We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oceana Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   849 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Formerly Hotel Oceana Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Fort Worth
1 review
“OUTSTANDING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Beautiful room, Fantastic Staff and a great location. Definitely recommend for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    99
    24
    13
    16
See reviews for
142
112
12
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I had a wonderful stay! The staff was so helpful. They always greeted us with a smile. Would recommend the ocean view suites because they got such wonderful light through the day. Close to the great spots in Santa Monica and also great to local neighborhood shopping area. Loved the quiet and cozy atmosphere. Had a king ocean view suite, this had lots of room so that it felt very comfortable. I had read a review that they offer an IPad for you to use, thought that was great. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ocean view suite has best light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011 via mobile

The best boutique hotel ever. Great staffs, best services, and great view of the hotel room. They gave us a free upgrade to the ocean view room. It is a fantastic room. I will definitely go there again and again and again. I really enjoy the time spending there. recommend everyone try their hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

In addition to the room charge there is a $20 service fee per day which we think may be for the porter and valet service.. although not knowing this, tipped as well; a room tax (7%); parking ($34/day); parking tax ($3.40). In addition to my $22 buffet breakfast I paid $6.50 for a latte. Internet is free. The mattress, comforter and pillows are very comfortable, I stayed on a pull out (which I haven't done in over 20 years) and was very surprised to find that comfortable as well (I asked the hotel to bring up a comforter instead of using the bed spread provided). The bathrooms are very clean; if you're tall you'll love the high placement of the shower head. The pool area is very nice (water is 85 degrees F). We just loved pulling up to the hotel and the walk to our room. Oceana did a great job making one feel cozy in this very trendy hotel. Right across the street is a jogging/walking path on the upper level. There is also path that takes you down to the lower level; ie, Santa Monica Beach. This walking/jogging/bicycle path will lead you right to the Santa Monica Pier. From the hotel it's a 10-15 min walk (or drive... but then park) to 3rd Ave Promenade for FANTASTIC shopping. The avenue is for pedestrians only and has at least 3 blocks of restaurants and stores. I suggest you google 'downtown 3rd avenue promenade santa monica' to get a list of the awesome stores. Expensive, but great location, comfortable room, clean and a very friendly staff. Definitely would go back, regardless of the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed at the Oceana for three nights and had an incredible experience. From the moment I had made my reservation , our arrival and through the time spent at the hotel, service was impeccable, The staff was friendly, kind, thoughtful and amazing. We felt as if we were home and also the most important couple. The hotel is beautiful, the one bedroom suite we had was bright, cheerful, well appointed with every amenity we needed. We felt relaxed, and most cared for, every wish was granted even before we knew it. We were in close proximity to the beach, yet sitting around the pool was peaceful .

We felt that we found a little slice of heaven in a large city where one can relax, unwind, and feel pampered , where 'you ' are number one. As a travel agent, I have visited many hotels and resorts. The Oceana is a hidden gem, classy, quietly elegant , comfortable , and homey .

We want to thank Christine, Leah, Hunter, Adrienne, Katelyn, Denver and all of the staff for taking such great care of us! Their service was amazing, their kindness overwhelming.

We really look forward to our return visits, and we will come back to this little slice of heaven on Ocean Avenue, the Oceana each time we visit Santa Monica.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Good location to the pier and ferris wheel and all the fabulous shops and restaurants on third st.

We were given a complimentary iPad to use during our stay and the front of house staff were very helpful.

We had a hiccup on our last day with the valley parking when they managed to block our car in with a lost key. However they handled this well and compensated us for the drama and were very apologetic.

I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

The service at this hotel is really fantastic without any sort of pretentiousness. On calling to confirm the check-in time the person who answered asked for my reservation and unprompted offered to try and have the room ready by the time I got there well in advance of check-in time. The staff were genuinely helpful and offered many helpful tips. Finally, we really liked the location and the feel of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceana Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Address: 849 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Formerly Hotel Oceana Santa Monica)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceana Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach Club Hotel is luxury boutique hotel located in the premier residential neighborhood of north Santa Monica. With sweeping oceam views, spacious rooms and suites and cuisine by Two Michelin Star Chef Josiah Citrin at Tower 8, Oceana offers guests the quintessential coastal California experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Oceana Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceana Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.