We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the basics in a residential neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rest Haven Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rest Haven Motel to your Saves list
Rest Haven Motel
815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“the basics in a residential neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

a pleasant family style motel in a quiet residential neighborhood of Santa Monica. A very nice manager helped me with all my questions. No phone in the room but did have a refrigerator. A Von's and an Albertson's is just a few blocks away for groceries. The Santa Monica Pier is about a 10 minute drive away. Parking is $6 at the pier. Free parking at the motel. We stayed in room #11 which has a twin and a full size bed. Small bathroom but for what we paid, it was just right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
That was a very pleasant review and it's uplifting. It is nice to find out that you have fully appreciated our place even if it is not an upscale type of hotel. It is unfortunate that we did not have phones in the room because we are thinking most, if not all, have their cellular phones on hand. We are just grateful that we are in a location which has accessibility to different important places as markets and shops for your convenience. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    86
    44
    8
    2
See reviews for
36
60
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

While clean and convenient it's basically a dive in a very iffy neighborhood. Beds are old and uncomfortable. Hard to find anyone in the office. Very poor water pressure. Room smelled like tobacco smoke.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
The cleanliness and convenience you found in our place is something worthwhile and we thank you for noticing it. Regarding the neighborhood is something beyond our control which we also find somewhat detestable so I would say there's nothing we could do about it. Apologetically, the manager is a jack of all trades so it is impossible to find her planted in the office. The establishment is a smoke free one, unfortunately, we have no control of the customers in their respective rooms, such that, we have no knowledge of their activities, that is, smoking and drinking and others. Regarding the water pressure, we will try to find a way to fix it for your comfort next time. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Chose Rest Haven based on TripAdvisor reviews. Chose courtyard room cited in several trip advisor reviews. Found the room to be quiet as was mentioned in other trip advisor reviews. I stayed 1st week of 2013. Room was clean. Manager had issue with slow running shower drain fixed promptly. Lincoln blvd does have its share of down on luck types but didn't feel unsafe. When I decided to extend my stay, manager didn't inconvenience me by having me change rooms. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get courtyard room if you are noise sensitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
This is one beautiful advantage of following other people's opinion based on their experiences. At least, you were rewarded by your being a smart listener. Thanks - you are always most welcome anytime. Good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here two nights during Thanksgiving holiday. Was the cheapest and cleanest looking place we could find. Rooms are big enough, furnitures and bath a little old but very clean, so no problems there. Not far away from 3rd street promenade and pier. 15-20 min walk. We drove from San Diego, free parking - very important. Free Wi Fi, though if your room is far away from the reception area, you get poor reception. Jack in the Box right in front of the motel, there is a 7-Eleven close by. Overall, good value for money considering the other hotel's prices in Santa Monica! Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Our hard work gets rewarded by people like you who value our good intentions to make you guys get your money's worth. Your appreciation through your nice thoughts about us is a true gift we treasure. You are always welcome to our place anytime. Have an awesome day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nothing to drool over. Decent location, value for money. Clean. The room service was lacking a bit. We had requested an early check in, and the rooms were empty but not cleaned! We waited 1 hour after a long flight. We could see the cleaning lady doing the other rooms! Why on earth didn't she just clean our room first and then do the other ones. There was no one coming in those rooms anytime soon anyway. Other than that, an uneventful, smooth stay. Plus: Free Parking!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I can only apologize if we had made you wait like we were not truly efficient. We can learn from that but we still know you felt good with us during your stay and found the good things in the place. We felt vindicated somehow. Thank you for sharing the good and not-so-good. We respect your thoughts about us. Happy day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Before I chose Rest Haven, I checked reviews for almost all the hotels in LA under a certain budget and this was the one with best reviews. When I stayed there, I saw why. First of all: Staff. The lady taking care of the motel is incredibly friendly and helped me a lot. If you have any questions, she is the one to talk to. She also does awesome animal statues with towels and change them every day. The room was clean and spacious enough for me. I didn't expect a luxury place since this was a 2 star motel but I didn't have any problems with anything. It was also close enough to the Santa Monica beach and I could walk there in 10 minutes. Neighborhood was also safe (or looked like that to me). Overall, I suggest this place to anyone who is looking for a warm, clean place around Santa Monica.

Room Tip: I stayed at Room 9 and didn't have any noise from outside. Just know that A/C works a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I appreciate your generous compliments, the kind words. You made us feel we are up to our job and business and this is very important to us, inspirational yet challenging. We made you satisfied and that was our primary goal for our guest like you. Great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

we came here at the end of 3 months travelling the world and did not know quite what to expect. we arrived in LA after a 13 hour flight and our room wasnt ready. they quickly rallied together to ensure the room was turned around as quickly as possible. the staff were very helpful, polite and trustworthy. attention to detail was second to none. yes the building was slightly dated but it gave the place charachter. we stayed in room 3 for 5 nights and although there is some noise audible from the road and the restaurant/drive through it did not cause us any problems. overall a great affordable place to stay. a ten minute walk to the ocean and 5 minutes away from shops and locall eateries.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Satisfaction, that is what counts most. Having been appreciated for our efforts, how can we afford to fail great customer like you. A gold nugget is discovered where you least expect it. We feel grateful to be found by world travelers in this corner of Santa Monica, California. Eureka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#24 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica
#30 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#23 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Santa Monica
Santa Monica Motel
Santa Monica Motel
#28 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rest Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest Haven Motel

Address: 815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*All request, including room type, are non-guaranteed and shall be honored depending on availability at check-in.* We are a small and basic motel. To noise sensitive; we are behind the Jack in the Box(fastfood chain) and the night Bar name TriP. Welcome to Rest Haven Motel, Santa Monica !!! Feel good in this neighborhood if you would! This is an economy motel conveniently located in Lincoln Blvd and Grant Street just 20 minutes walk to the Third Street Promenade in downtown Santa Monica and the famous Santa Monica Pier where fun and enjoyment can be had beyond compare. The place is quite accessible to many other favorite tourists' haunts known the world over like Venice Beach, Malibu, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, Universal Studio, Disneyland, and more which makes every stay a pleasure. Built in 1938..."A marvelous experience"... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rest Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rest Haven Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rest Haven Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.