a reasonable price, this is for you.

P.S. The owner's son showed us to our room, and is adorable!
P.P.S. If you score rooms 13 or 14 you have a wonderful enclosed patio to yourself!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Your wonderful and nice appraisal of Rest Haven Motel greatly impressed the Management and it's Staff. We are glad and thankful that our modest rooms have provided you the comfort you deserved since our main goal is always to meet our Customers' full satisfaction while staying and relaxing in our property, the Rest Haven Motel. Feel free to return to Santa Monica, CA and be booked in our Motel. We anticipate another future booking from you, your family and your friends. Oh as you mentioned also ("The owner's son showed us to our room, and is adorable!"). It's not the owner and yes the son it's a great help. Thank you again and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainesport, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Meant to write this review months ago, but guessing it is still accurate. Very difficult to find bargains in Santa Monica, so Rest Haven rates are attractive, however.....
Although our room was clean and cute, it was small with very creaky beds. My biggest complaint however was the fact that we were basically in the jack in the box drive thru, apparently a very popular place on a Saturday night. It was loud. So the first night we did not sleep much. Had already paid for 2 nights though, so luckily Sunday was quieter. If you stay here bring earplugs, maybe another fan for noise blocking, and expect creaky bed. Location ok, but you will need to drive to the nicer parts of Santa Monica. Liked the courtyard, we brought our jack in the box breakfast to the table there, quite pleasant. Overall I thought the lower price makes this a viable option if you are trying to keep to a trip budget in a very pricey area

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for your honest comment. The management will address the problem accordingly. Clean and cute room can be very satisfying except the creaky bed which maybe annoying but it can be fixed or replaced anytime at your convenience and satisfaction. The noisy place is the product of booming businesses flooding in a progressive community like Santa Monica. This problem can't be resolve but can be remedied so, don't feel bad come and book again at Rest Haven while in the city and experience the comfort once denied in your previous short stop over. Have an awesome day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a five star budget motel and it has all the amenities you can expect for the price you pay. (Santa Monica is a expensive town in CA). The room is fairly big and have all the things you need. Flat screen tv, a big refrigerator etc. The room I stayed in had a fan in the roof and another fan that you could place where ever you wanted. The location is good and you have lots of junk food restaurants around you, like Jack in the box, Subway, 7 Eleven, Taco bell etc. You also have a decent bar with live music every day on the same street as the motel.

The hotel is located a 12 minutes walk from the beach (just take Pico blvd down) or about 15 minutes to the shopping streets of Santa Monica. The staff is great and would will take care of all the questions you might have.

Totally worth the money!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9. It had another building in front of it and by then you didn't hear the traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for the very inspiring remarks. Your best impression of our motel was an indication that you have enjoyed your brief stay in our property and got full customer's satisfaction from the services offered by our staff, which is our business vision and mission. The Management expects that in your next visit to CA, you, your family and friends will never forget to book at Rest Haven Motel, the only motel that has the modest accommodations in the city at a fair and affordable price. You will never regret having booked at Rest Haven Motel because you will enjoy exceptional services from our courteous and friendly personnel from day 1 until your check out. Have an awesome day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
231 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

As far as motels go, this is like any other: cheap, sort-of clean, hard bed, etc. As far as Santa Monica motels go, this is apparently a palace. It’s the only motel that doesn't have bedbug complaints (as far as I could tell). I stayed here for three nights, and I never saw a bug, or any evidence of there being any. The room was fairly clean, and well furnished, with laminate hardwood floors. Each night was uneventful and quiet; I got good sleep here. The WiFi here worked better than in many brand hotels I’ve stayed at. The hot water was slow to come, but it eventually arrived. Overall, this is a great little place that I can’t find fault with. 6/10

P.S. - Jack in the Box is great for a quick breakfast - right in front of the motel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Sir, with humble hearts, the Management of Rest Haven Motel, Santa Monica, CA. greatly appreciate the beautiful comments you made for our Motel. Rest assured that from now on and onward, we will not settle for less instead will continue to serve and accommodate with honesty and dedication our future customers for them to experience and enjoy life away from home. If you can, you may recommend Rest Haven Motel to your relatives, friends and other associates for booking purposes. You will not regret for doing so because Rest Haven Motel offers exceptional service to our customers full satisfaction. Thanks again and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rest Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest Haven Motel

Also Known As:
Rest Haven Hotel
Rest Haven Hotel Santa Monica
Address: 815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1938...... "A marvelous experience"...nothing else can give you the exciting opportunity to visit Santa Monica and its attractions, the sun, the sand, the sea, and especially a night or nights' stay at our warm and cozy Rest Haven Motel.An economy motel located just seven blocks from the beach and a short 15 minutes walk to Third Street Promenade, in downtown Santa Monica, and only 10 minutes walk to Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach; enables our guests to walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rest Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rest Haven Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.