We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean room, good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rest Haven Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rest Haven Motel to your Saves list
Rest Haven Motel
815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Savigliano, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“clean room, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Price is good if consider prices in Santa Monica. Rooms basic but clean. Good solution for family (we had 4 bed room). 2 Km from the sea, 1 Km from shopping mall where you can find something to eat (do not go in fastfood close). ADVISABLE.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for the review and for the positive advise to our future guests. Hope to welcome your family back the next time around. Have an awesome day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    79
    34
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
49
20
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I had booked 3 nights at Rest Haven after a very busy 10 day coach tour of California and Arizona, to unwind before my trip back to the UK. I chose it because it was so much cheaper than the frontline hotels a couple of blocks nearer the beach.

The motel is situated just off the busy Lincoln Boulevard and near the junction with Pico Boulevard and my first impression was some disappointment at the location. However after walking down to the Pier and having a relaxing day I felt much better about it. Instead of walking down Pico Boulevard to get to the beach , I crossed Lincoln Boulevard and headed down Bay Street? - a pleasant residential area that brings you to the beach via the main Santa Monica beach road- Main Street?. The Hop on/ Hop Off Hollywood and downtown LA bus stops on this beach road and it was only about a 15 minute walk from the motel and another 5 to the beach. Also on this road I found a great deli/ farm shop that did wonderful milkshakes that sustained me on the walk back. The Blue bus also runs along this road to Venice Beach and beyond if needed. The shops and cafes on 3rd Street Promenade were also only 15 minutes walk away.

I stayed in the court yard behind the motel after being offered the choice of two rooms, as it was away from the road and fast food restaurant. There was a gate to the courtyard that was lockable making it seem very secure. My room was small with a TV but no table or chair but with a large spotless bathroom attached. The lack of a table and chair did not bother me too much as I was out most of the time. The bed was comfortable and having a fridge was a big bonus. When I arrived back early one day I sat at the tiled stone table in the courtyard and enjoyed the sun and listening to the birds- reminded me of many Spanish trips.

The staff were friendly although I did not catch their names ,and the room was cleaned with clean towels provided every day - plus the towel sculptures! It would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room as there were no breakfast cafes in the immediate vicinity to buy a tea in the morning apart from the Jack in the Box fast food restaurant that I did not fancy. I appreciate that the motel has low prices and this would be an added expense for them.

Having arthritis I found the walk ,partly up hill back to the motel after a long day out, a little wearing, but could have got a taxi back from the beach or Pier and it would have still been much cheaper than staying nearer the beach.

I enjoyed my stay at Rest Haven and would sum up by saying it was a clean, basic and friendly motel only 15- 20 minutes walk from the Pier, beach and shops. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and more thanks for taking your time and post this very detailed review about our motel. We have few electric kettles for tea ( just ask the front desk). There are so many places for breakfast in walking distance, etc. We also offer computer desks if you need it. I hope these infos from you will serve as guidelines and help to decide our future guests as to the choice of where to stay in Santa Monica. Have a nice day and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back the next time you visit Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms, neighbourhood a little rough, good Thai restaurant close by. Wifi is rarely available in backrooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thanks for the review. As for the WIFI, please inform the front desk for any problem or suggestions, we will be very pleased to assist or help you so good we can.
And we are in a residential neighborhood with houses which worth minimum $900,000.00. The neighborhood is classic fifties or sixties and very very safe. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A basic, but clean motel with a friendly and helpful management. Good parking and reasonable location about 20 minutes' walk from the Center of Santa Monica and the beach. Easy access to LAX.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time and posted a review. We appreciate all comments and suggestion.
Glad to know your stay with us got a positive review from you, thank you very much. Have a nice day and please feel free to contact us the next time you visit Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was a wonderful pick for a place to stay while on vacation. Had a great experience. Very clean and the staff was thoughtful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you very much for the nice review. We would like to mention specially our housekeeper ANGELA Santiago, without her good ideas when it comes to room decorations and cleanliness, we`ll never have such good reviews. Have a nice day and hope to welcome you back with your friends sometime around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Nothing fancy. Small and dated, but very clean, which is the most important thing for me. Area was so-so. Needed just a place to stay overnight before our LA tour the next day, and it worked out fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for taking your time and posted an honest review. Hope to welcome you back sometime. Goodday! *jdl/

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Great service overall a great value for hotel cleanliness, location, etc.
Janet made the whole difference for our trip, very very happy campers and we'll come back on July with friends.

Thanks!

Room Tip: they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thanks for the review. We will be glad to welcome you back (with friends) on July.
However we are truly grateful that somehow you live up your expectations in what you are looking for in an establishment like ours. Have a nice day!
/jdl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rest Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest Haven Motel

Address: 815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1938...... "A marvelous experience"...nothing else can give you the exciting opportunity to visit Santa Monica and its attractions, the sun, the sand, the sea, and especially a night or nights' stay at our warm and cozy Rest Haven Motel.An economy motel located just seven blocks from the beach and a short 15 minutes walk to Third Street Promenade, in downtown Santa Monica, and only 10 minutes walk to Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach; enables our guests to walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rest Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rest Haven Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rest Haven Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.