We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip down memory lane” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rest Haven Motel

Save Saved
You added Rest Haven Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rest Haven Motel
815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Trip down memory lane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked my stay at the Rest Haven Motel after a thirty year absence from Santa Monica. I didn't want to stay in one of the overpriced multi story hotels that have overtaken the once low key community. We stayed in one of the rooms on the side street, and it was a nice sized room with comfortable beds and a real full sized tile shower. Yes, the Jack in the box was next door ( great since there are no coffee pots in the room), and there are some fairly seedy looking places on Lincoln Avenue, but the neighborhood behind the motel is neat and friendly, and a great place to walk if you don't want to head down to the beach. Everything you could possibly want is within walking distance; a Von's supermarket (and the room has a fridge that's big enough to actually hold some food), the beach, the San Mo pier, and the third street promenade with shopping and restaurants. The windows actually open to let in the cool night air, and there's lots of storage space for your stuff.

It is not a cookie cutter modern hotel, and if you are offended by the occasional homeless person on Lincoln Avenue, stay away, but if you want a convenient, clean, comfortable room at a reasonable price, this is for you.

P.S. The owner's son showed us to our room, and is adorable!
P.P.S. If you score rooms 13 or 14 you have a wonderful enclosed patio to yourself!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Your wonderful and nice appraisal of Rest Haven Motel greatly impressed the Management and it's Staff. We are glad and thankful that our modest rooms have provided you the comfort you deserved since our main goal is always to meet our Customers' full satisfaction while staying and relaxing in our property, the Rest Haven Motel. Feel free to return to Santa Monica, CA and be booked in our Motel. We anticipate another future booking from you, your family and your friends. Oh as you mentioned also ("The owner's son showed us to our room, and is adorable!"). It's not the owner and yes the son it's a great help. Thank you again and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    75
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
44
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hainesport, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Meant to write this review months ago, but guessing it is still accurate. Very difficult to find bargains in Santa Monica, so Rest Haven rates are attractive, however.....
Although our room was clean and cute, it was small with very creaky beds. My biggest complaint however was the fact that we were basically in the jack in the box drive thru, apparently a very popular place on a Saturday night. It was loud. So the first night we did not sleep much. Had already paid for 2 nights though, so luckily Sunday was quieter. If you stay here bring earplugs, maybe another fan for noise blocking, and expect creaky bed. Location ok, but you will need to drive to the nicer parts of Santa Monica. Liked the courtyard, we brought our jack in the box breakfast to the table there, quite pleasant. Overall I thought the lower price makes this a viable option if you are trying to keep to a trip budget in a very pricey area

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for your honest comment. The management will address the problem accordingly. Clean and cute room can be very satisfying except the creaky bed which maybe annoying but it can be fixed or replaced anytime at your convenience and satisfaction. The noisy place is the product of booming businesses flooding in a progressive community like Santa Monica. This problem can't be resolve but can be remedied so, don't feel bad come and book again at Rest Haven while in the city and experience the comfort once denied in your previous short stop over. Have an awesome day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a five star budget motel and it has all the amenities you can expect for the price you pay. (Santa Monica is a expensive town in CA). The room is fairly big and have all the things you need. Flat screen tv, a big refrigerator etc. The room I stayed in had a fan in the roof and another fan that you could place where ever you wanted. The location is good and you have lots of junk food restaurants around you, like Jack in the box, Subway, 7 Eleven, Taco bell etc. You also have a decent bar with live music every day on the same street as the motel.

The hotel is located a 12 minutes walk from the beach (just take Pico blvd down) or about 15 minutes to the shopping streets of Santa Monica. The staff is great and would will take care of all the questions you might have.

Totally worth the money!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9. It had another building in front of it and by then you didn't hear the traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for the very inspiring remarks. Your best impression of our motel was an indication that you have enjoyed your brief stay in our property and got full customer's satisfaction from the services offered by our staff, which is our business vision and mission. The Management expects that in your next visit to CA, you, your family and friends will never forget to book at Rest Haven Motel, the only motel that has the modest accommodations in the city at a fair and affordable price. You will never regret having booked at Rest Haven Motel because you will enjoy exceptional services from our courteous and friendly personnel from day 1 until your check out. Have an awesome day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
407 reviews 407 reviews
271 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

As far as motels go, this is like any other: cheap, sort-of clean, hard bed, etc. As far as Santa Monica motels go, this is apparently a palace. It’s the only motel that doesn't have bedbug complaints (as far as I could tell). I stayed here for three nights, and I never saw a bug, or any evidence of there being any. The room was fairly clean, and well furnished, with laminate hardwood floors. Each night was uneventful and quiet; I got good sleep here. The WiFi here worked better than in many brand hotels I’ve stayed at. The hot water was slow to come, but it eventually arrived. Overall, this is a great little place that I can’t find fault with. 6/10

P.S. - Jack in the Box is great for a quick breakfast - right in front of the motel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Sir, with humble hearts, the Management of Rest Haven Motel, Santa Monica, CA. greatly appreciate the beautiful comments you made for our Motel. Rest assured that from now on and onward, we will not settle for less instead will continue to serve and accommodate with honesty and dedication our future customers for them to experience and enjoy life away from home. If you can, you may recommend Rest Haven Motel to your relatives, friends and other associates for booking purposes. You will not regret for doing so because Rest Haven Motel offers exceptional service to our customers full satisfaction. Thanks again and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've chosen the Reat Haven after reading all the positive reviews at Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The service was great and extremely friendly, the room was comfy and clean (albeit not huge) and the location was very convenient for all excursions and even for walking to Santa Monica Peer by foot :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Rest Haven Motel in your brief stay in Santa Monica, CA. We're glad we have met your accommodation standards and have served you to the fullest while with us. We'll look forward to offer you more and better service in your future trips particularly to Santa Monica, CA USA. Have a lovely day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and found the motel very basic although overall the place was clean. It was quite well placed for the peir and the hop-on hop-off bus tour. The neighbourhood is not the best with vagrants sitting around outside the food place next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Rest haven motel is a very basic and economy motel located seven blocks from Santa Monica beach. Very clean and friendly. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights during a summer road trip. It's a very basic motel, but our room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. Based on other reviews, we requested a room on the back courtyard, and it was very pleasant. I don't recall any street noise at night, but we live on a noisy street in Brooklyn, so we're used to that kind of thing.

The free wifi worked great, and the receptionist gave me a hair dryer that I was allowed to keep for the duration of our trip. The parking lot is small, but there was always space. The location isn't perfect, it's kind of a hike to the beach, but it was great for us, especially since we enjoy walking.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are also very happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to see you back here. Most of the nights we do not have any noise specially in the back of the building. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#20 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Free Parking, I...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica
#29 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Free in...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#25 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Independent Hot...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#22 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rest Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest Haven Motel

Address: 815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1938...... "A marvelous experience"...nothing else can give you the exciting opportunity to visit Santa Monica and its attractions, the sun, the sand, the sea, and especially a night or nights' stay at our warm and cozy Rest Haven Motel.An economy motel located just seven blocks from the beach and a short 15 minutes walk to Third Street Promenade, in downtown Santa Monica, and only 10 minutes walk to Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach; enables our guests to walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rest Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rest Haven Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rest Haven Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.