We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rest Haven Motel

Save Saved
You added Rest Haven Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rest Haven Motel
815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked it online and when we came like 10 mins. later everything was ready. We could choose between 2 different rooms, to see which one we liked the most. It was a really nice service. The rooms were clean and really comfortable; nice bathroom, big bed,tv is good, etc.

Some minuses for some people might be that there is no A/C (only a fan on the ceiling - which for me is okay), and the WiFi is literally not working inside the rooms (at least our room), so you can only use it outside!!!!

The location was pretty good, you have a jack in box just next to it if you are hungry and it is possible to walk to the beach from there (will take you approximately 15-20 min max.)
All in all, I think it was a good sleep over for the price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for the positive review. It would be a pleasure to welcome you & your friends back sometime. We are overcome joy. Thanks for giving your time willingly to make us feel good about your comfortable stay with us. Your remarkable enthusiasm greatly shows in your every word and it gives us some pleasure. Regarding the airconditioning that you mentioned, we will take your thoughtful suggestion into consideration and submit it to management for further study. Good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    74
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
43
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RIO DE JANEIRO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Me and my family stayed for 5 nights at this lovely Motel. My room was the number 10 with a full bed and one twin for my daughter, the other was the number 14 at the backyard with a full bed for my other daughter and her boy friend. Jannet, the manager, was so kind and helpful in giving us a map, pointing the places we shoul go.The location is excellent, since it is very near of the pier of Santa Monica beach. The rooms were very clean and with lovely sculpture towels, a goose, a monkey. So funny. There is a Jack in the box in front of the Motel, and sometimes make some noise. The shower was very good. There is a free parking in front of the Motel and free wi fi .The backyard is full of flowers and my daughter saw a squirrel.We recommend this Motel for people that don^t want a luxury place. The Motel is a simple place but we feel like our home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your nice review specially coming from Rio Brazil where every thing is so fantastic and beautiful. We are happy and grateful for your support, encouragement and input, the fact that, in your own words, we have made you feel just like at home. Your positive impression will enhance our ability to deal with our business more positively. Having made you feel and your family stay with us in a pleasant situation is rewarding for us. We can hope that we would be able to do business with you again. Have an awesome day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a great night in this small motel and we liked it. You could easily hear every word from your neighbours but as we had a long flight, a long day of shopping and far too many beers that didn't bother us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for the review. Glad you liked our place. We would like to extend you our great appreciation for staying with us and finding it worthwhile. I can understand your concern about the thinness of the walls in the motel without you directly mentioning it. We admire your patience and we will take this problem into consideration by pointing it out to the management. Have a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived from Las Vegas so the size of the room and bed was a shock to the system to begin with! However once we got used to "downsizing" the room was perfectly fine, adequate enough and very clean. Bed though was very small and creaky and a liitle uncomfortable so wouldn't suggest staying more than a few nights, also no air conditioning. Having said that our room was in the court yard area so was lovely and quiet. Walk into town and the pier was about 20 minutes so not a problem. As has been mentioned before the lady manager was very nice and helpful and we loved the towel sculptures we came back to each night . This motel was about £300 cheaper than one i had originally booked on Ocean drive and that wasn't even including the parking - so for the money and the fact you get your parking included there is no real contest. Would definately recommend as a place to stay for a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Nice review, thank you so much. Your coming back would be a great pleasure. Rest Haven Motel is a land mark in Santa Monica and the City does not permit us to do any thing to the buildings. Some of the rooms are small and some are not but we have done every thing humanly possible to make the rooms better and comfortable. We are open for any suggestion and in fact we will appreciate any ideas coming from our guests.
Here's the Category of our rooms, if you book with Booking.com;
1) Family room - 3 beds (room #4 & #7)
2) Deluxe Queen Room - 2 beds (room #1,10,11,12)
3) Queen Room - 1 bed (room #2,3,5,9)
4) Double Room - 1 bed (full size) - room #13, 14 - courtyard
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were struggling to find a decent priced hotel for our short stay in Santa Monica but we found positive reviews of this motel on Trip Advisor but its not on price-comparison sites, so we contacted the motel directly to find out that the rooms were very reasonable. The lady on the front desk in was very prompt in all email correspondence and was very accommodating when we were checking in late in the evening and when we had millions of requests for hair-dryers, left luggage facilities and check out times. The rooms are a good size and are clean and come with a fridge. The bathrooms could do with updating but are still clean and have a good supply of clean towels, there is no a/c but the fans work fine when left on for a period of time. The motel is a 10-15 minute walk from Santa Monica beach and 20 minutes to Santa Monica Place and the retail area. We caught the bus to the motel and there is a stop on Pico Blvd which is about 30 mins from LAX Bus Depo but 2 minutes from the motel and only costs 1 dollar fare. There are plenty of food places/general stores around but the neighbourhood doesn't feel too great, although I was assured it is safe and we didn't have any problems. Definitely the best value hotel/motel in the area, convenient for the beach and Jannet on front desk is so lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We certainly appreciate your appreciation of our Motel. And, Wow, what a compliment on my person, thank you very much. Review such as yours motivate us more to keep our motel in good standard and quality. Hope you had a pleasant stay and looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We picked this place on the basis of positive previous reviews. It sounded cheap but reasonable. What other reviews didn't mention was the noise. It's 20m from a Jack drive- in so there's a low to moderate squawking from the speakers, on top of Lincoln Rds traffic noise, til the wee small hours. As there is no air conditioning, we needed the window open (early October) to keep cool, so we got very little sleep.

The rooms are fine, small but tidy. But the noise, plus the beggars and usual street people who gather around low rent beach neighbourhoods mean we won't be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for finding time to post a review about us. Sorry for the inconvenience regarding the noise. In this connection, we would like to reiterate that we have repeatedly reminded our future / incoming guests about the unavoidable noise in our neighborhood, that`s why we repeatedly giving an advise to bring along with them (individually) an EARPLUG so as to minimize if not totally avoiding such noise. Again, we are very sorry that you did not have a good experience but there is no low rate beach property in Santa Monica and unfortunately beggars are the fabric of the Santa Monica society which we have no control over. Good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We chose Rest Haven based on it's proximity to the beach and the price and were not disappointed. The price is unbelievable for Santa Monica and it is a 10-15 walk down to the beach. Instead of walking down Pico ( which is not the nicest street) we went down Grant and Bay (nice residential streets). We also took the bus to the motel from Lax which was very easy and cheap (1$ each) we took the free shuttle c on the arrivals level and then transferred to the big blue rapid 3 bus and got off at Lincoln and Pico, from there it is a block and a half back to the motel. The lady at the front reception was very friendly and even let us store our bags after check out. The rooms were clean and while it's not the ritz they provided everything my family needed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Our deepest thanks for the ever glowing 5 stars of trust and confidence you showered us. We can only hope to keep them bright and luminous while multiplying and guide future travelers their way to our direction in pursuit of an affordable yet comfortable place to stay in a wholesome location. Having expressed your interesting opinion of Santa Monica City, let alone our motel, we cannot but feel obligated to return the gesture. So many thanks for one more time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rest Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest Haven Motel

Address: 815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1938...... "A marvelous experience"...nothing else can give you the exciting opportunity to visit Santa Monica and its attractions, the sun, the sand, the sea, and especially a night or nights' stay at our warm and cozy Rest Haven Motel.An economy motel located just seven blocks from the beach and a short 15 minutes walk to Third Street Promenade, in downtown Santa Monica, and only 10 minutes walk to Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach; enables our guests to walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rest Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rest Haven Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rest Haven Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.