We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oceana Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   849 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Formerly Hotel Oceana Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great hotel close enough but far enough away from the hustle of Santa Monica. Beautiful stylish clean rooms and such friendly helpful staff. Would definately recommend. One thing though I asked for a glass, yes glass of wine and it cost $28 way too much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    94
    24
    13
    15
See reviews for
137
110
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel has a great view of the life on the Santa Monica Palisades and is a nice walk from movies, restaurants and shopping around Santa Monica's 3rd Street Promonade. With a longer walk you can cross over PCH and walk along the beach. The staff is attentive and helpful. You can hear traffic from Ocean Avenue in the lower rooms. The pool is heated and the gym has what you'd need for a good workout.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room facing Santa Bay would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I read all of the other reviews before traveling so here are my thoughts with those in mind. I came for business and brought my wife to stay for the weekend.

COST: This hotel is pricey, but not for the area.

SERVICE:The service was EXCELLENT. The best service I have ever had at a hotel...ever. Staff friendly and go out of their way every time.

NOISE: I requested a high floor ocean side given the room we booked. We received ocean front on the second floor. The room was awesome and the best I have ever stayed in. I brought ear plugs given the other reviews on noise and I am used to quiet sleeping. The road noise disappeared in the evening.A couple of drinks and ear plugs and the sleep was awesome. There was a little creeking from the upper floor in the morning, but not too bad.

LOCATION: Of course it is not ON the beach. Do people who write bad reviews seriously not know what Google Maps is? Place is just like you see. A few blocks from 3rd Street Promenade and right across from the park. Awesome location, just a little walk...which I actually preferred. I would rather have the walk and less traffic.

HIDDEN COST: Not an issue since I know how to read and everything is disclosed. When I went to check out, they had not deducted for my food allowance in the room package I booked. It took about 2 seconds to correct this with NO problem.

I guess all in all, it depends on other hotel guests. I could see having extremely noisy neighbors and the stay being entirely different. Since this was not an issue, I have no complaints there. I will probably not return just due to the cost of staying in Santa Monica. But if I do, the Oceana will be it. The surfing class on Saturday was AWESOME!

Room Tip: Higher floor if noise is an issue. Ocean front if you have an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lots of good things to say about the Oceana:
Stylish decor, good bed, lots of nice touches - eg desk area, books, knick knacks etc
Rooms quite large
Good location - right opposite the beach, six blocks or so to downtown/Promenade
The suites are probably fantastic
Nice & helpful staff

However:
The resort fee is highway robbery. Why am I paying $25 a day extra for a pool?
Breakfast buffet is very very ordinary. Rubbery eggs and carbonised bacon. Avoid it and go to one of the excellent cafes on the Promenade.
It seems to be a converted motel or elderly apartment building. It's quite nicely done, but there are quirks, like some rooms requiring you to get up and down steps - a problem if you have luggage.

It's pretty good. But I don't think it's good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Creek
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Visited for five days with my daughter and enjoyed most everything. The staff were all attentive and friendly so no complaints about service. It was warm so the quiet pool was great. Would have been happier if there had been other breakfast options besides the 25 dollars buffet, or a coffee/ snack bar for light fare, but the lunch and suppers we had were excellent. I was not happy with the resort fee but just assumed it was a form of gratuity and took that into account when tipping. There is no reason for such a fee because there are not many activities available. For pure relaxation in a place near some beautiful places to walk and explore it was great. My only complaint was the thin walls which resulted in some poor sleeps depending on who was above us or next door. We used ear plugs and were fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and on top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I don't write a lot of reviews but I have to on this one! The first step into the hotel until the last step was horrible! Service was bad! They had keys that looked like they were from a motel and the bell staff was so rude and slow! I will never go back again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We love everything about this hotel. A pool to sit by as kids swim or to snack next to outdoor open fire if its winter, great food, room service, well designed/great decor...not to mention super comfy beds with lots of pillows and a hotel room big enough for our 3 kids to sleep in on fold outs in the living room (with all of our suitcases!) and us to have our own private bedroom. Oceana is also walking distance to the pier, beach and santa monica shops - and an easy drive anytime of day to LAX if catching flights (no freeway jams as its all back roads to airport). The staff are lovely and its got such a relaxing vibe. This is not a kiddy-kiddy hotel as most people are adults which suits us fine but there are usually some families and we still always feel very welcome travelling with our children of 8, 11 and 13 years. Its perfect after the long 12-14 hour flight from Australia or as a stop over at the end of the holiday waiting for flight home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceana Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Address: 849 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Formerly Hotel Oceana Santa Monica)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceana Beach Club Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach Club Hotel is luxury boutique hotel located in the premier residential neighborhood of north Santa Monica. With sweeping oceam views, spacious rooms and suites and cuisine by Two Michelin Star Chef Josiah Citrin at Tower 8, Oceana offers guests the quintessential coastal California experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Oceana Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceana Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.