We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as allways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shore Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shore Motel
Save
You added Sea Shore Motel to your Saves list
2637 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Bielefeld, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great as allways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Second stay and as good as always. Like the location, the rooms are superb. Parking in rear. Close to the beach, the Pier and close to Venice. Close to the Getty Museum and to Malibu. Friendly staff. I'll be back as soon as we're in LA again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    223
    65
    21
    15
See reviews for
127
202
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karumba, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is in an amazing location and charges a fraction of what hotels with well known names charge yet are not in as good of a location. The rooms are large with comfy bed. The bathroom is serviceable with good water pressure. The room was quite and no outside noise could be heard from our downstairs room. It is about 15 minutes walk to either Venice or the Pier, there are terrific restaurants everywhere and on Tuesday nite across the road is gourmet van night where all the vans gather and serve amazing food. Manager Ken could not do enough to make our stay comfortable including early check in after a long flight from Australia. Thanks Sea Shore for a great experience. No pool or fitness centre but water one block away bad excellent running tracks so no big deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our way up the pch and it exceeded our expectations. The best thing was the location of this hotel-amongst great restaurants and bars, 2 blocks from the beach and 15min walk to both the pier or Venice beach. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. The reception staff were lovely and helpful. Wish we'd planned to stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed Three Nights here lovely apartment nice and clean beds so comfy, Very nice helpful staff So much do see and do in a fantastic location walking distance to a beautiful beach sunsets from the pier were stunning

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday and Monday night after traveling from Palm Springs. We have been to Santa Monica before and decided that the SeaShore Motel will meet our needs after researching numerous hotels. Main Street is a very hip and trendy area and we couldn't ask for a better location. We had a 1 bedroom suite with a large balcony looking over Main Street. Great place to relax after exploring the city all day. Many great options for meals, all within walking distance. Great bar across street,The Basement, with happy-hour and live music at night. We were traveling with our 21 year old son who enjoyed that venue. Our room was very spacious and clean with everything that you would need to enjoy your stay. The staff was most helpful and courteous. We walked to 3rd Street Promenade and opted for a cab ride home, which was only 7.00. Short walk to Venice Beach. We will surely make this our destination again when traveling in So Cal. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

These guys were very accommodating, we were upgraded to a small unit before our stay and they were very understanding and helpful when we arrived a day late due to delayed flights. The unit was very clean, well stocked with kitchen items and utensils, blender was great.
It's an easy walk down to the beach and bike hire place and a 20 minute walk to santa Monica pier.
We enjoyed our stay here and have rebooked to stay again before flying home.
Travelling with 2 adults and 2 kids (4yo & 1yo).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel was adequate. We arrived early in the morning as we had a tour booked to see the stars homes in LA and were being picked up. We couldn't check in until 2.30 but the receptionist was excellent and let us park our car in the car park and gave us lots of tips about what to see in LA. He even offered to make us coffee if our tour bus hadn't turned up on time. After a long day in LA we finally got back and were shown our room. It was quaint although one of the smallest rooms we had had on our road trip. It was on the first floor and about 2 blocks from the beach. Santa Monica pier was about a ten minute walk away. On the first night we went to an Irish pub just across the road with a quiz night - it was fun and the food was gorgeous. The hotel staff were really friendly and the room was clean and liveable. Only downside it didn't have a pool but we knew that when we booked it - would have been nice to chill in a pool after a long day in LA. If you are staying in LA then stay in Santa Monica - it isn't near enough to go out to LA at night but Santa Monica at night was lovely and quiet. I would stay here again

Room Tip: We had a room on top floor which was quieter than the bottom floor as there were a few restaurants n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shore Motel

Address: 2637 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms feature terra-cotta tile floors, refrigerators, air conditioning, cable TV, granite counter tops and more. We have a sun deck and an on-site restaurant and Laundromat. All our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free parking in our own parking lot. We are located within walking distance to all Santa Monica attractions and within a 1/2 hour drive to all Los Angeles attractions. Plus, we're only TWO SHORT BLOCKS from Santa Monica's famous white sand beach. Along historic and charming Main Street are numerous restaurants, art galleries, museums, dress shops, coffee shops, and more. A 2 night minimum stay is required on weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shore Hotel Santa Monica
Sea Shore Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shore Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.