We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Park Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Park Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   2680 32nd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Was pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My friend and I stayed here from October 12-15/12. After a couple of our friends cancelled their trip, we were looking for an affordable place to stay in the Santa Monica area. We were considering a hostel, and found the Ocean Park Hotel instead. I have to admit I have never stayed in this type of accomodation. Usually it would be a 3 or 4 star hotel at least. I was worried about the shared bathrooms and the condition of the rooms...read (fear of bugs). We checked in and their were no problems at all. My first impression was this isn't so bad. Very similar to a dorm room in college. Was a sleigh bed (which was comfy) with a bed table and lamp, a flat screen tv, micro, fridge, and a sink with mirror. Most hotels don't give you a fridge and micro, so that was nice to have to keep drinks cold. A full length mirror would have been nice, but that's not a huge deal. The next fear was the bathroom. I had no idea what to expect...did everyone shower together? So, you walk in and there are two separate stolls (frosted glass) so you can't see in...then two enclosed bathroom stalls. Almost everytime I went into the bathroom it was empty so that was great. The only downside I found was that there were only 2 little hooks to hang your towel/clothes on. Would have been nice to have some sort of shelf or more hooks? BUT the shower power was fantastic! Remember your sandals to shower in!

There is free interent which is great...computer at the front is there for guests to use free of charge. It's slow...but free! :)

Transport: We did quite a bit of travelling by taxi which can add up. There is the blue bus outside the hotel that is $1 to take you into town/beach. It is a $12 to the beach/promenade area. $30 to west hollywood or $50 if you decide to drink too much and get ripped off! careful lol.

The staff were all VERY polite and helpful. I would def stay here again and would recommend it to friends. It has all your basic needs. Housekeeping doesn't clean rooms everyday, but if you need more towels etc the front desk is more than willing to give more. So overall, we stayed here for 3 nights what most places would cost for one night...worth it? YES! Save your money for all the fun activities you can do in Cali!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    39
    24
    11
    8
See reviews for
11
43
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I would recomend this place if you're planning on staying one or two days, and for one or two people max. The rooms are small and hot! Would not recomend coming in the summer time. They should really think about A/C. The shared bathrooms wasn't that bad, they were always empty. With as much as they charge for the room, they should have better Wi-Fi service, had to move in different locations to get service. Staff was very friendly, next time I would find a different place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Have stayed here several times. The hotel is well situated on a main bus route and easy to find. Rooms are clean and well serviced. Hotel management are exceptionally helpful and polite. Free wifi in all rooms. Fridge and microwave as well. No hesitation in recommending this hotel. I will return on my next visit to this area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Nice hotel lovely staff... Bit of a way out from everything but bus outside takes u there for a dollar. Lovely cafe along side it the op cafe amazing food!!! Rooms were nice very comfy bed but found it hard to sleep because of the heat.. Ther was a fan on the ceiling but didn't do much in terms of cooling down. Would recommend it for value for money 8 out of 10

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santander
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Good place, though a bit in the middle of nowhere. 25 minutes away from downtown (by foot). The place is clean, and pretty comfortable. The service was helpful, but the WiFi didn't work as well as it should.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I was impressed by the rooms for the cost. Simple, clean and modern. Its located close to great food and the OP Cafe was great! I was a little worried about the shared restrooms, but it was clean and easy to access. I'm coming back in a couple months to see my son in college and I'm staying here. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Staff were very nice and helpful. Stayed here the first five nights when we arrived from Ireland. Santa monica was gorgeous and couldnt have asked for more suitable place. Only bad thing was shared bathrooms but they wer verry clean and had cubicle showers and toilets so was grand

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Hotel

Address: 2680 32nd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Ocean Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.