We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip down memory lane” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rest Haven Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rest Haven Motel to your Saves list
Rest Haven Motel
815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Trip down memory lane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked my stay at the Rest Haven Motel after a thirty year absence from Santa Monica. I didn't want to stay in one of the overpriced multi story hotels that have overtaken the once low key community. We stayed in one of the rooms on the side street, and it was a nice sized room with comfortable beds and a real full sized tile shower. Yes, the Jack in the box was next door ( great since there are no coffee pots in the room), and there are some fairly seedy looking places on Lincoln Avenue, but the neighborhood behind the motel is neat and friendly, and a great place to walk if you don't want to head down to the beach. Everything you could possibly want is within walking distance; a Von's supermarket (and the room has a fridge that's big enough to actually hold some food), the beach, the San Mo pier, and the third street promenade with shopping and restaurants. The windows actually open to let in the cool night air, and there's lots of storage space for your stuff.

It is not a cookie cutter modern hotel, and if you are offended by the occasional homeless person on Lincoln Avenue, stay away, but if you want a convenient, clean, comfortable room at a reasonable price, this is for you.

P.S. The owner's son showed us to our room, and is adorable!
P.P.S. If you score rooms 13 or 14 you have a wonderful enclosed patio to yourself!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Your wonderful and nice appraisal of Rest Haven Motel greatly impressed the Management and it's Staff. We are glad and thankful that our modest rooms have provided you the comfort you deserved since our main goal is always to meet our Customers' full satisfaction while staying and relaxing in our property, the Rest Haven Motel. Feel free to return to Santa Monica, CA and be booked in our Motel. We anticipate another future booking from you, your family and your friends. Oh as you mentioned also ("The owner's son showed us to our room, and is adorable!"). It's not the owner and yes the son it's a great help. Thank you again and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    85
    39
    7
    2
See reviews for
35
56
20
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hainesport, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Meant to write this review months ago, but guessing it is still accurate. Very difficult to find bargains in Santa Monica, so Rest Haven rates are attractive, however.....
Although our room was clean and cute, it was small with very creaky beds. My biggest complaint however was the fact that we were basically in the jack in the box drive thru, apparently a very popular place on a Saturday night. It was loud. So the first night we did not sleep much. Had already paid for 2 nights though, so luckily Sunday was quieter. If you stay here bring earplugs, maybe another fan for noise blocking, and expect creaky bed. Location ok, but you will need to drive to the nicer parts of Santa Monica. Liked the courtyard, we brought our jack in the box breakfast to the table there, quite pleasant. Overall I thought the lower price makes this a viable option if you are trying to keep to a trip budget in a very pricey area

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for your honest comment. The management will address the problem accordingly. Clean and cute room can be very satisfying except the creaky bed which maybe annoying but it can be fixed or replaced anytime at your convenience and satisfaction. The noisy place is the product of booming businesses flooding in a progressive community like Santa Monica. This problem can't be resolve but can be remedied so, don't feel bad come and book again at Rest Haven while in the city and experience the comfort once denied in your previous short stop over. Have an awesome day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a five star budget motel and it has all the amenities you can expect for the price you pay. (Santa Monica is a expensive town in CA). The room is fairly big and have all the things you need. Flat screen tv, a big refrigerator etc. The room I stayed in had a fan in the roof and another fan that you could place where ever you wanted. The location is good and you have lots of junk food restaurants around you, like Jack in the box, Subway, 7 Eleven, Taco bell etc. You also have a decent bar with live music every day on the same street as the motel.

The hotel is located a 12 minutes walk from the beach (just take Pico blvd down) or about 15 minutes to the shopping streets of Santa Monica. The staff is great and would will take care of all the questions you might have.

Totally worth the money!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9. It had another building in front of it and by then you didn't hear the traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for the very inspiring remarks. Your best impression of our motel was an indication that you have enjoyed your brief stay in our property and got full customer's satisfaction from the services offered by our staff, which is our business vision and mission. The Management expects that in your next visit to CA, you, your family and friends will never forget to book at Rest Haven Motel, the only motel that has the modest accommodations in the city at a fair and affordable price. You will never regret having booked at Rest Haven Motel because you will enjoy exceptional services from our courteous and friendly personnel from day 1 until your check out. Have an awesome day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
405 reviews 405 reviews
265 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

As far as motels go, this is like any other: cheap, sort-of clean, hard bed, etc. As far as Santa Monica motels go, this is apparently a palace. It’s the only motel that doesn't have bedbug complaints (as far as I could tell). I stayed here for three nights, and I never saw a bug, or any evidence of there being any. The room was fairly clean, and well furnished, with laminate hardwood floors. Each night was uneventful and quiet; I got good sleep here. The WiFi here worked better than in many brand hotels I’ve stayed at. The hot water was slow to come, but it eventually arrived. Overall, this is a great little place that I can’t find fault with. 6/10

P.S. - Jack in the Box is great for a quick breakfast - right in front of the motel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Sir, with humble hearts, the Management of Rest Haven Motel, Santa Monica, CA. greatly appreciate the beautiful comments you made for our Motel. Rest assured that from now on and onward, we will not settle for less instead will continue to serve and accommodate with honesty and dedication our future customers for them to experience and enjoy life away from home. If you can, you may recommend Rest Haven Motel to your relatives, friends and other associates for booking purposes. You will not regret for doing so because Rest Haven Motel offers exceptional service to our customers full satisfaction. Thanks again and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We've chosen the Reat Haven after reading all the positive reviews at Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The service was great and extremely friendly, the room was comfy and clean (albeit not huge) and the location was very convenient for all excursions and even for walking to Santa Monica Peer by foot :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Rest Haven Motel in your brief stay in Santa Monica, CA. We're glad we have met your accommodation standards and have served you to the fullest while with us. We'll look forward to offer you more and better service in your future trips particularly to Santa Monica, CA USA. Have a lovely day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and found the motel very basic although overall the place was clean. It was quite well placed for the peir and the hop-on hop-off bus tour. The neighbourhood is not the best with vagrants sitting around outside the food place next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Rest haven motel is a very basic and economy motel located seven blocks from Santa Monica beach. Very clean and friendly. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights during a summer road trip. It's a very basic motel, but our room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. Based on other reviews, we requested a room on the back courtyard, and it was very pleasant. I don't recall any street noise at night, but we live on a noisy street in Brooklyn, so we're used to that kind of thing.

The free wifi worked great, and the receptionist gave me a hair dryer that I was allowed to keep for the duration of our trip. The parking lot is small, but there was always space. The location isn't perfect, it's kind of a hike to the beach, but it was great for us, especially since we enjoy walking.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are also very happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to see you back here. Most of the nights we do not have any noise specially in the back of the building. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rest Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest Haven Motel

Address: 815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*All request, including room type, are non-guaranteed and shall be honored depending on availability at check-in.* We are a small and basic motel. To noise sensitive; we are behind the Jack in the Box(fastfood chain) and the night Bar name TriP. Welcome to Rest Haven Motel, Santa Monica !!! Feel good in this neighborhood if you would! This is an economy motel conveniently located in Lincoln Blvd and Grant Street just 20 minutes walk to the Third Street Promenade in downtown Santa Monica and the famous Santa Monica Pier where fun and enjoyment can be had beyond compare. The place is quite accessible to many other favorite tourists' haunts known the world over like Venice Beach, Malibu, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, Universal Studio, Disneyland, and more which makes every stay a pleasure. Built in 1938..."A marvelous experience"... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rest Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rest Haven Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rest Haven Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.