We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Pizza” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Monica Pizza Kitchen

Santa Monica Pizza Kitchen
1318 Wilshire Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90403-5411 (Santa Monica)
310-393-4554
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #268 of 513 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average Pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I decided to try this place looking for authentic New York Pizza. Having lived there for 5 years, I had high expectations. I tried the pepperoni as well as the vegetarian pizza. The size of the slices were comparable to a New York Pizza but the crust and the flavor of the pizza were completely different and more just like a typical LA pizza parlor.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Kids wanted to go to California Pizza Kitchen down the street, but I decided since we were in Santa Monica for the day to try something new. Just a hole in the wall on busy Wilshire Blvd (parked down a side street) but excellent thin crust pizza. Not much of a restaurant, but I can see they have a booming take-out/delivery business. And I see why. Very good pizza!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delicious pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We go here almost weekly for their dinner specials, namely spaghetti, pizza, salad and soda at reasonable prices. Friendly staff and enjoyable atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best pizza outside of NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We live in Santa Monica and could not survive without this pizza place! Their pizzas are the best I've had, outside of NYC. Thin crust, delicious! Need I say more. I love their Bianca (no sauce) and my husband loves the Spicy Meatball ... delicious!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great thin-crust pizza.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

It's not easy to find good pizza in LA (but even bad pizza is good, right?), but Santa Monica Pizza Kitchen is great. They make a nice thin crust pizza -- call it New York style if you want. (Their website says they'll also do a thick crust.) I got an anchovy pizza and it was like I was transported to Italy; it was that good. We also ordered one with just vegetables and it was equally delicious. Delivery was reasonably fast -- about 35 minutes. You can't ask for anything more.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Monica Pizza Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Santa Monica Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Monica Pizza Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.