We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest Haven Motel, Santa Monica , CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rest Haven Motel

Save Saved
You added Rest Haven Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rest Haven Motel
815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Rest Haven Motel, Santa Monica , CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Chose Rest Haven based on TripAdvisor reviews. Chose courtyard room cited in several trip advisor reviews. Found the room to be quiet as was mentioned in other trip advisor reviews. I stayed 1st week of 2013. Room was clean. Manager had issue with slow running shower drain fixed promptly. Lincoln blvd does have its share of down on luck types but didn't feel unsafe. When I decided to extend my stay, manager didn't inconvenience me by having me change rooms. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get courtyard room if you are noise sensitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
This is one beautiful advantage of following other people's opinion based on their experiences. At least, you were rewarded by your being a smart listener. Thanks - you are always most welcome anytime. Good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    72
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
38
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here two nights during Thanksgiving holiday. Was the cheapest and cleanest looking place we could find. Rooms are big enough, furnitures and bath a little old but very clean, so no problems there. Not far away from 3rd street promenade and pier. 15-20 min walk. We drove from San Diego, free parking - very important. Free Wi Fi, though if your room is far away from the reception area, you get poor reception. Jack in the Box right in front of the motel, there is a 7-Eleven close by. Overall, good value for money considering the other hotel's prices in Santa Monica! Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Our hard work gets rewarded by people like you who value our good intentions to make you guys get your money's worth. Your appreciation through your nice thoughts about us is a true gift we treasure. You are always welcome to our place anytime. Have an awesome day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhidham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nothing to drool over. Decent location, value for money. Clean. The room service was lacking a bit. We had requested an early check in, and the rooms were empty but not cleaned! We waited 1 hour after a long flight. We could see the cleaning lady doing the other rooms! Why on earth didn't she just clean our room first and then do the other ones. There was no one coming in those rooms anytime soon anyway. Other than that, an uneventful, smooth stay. Plus: Free Parking!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I can only apologize if we had made you wait like we were not truly efficient. We can learn from that but we still know you felt good with us during your stay and found the good things in the place. We felt vindicated somehow. Thank you for sharing the good and not-so-good. We respect your thoughts about us. Happy day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Before I chose Rest Haven, I checked reviews for almost all the hotels in LA under a certain budget and this was the one with best reviews. When I stayed there, I saw why. First of all: Staff. The lady taking care of the motel is incredibly friendly and helped me a lot. If you have any questions, she is the one to talk to. She also does awesome animal statues with towels and change them every day. The room was clean and spacious enough for me. I didn't expect a luxury place since this was a 2 star motel but I didn't have any problems with anything. It was also close enough to the Santa Monica beach and I could walk there in 10 minutes. Neighborhood was also safe (or looked like that to me). Overall, I suggest this place to anyone who is looking for a warm, clean place around Santa Monica.

Room Tip: I stayed at Room 9 and didn't have any noise from outside. Just know that A/C works a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I appreciate your generous compliments, the kind words. You made us feel we are up to our job and business and this is very important to us, inspirational yet challenging. We made you satisfied and that was our primary goal for our guest like you. Great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

we came here at the end of 3 months travelling the world and did not know quite what to expect. we arrived in LA after a 13 hour flight and our room wasnt ready. they quickly rallied together to ensure the room was turned around as quickly as possible. the staff were very helpful, polite and trustworthy. attention to detail was second to none. yes the building was slightly dated but it gave the place charachter. we stayed in room 3 for 5 nights and although there is some noise audible from the road and the restaurant/drive through it did not cause us any problems. overall a great affordable place to stay. a ten minute walk to the ocean and 5 minutes away from shops and locall eateries.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Satisfaction, that is what counts most. Having been appreciated for our efforts, how can we afford to fail great customer like you. A gold nugget is discovered where you least expect it. We feel grateful to be found by world travelers in this corner of Santa Monica, California. Eureka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Good value for money considering prices in Santa Monica, we were offered a choice of rooms all were small and in close proximity to the road and nearby take away. The bed was not particularly comfortable and the noise outside did wake us up at night. The WiFi was virtually non existent even outside but we came here for the beach which was about 15 minute walk away downhill, we did walk back from Venice late at night but I would highly recommend a taxi as much further and can be a little dodgy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Is an apology appropriate for the general make up of the establishment and its not so fortunate location which makes you sound not exactly feeling good in your stay?

If you had asked us we would not have recommended anyone to take a walk from Venice to our place - it is half a mile from us - personally, we won't do that, especially around the time you did it. We are simply operating an affordable place with affordable rate so we cannot be compared with upscale beach hotels that command exorbitant prices. What want pays for is what one gets.
Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Motel is just super easy- fast check in, nice small but accommodating rooms. Huge bathroom, I would say 100% clean but I did find a hair in the shower recess. We did arrive early so this could have contributed to this. Wasn't enough to put us off. Great walking distance to Santa Monica and Venice Beach and there is a bar and a sushi bar close by. They do face a Jack in the box 24 hour restaurant, not pleasant to look at but you can't hear anything from the rooms. Over all excellent for location and price.

FYI The Wifi only works outside in the carpark :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Nice review, thank you for sharing your views. Your comment has a ring of truth in every word. They are not to be discounted. We apologize for all the misgivings. In this motel, we routinely go the extra mile to make the guest feel well - served and compensated. We appreciate all your time to give us a chunk of your opinion. Have an awesome day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rest Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest Haven Motel

Also Known As:
Rest Haven Hotel
Rest Haven Hotel Santa Monica
Address: 815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1938...... "A marvelous experience"...nothing else can give you the exciting opportunity to visit Santa Monica and its attractions, the sun, the sand, the sea, and especially a night or nights' stay at our warm and cozy Rest Haven Motel.An economy motel located just seven blocks from the beach and a short 15 minutes walk to Third Street Promenade, in downtown Santa Monica, and only 10 minutes walk to Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach; enables our guests to walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rest Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rest Haven Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.